We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat”

Owens Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #2 of 48 Restaurants in Ramsbottom
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: English restaurant & bar serving locally sourced fresh food. Open 7 days a week serving breakfast, lunch & dinner opposite the East Lancashire railway station.
Reviewed 19 November 2023

First time in restaurant lovely staff really good food would definitely recommend Sunday lunch was great
Sue

Date of visit: November 2023
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,091)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 1,091 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2023

Wonderful food, super atmosphere. Good selection of food. Always well presented. The sharing platters are a good starter. A bonus is that you have the choice of a smaller plate if you are having the starter, main meal and a dessart. 😋

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Resort59999896700
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 October 2023

Owens never lets customers down. We had done a local walk, had no table booking but a brief phone call resulted in a table for us and we had an enjoyable meal. They can't always pull a rabbit out of a hat but they will do their level best. Thank you Owens.

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bury S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 October 2023

Early dinner on Friday night, restaurant was fairly quiet when we arrived but very quickly filled up with a mix of couples and parties. Nice atmosphere, shown to our table and ordered drinks, then our meal. Starters were really nice - very wholesome soup and my own favourite, the chicken liver parfait. Mains were the cheese and onion pie for my wife whilst I opted for the chicken stroganoff. The pie looked really good and was more than ample, I really enjoyed the stroganoff which I have never tried before. Comes as a vegetable or classic beef option - mine was a generous portion of chicken, onions, peppers, mushrooms and gherkins in sauce, everything was lovely and fresh and really more-ish.
We agonised over the sweet menu - actually, that's a fib. We did what we usually do and opted for the sharing platter of desserts which is unbeatable value and features all of the favourites from the sweet menu.....really, really good with the chocolate brownie and creme brulee worthy of special mention.
Sorry to sound like a broken record as I've reviewed Owens many times before, but the reason we keep returning is simple.
More relevant these days than ever, good quality food, good service and unbeatable value for money are priorities for customers. Owens delivers a great dining experience in spades and never disappoints - it's always nice to see Jane, Carl and the team who all go the extra mile to make you feel special.
Highly recommended, suffice to say we will be back soon. Thanks to all the team!

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 October 2023 via mobile

Excellent food combined with exceptional service.
We had lunch yesterday.
My partner had the plate meat pie and I had the common steak. Both were
excellent, well cooked and very tasty.
Washed down with a very acceptable Pino Grigio .
We have booked for a festive lunch nearer to Christmas, but we will visit
again before then I’m sure.

Date of visit: October 2023
Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Owens Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Owens Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.