We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic house for a three-generational family...”

Review of The Gables Retreat

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
124 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Market Rasen, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 124 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

happydays...
England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic house for a three-generational family holiday”
Reviewed 16 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Gables Retreat is every bit as good as it looks from the website and more. There were nine of us staying in the house (three generations) over Easter, together with a dog, and we all had plenty of room and enjoyed all the wonderful amenities. Diane and Bill made us feel very welcome indeed and provided a lovely hamper full of delicious local produce (including chocolate bunnies for the children which was particularly thoughtful) for our arrival. We enjoyed playing games with the children on the beautiful front lawn, several soaks in the hot tub, family meals round the large dining table in the well-appointed kitchen and restful nights in the comfortable, attractive and immaculately-clean bedrooms. It was an extremely relaxing holiday - there are plenty of things to do if you wish to venture out (we visited the racecourse at Market Rasen, Lincoln castle and cathedral and the coast) but equally it is a delightful place to just sit back and soak up the peaceful atmosphere. What was more, our dog loved the freedom to roam about down the country lane when we took her for a walk as it was a no through road and there was no traffic whatsoever. We had great weather too, so all in all it was a really wonderful stay. We would have no hesitation in recommending Gables Retreat and would love to come back one day for another stay.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolar21
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Out of this world!”
Reviewed 25 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

This is my favourite place to stay ever. It's the fourth time I've stayed here and I've already booked for a fifth. The house is beautiful, along with the surrounding area. Every aspect is excellent: the furnishings, the welcome pack; the hot tub. If only I could live here....

Date of stay: January 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KirstyP51...
1 review
“Perfect Family get away!!”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

This was our second trip to The Gables retreat for an early family Christmas and it was once again exceptional.
The owners are very friendly and the house is just beautiful!
We will definitely be returning again this year for our 3rd 'Christmas'!!!

Date of stay: December 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvie S
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You have to book and stay here to get a wonderful experience that no words can do it justice!”
Reviewed 31 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

A surprise booking for my husbands 60th birthday celebration We stayed from the 23rd -28th December and it was fantastic. From my initial contact via email with Diane and Bill to the greeting on the day we arrived and the communication after the event, I have to say first class customer service, with charm, charisma and friendliness. 10 of us stayed from family to extended family, with age range 28-86! and 2 dogs, there was plenty of space to not feel on top of each other, rooms were spacious, luxurious and had very comfortable beds with great linen. The little touches that mean so much were catered for throughout the whole of the house. The kitchen utensils, cutlery and crockery are ample, apart from not wanting to leave, there are no negatives at all with the booking, communication and the wonderful house and grounds. You must stay here to experience what we did and you will see what I mean, AMAZING!

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from Home with extra special touches
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharonluc...
1 review
“A house you never want to leave.”
Reviewed 30 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Oh my goodness, there are not enough words to describe how wonderful this house is. Celebrated my 40th birthday with my best friends and we had an amazing time.
The owner Diane is wonderful and so friendly. On arriving at the house i had goosebumps with how beautiful the house looked but when we walked through the door our jaws dropped. It is amazing. Every room is superb. Each room has its own style and not one dissapointed. We will definately return.

Date of stay: November 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.