We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Kings Head Hotel(Kirkbymoorside)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Brickfields Farm(Kirkbymoorside)
US$111
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lion Inn(Kirkbymoorside)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cornmill(Kirkbymoorside)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Park Farm B&B(Kirkbymoorside)
Booking.com
View Deal
Lastingham Grange(Lastingham)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveller rating
91
116
40
40
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
91
116
40
40
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubgeorge dragonold rectorynight breakwine listgarden roomtwo nightscar parka lovely market townstayed for one nightgreat foodmain buildingnothing too much troublegreat weekendflamingo landroom was largeshort break
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 311 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

Food was amazing staff were great really friendly , dogs are allowed in the hotel and the pub , rooms were good separate from the pub so nice and quiet would deffo recommend and we will be visiting again soon

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank nomis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

My wife and I stayed for two nights here Easter 2018 weekend, we had made the booking through Booking.com at £60/night room only. We had stayed here roughly two years ago and had a lovely stay, sadly this time it wasn't up to par.
On the positives, the check in process was trouble free the staff are friendly and the pub welcoming with a nice open fire adding to the cosy feeling. We were given the keys to room 7, but on inspection we rejected this room. The word 'shabby' sums it up, no proper shower just a bath with a hand held shower attachment, and a run down feeling to it. We were instead offered room 18, which is a walk away from the pub. There was a bloke outside in the garden doing some work, more of him later...
Room 18 is ok, but only that. Poorly equipped, cheaply furnished. For example the TV was so small, I actually have a bigger screen on my work PC. There was no WiFi. Worst of all though for us, the bed's mattress was rock hard, meaning we had hardly any sleep tossing and turning, trying but failing to get comfy. Fair enough some people like a hard mattress, in which case ignore this, but for us it was a major issue. Single glazing (sash windows) also meant that, come Good Friday morning, just before 8am, our gardening buddy started with his pickaxe.... Whack!......Whack!...etc
as he was putting up fencing. Already knackered through lack of sleep, it was a pain in the rear. There followed sledgehammer action, and as we left our room for the day, a chainsaw!
Anyway we had a visit to nearby Goathland which was a nice day out, and visited Pickering later in the afternoon before returning to the pub about 6pm and had an excellent meal in the restaurant, they obviously have a very good chef we heartily enjoyed our food. After a couple of drinks in the bar, it was back to our slightly depressing room, and bed...
This hotel is listed as a 4star rated establishment, but feels more like a 2star in our opinion. I read another tripadvisor review commenting that the rooms make you feel like your'e in a care home, that's a good sum up really. We spoke to some locals in town during our stay and apparently the hotel is up for sale, which would explain the lack of spending on the out-dated rooms. The general consensus was that the King's Head just up the road offers much better accommodation, we didn't see their rooms but did eat in there the second night, the food there was also very good.
We won't be returning to the G&D, not to stay anyway, but would certainly call in again for food.

Room Tip: Rooms at the King's Head far better apparently
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

Picked this place from a map as a place to stay before heading to Staithes the next day.
Small car park and first come first served. Parked outside after 6pm until 9am plus 2 hours the next day.
The room was plenty big enough and a comfortable bed. Had a bathroom en suite. Mainly a bath with toilet. The food served in the main bar and restaurant is amazing. We steak pie and a scaddock, which is scampi and haddock.
If in the area try it.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Budda_Vida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

Stayed for one night as room only because thought £10.00 for a breakfast was expensive.
Room was in a court yard so no noise from the restaurant/bar. It was very clean and nicely decorated, tea & coffee, tv, free wi-fi. The bathroom was spotless and had complimentary shampoo etc.
All the staff were really nice and helpful.
This hotel is in a lovely village and would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KAYBOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

I called here today for lunch with my husband and in laws. Not a lot open on a Monday in this lovely market town so took a chance. Greeted by a lovely open fire & friendly young man behind the bar. Seated in the window and wasn’t busy. Menu prices were slightly above average price, good choice though. Scampi & chips £13 and Gammon, 2 eggs, chips, mushroom £15. Both really tasty and we would all visit here again. Also had latte coffees afterwards which were lush & served with a biscuit and mint, nice touch. Pub was clean and set out nice, service was excellent :-)

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Maxine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews