We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Marine Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dornoch Hotel(Dornoch)
US$110
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$149
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
US$111
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveller rating
180
119
33
15
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
119
33
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomsnooker roomgolf clublovely hotelsteam roomswimming poollinks apartmentsdunrobin castlecullen skinkleisure facilitiesopen firefree upgradehighly recommend this hotelnorth of scotlandself cateringpublic roomscountry house
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 354 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

... staff were just not bothered whether we stayed to eat or not... quite indifferent reception at Reception...polite but would say 'not bothered' really. Shame given atmosphere of the building. Could learn alot from Castle in Dornoch.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank catch222015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a great time staying here for two nights, We had a nice welcome on arrival, the rooms were clean and fresh with comfortable beds lovely fluffy towels bath robes slippers.
We were booked in for dinner on the first night which was so good we booked again for the second night, breakfast was to a good standard also, plenty of choice with a well laid out table, linen tablecloth and served by a lovely smiling lady called Merle.
The swimming pool, sauna and gym were appreciated when the weather was stormy outside.
Thanks to all the staff you are doing a great job.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail S, Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to let us know your views following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to hear that you had a welcoming arrival and that you found the rooms to be clean and fresh with fluffy towels. You enjoyed the food and the choice available and also the staff, thank you very much.

Feedback is extremely important to us and we so share this with all of the team in order for us to improve customer satisfaction and performance.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Marine.

Kind regards

Gail Sutherland
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A thoroughly enjoyable stay in a delightful hotel with 'old world charm' and also has a leisure centre to relax in after a round of golf. For golfers, the hotel is a 5 minute walk from Brora Golf Course; which is an absolute gem. We only wish we could have stayed longer but will definitely return one day.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank travelhappy023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely night at the Marine, room was bright, clean and spacious. Pool was a delight, nice and warm. Enjoys using the hot tub and steam room too. Passed this hotel thousands of times and had no idea it was so nice.
We will be back!

Stayed: March 2018
Thank IzzySuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail S, Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to let us know your views following your recent stay.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Royal Marine and that you found the room to be bright, clean and spacious and that you enjoyed the Leisure club facilities.

Feedback is extremely important to us and we do share this with the team to help improve customer satisfaction and staff performance.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Gail Sutherland
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was excellent. The rooms are not ultra modern but the bathrooms have clearly been updated recently and they are lovely. Bathrobes are provided which is handy for going down to the pool with. The staff are very friendly and nothing is a bother. Food in the restaurant was excellent. I would come back again.and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. We got a fantastic mid week offer and this made our stay very affordable.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail S, Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to let us know your views following your recent stay. I am absolutely delighted that you liked the newly refurbished bathrooms, that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful and the food in the restaurant excellent.

Feedback is extremely important to us and we do share this information with the team in order to improve customer satisfaction and performance and I know the staff will appreciate your kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Gail Sutherland
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews