We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$19
View deal
Priceline
US$19
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/05/22
FindHotel
US$17
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/05/22
Hotels.comUS$21
TravelocityUS$21
Trip.comUS$20
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (727)
Filter reviews
727 results
Traveller rating
240
330
100
27
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
240
330
100
27
30
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 727 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2020

All ways ploite and helpful.(da Tom job noon). The breakfast is fresh and tidy. The waiters are always around assisting with the needs. The setup and ocean view is beautiful in the morning while having a drink or even something to eat.

Cheers

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 127rajin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 December 2019 via mobile

Looks are deceiving. Don't be con by the beautiful pictures of the room and surroundings. It's not what you hope for. It was more of a jungle set-up with plants jotting out along the narrow pathway to the room. The entrance to the 'motel' looks very eerie at night as it's not lighted up and the room are rather small. The bedsheet and pillows are dirty with stains. Not an ideal place to stay even though it's close to the beach.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank S. Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 September 2019

My wife and I stayed at Sunset Beach Resort for 5 days in September 2019.
We enjoyed our stay immensely and would like to make some comments re our hotel and stay in Pantai Cenang.
Firstly the Sunset Beach Resort is not a 4 or 5 star hotel.If that is what you are expecting then this is not the place for you.
The rooms are quite basic but with all of the amenities you would expect to find in most "more budget conscious" hotels.
We came here after a five day stay in a 5 star hotel in Kota Kinabalu and knew this hotel was not going to offer the same level of comfort and conveniences.
However we chose this hotel based on it's location and it's wonderful private beach.
When searching for hotels in central Pantai Cenang all other hotels only had access to the main public beach,which is fine if you don't mind the crowds,noise,beach vendors and the sound of jet ski and power boat engines.
The private beach at Sunset Resort was a serene and palm tree lined delight, it was quiet and peaceful and more often than not we were the only guests enjoying its tranquility.
From the hotel it was a 4-5 min walk up the main street to McDonalds, Zon Duty Free,Coco Valley Duty Free and Underwater World which were all located next to each other.
If we found ourselves at the far end of the main street which was about 20-25 mins walk we always had the option of getting a Grab car (similar to Uber) home for MYR4 (thats around US$1.00).
It's well worth downloading the Grab app when in Malaysia as fares are very cheap compared to regular taxis, ie a regular taxi from Langkawai airport to Pantai Cenag is MYR30,Grab car MYR12
As noted in other reviews the wifi at Sunset Beach is only really strong at the reception area but I would also recommend getting a local sim card when travelling in Malaysia. I got a Digi Traveller Sim at the airport,MYR40 and valid for 15 days which had 10gb of excellent 4g coverage and another 10gb or so for use with social media apps. There is also a 7 day Digi Traveller Sim for MYR20. It also comes with a local phone number which can be used when making bookings for Grab cars etc.
For my 2 weeks in various parts of Malaysia I had perfect 4g coverage wherever I was and never had to rely on finding free wifi spots.
Another reason I highly recommend this hotel was some great service from the reception staff and manager. The toilet in my room broke and wouldnt flush properly. When I spoke to the very friendly receptionist about it she called her manager who then upgraded us to the seaview room overlooking the private beach at no extra cost for the remainder of our stay. It is by far the best room at Sunset Beach Resort and I guess we were just lucky that it wasnt already booked during our time there.
If you are thinking of staying at this hotel and the seaview room is available it is well worth the extra cost . It has a direct and unobstructed view of the beach plus you can hear the sound of the waves while sitting on your front deck and within 20-30m you could be on the beach or in the sea.
To summarize we highly enjoyed our stay at Sunset Beach Resort,it is what it is, a budget friendly hotel within easy access to Pantai Cenang main street and the best beach in the whole area.

Room tip: If the Seaview room is available,it is worth the extra cost
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Ceanaidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 September 2019

I was at the resort in 1993 for the first time and there were 9 times more until now. The next trip in 2020 is already booked.
The resort has changed over the times due to shortening the land but it is still a hidden gem.

Date of stay: April 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 August 2019

Sunset beach resort is a resort in name only, a few broken deck chars no where to eat average rooms wifi only at check in area. In saying that if you wast a good location private beach friendly staff this place is for you, it is a nice private hotel in the quieter part of Langkawi. Good if you want to relax.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews