We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Panji Panji - a corner of paradise in Langkawi”
other travellers have booked this property
Panji Lower and Upper Floor Villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Panji Lower and Upper Floor Villa
Outdoor Pool Outdoor Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
54 reviews
Panji Lower and Upper Floor Villa
Outdoor Pool
Outdoor Pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pantai Cenang, Langkawi, Langkawi District, Kedah

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
rayn659
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Panji Panji - a corner of paradise in Langkawi”
Reviewed 4 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Stayed at Panji Panji 4 nights in late February. Originally had booked 2 nights but after seeing the property and experiencing the super-relaxed atmosphere it was clear that 2 nights wasn't enough.  I can't say enough about how friendly and helpful Azmil and his team are.  Right from arrival to helping arrange ferry tickets to thailand on departure, everyone at Panji Panji was enjoyable to meet and very helpful.

The beauty of the location is that it is well beyond the noise and bustle of Cenang beach, yet close enough that you can easily head into town either on foot (a bit far in the heat but doable) or using the free bicycles available to guests.  But if you are coming to Langkawi to relax, the pool area and lounge chairs in the shade at Panji Panji are a paradise all on their own.

Rooms are spacious, very clean, nicely furnished, and very original. Bathrooms are partially open-air (very private, just partially open to the sky) which was neat and added to the appeal of the rooms. No TVs, but who really wants TV anyway? Wifi worked well throughout the property.

Breakfast, lunch, and delicious non-alcoholic drinks are offered at the cute cafe on-site.  The food was simple but very good, reasonably priced, and the staff are very helpful and friendly.  The atmosphere here is so pleasant and relaxed that spending a day parked in the shade with a good book is all the activity required for a memorable time.

If you are planning a visit to Langkawi but are torn whether to stay in the middle of the Cenang strip,  Panji Panji is a great option. The room rate is a little more expensive than some of the places in Cenang but it's worth it.   The only issue experienced was that when extending the room reservation for an extra two nights only cash was accepted, not credit card (first two days were booked via agoda).  However this isn't unique to panji panji - I have experienced this elsewhere in Langkawi also.

Panji Panji was my favourite place in two weeks spent in Malaysia - I would happily stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2016
Thank you for the wonderful review you have given. You would be disappointed to hear this but am sure our future guests will be happy to know; we now have a credit card machine, it was installed just a few days after you left. We hope this new amenity will ease some of the limitations our guests have. We look forward to see you again.

We are especially glad you enjoyed Smiling Buffalo, our inhouse cafe which serves a simple fare and specialty coffee. We are also happy you enjoyed the pool which has some new furniture added to it for the ease and comfort of our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickMc...
Christchurch
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delightful hidden gem”
Reviewed 1 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Panji Panji was an absolutely delightful find on Langkawi. We stayed there in February this year and loved this peaceful place away from the madding crowd of Pantai Cenang, yet close enough to get there if necessary by foot or by bicycle (lent by Panji Panji). The three villas are set in a landscaped tropical garden on the property of the owner who was absent during our stay. The delightful managers Azmil and Amas run the place as if it is their own. They are so welcoming and went out of their way to make our stay pleasant and comfortable. There is a lovely pool and open air cafe on the premises, which is open to the public. The beach is a short walk away and behind is the river where colourful fishing boats are moored, a picturesque sight. There is an excellent local sea food restaurant there too. Furthermore, Panji Panji is close to the airport and Azmil is prepared to meet and greet you on arrival

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the low key relaxed atmosphere
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2016
Thank you for choosing Panji Panji and it was a pleasure for us to serve you. We are glad you enjoyed our green surroundings and find the place as serene and tranquil as we do. Hope to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolien...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice rooms but slightly overpriced”
Reviewed 20 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The rooms are spacious and clean, especially the bathroom and shower are relaxing and comfortable. Eye for detail and nicely furnished. The rooms have a private veranda and the swimming pool is a nice extra facility.
The hotelmanager is friendly and willing to help.

Altogether, a nice and comfortable place to stay, however there are a few notes and room for improvement:
- location is near the strip, but still a 15 min walk. This may seem close, but quite far if you want to go back from the beach/shops/restaurants a couple of times during the day. Furthermore, it is located 15 min from the beginning of the strip, which itself is quite long as well.
- the set up of the small resort is quite dark, and looks more like a museum for oldtimers than a resort. However, this is a matter of taste of course.
- the breakfast (not included) was ok but not that much and quite basic.
- I would say that the rooms are slightly overpriced.
- there is no tv in the room.
- upgrade of your room to honeymoon theme is a nice extra, but just putting swan towels on the bed and a bowl of fruit is something a hotel should be doing complementary instead of charging extra money for.

I would range this resort between average and good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2016
Thank you for staying with us and for your positive feedback. We will take note of all the points raised here and appreciate for taking the time.

Panji Panji is situated off the main hustle and bustle of Pantai Chenang but we have bicycles for guests to use free of charge upon availability. We can also assist guests in getting a cab and cabs are also easy to hail from almost anywhere around the island.

When we designed Panji Panji, our idea was for guests to get away and rejuvenate. We wanted them to get in touch with their heart and soul and forget about their worldly worries. We hope all our guests were able to do this in our unique and serene setting.

Thank you for staying with us again and we hope to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HShepherd...
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“relaxing stay”
Reviewed 9 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Panji Panji is a very small complex of about 6 rooms and three other buildings in Malaysian stilted style, set in beautiful gardens.It is about 10 mins drive from airport. There is a coffee shop that is open to members of the public as well as hotel guests. They serve a good selection of drinks , breakfast and snacks.Live music is played during the day sometimes.
There is no alcohol served on site but you are welcome to buy your own from nearby shops and keep in fridge in room.
The rooms have been well designed using reclaimed timber, reasonably spacious with separate shower room with strong showers. The shower room is partially open air so inevitably some insects and mosquitos get in, which may not suit everyone. Some crockery and cutlery provided but no cooking facilities. Kettle and plentiful supply of teabags and coffee.
There are no safety deposit boxes but rooms are secure with own door key and grounds are locked at night. There is no TV but that did not bother us.
Bicycles are available at no charge and it takes approx. 10 mins to cycle to main beach and restaurants etc. However there are some nice restaurants in short walking distance.
There is a small shallow swimming pool, which we had to ourselves most days. Only slight criticism is that pool furniture could be upgraded and that some shade be provided.
The rooms were cleaned everyday and towels were provided.
We loved the relaxed vibe and quirky character of this place however it will not to be everybody's taste as there is no alcohol served and it is a little way away from main strip.
Azmil was extremely helpful, arranging scooter hire and advising us on various trips available.When we had a small problem with the air conditioner , it was sorted out immediately.
Ju and Sam made some lovely cooling drinks, hot food and great coffee.Everyone was extremely friendly.
Some people may consider the cost of the rooms a little pricey for the size of the room and facilities provided eg no tv,no hairdyers etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: location, character of property and helpful staff.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2016
Thank you for staying with us and your positive feedback. We will take into consideration your comments about how we can improve our services as well as amenities. Our objective is to make all our guests feel comfortable and to ensure they will leave us with good memories. In case the house rules were overlooked, it does state that we do not encourage private parties, drugs and alcohol on the compounds to maintain peace and serenity. There is also no smoking allowed in the rooms.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ru61thy
Stewarton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our 2nd visit”
Reviewed 11 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent xmas and new year at Panji Panji our second visit this year. We were not disappointed. This time we took friends with us and stayed in the new villa. Absolutely superb. We loved the bohemian style of the accommodation which was in keeping with the rest of the place. The bed was huge and very comfortable and the shower was great. Our little piece of paradise, peaceful and relaxing yet a 10 minute walk along the beach and you are in the heart of Cenang. We loved the Smiling Buffalo... The new coffee shop with superb coffee and pancakes to die for. We were lucky to be entertained by musicians from KL who were staying at the same time that added an extra touch but even without that the ambience of the place is very chilled. Azmil is the best host ever going over and above to make our holiday the best it could be. His team of staff were brilliant and we left there feeling happy refreshed and looking forward to our return visit in Dec 2016.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2016
Dear Ruth & Charlie

Many thanks for the great review and it made our day to hear such good things about Panji Panji. Thank you very much for staying with us. It was a real pleasure having you. We are looking forward to see you again in Dec 2016.

Thank you

Warmest regards
Azmil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing