We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2017

We stayed here whilst walking the WHW. Rooms were in a separate building at the back of the hotel with a footpath linking them. Lovely clean, bright room with modern fittings and a very nice entrance area where you could leave luggage and outerwear. Our room was overlooking the river with a superb view. Dinner & breakfast were lovely with a good choice. We also ordered the packed lunch for the following day and this too was very tasty. The receptionist was extremely welcoming after a long day walking and the bar and restaurant staff were exceptionally nice and accommodating too. Highly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank CMcV99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge of Orchy M, General Manager at Bridge of Orchy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear CMcV99,

Thank you for your review of the Bridge of Orchy Hotel and I am delighted you enjoyed a wonderful stay with us. I will share your feedback with all the team. I am sure they will be very happy to hear your kind words. I am also thrilled that you enjoyed one of our View rooms. We do hope we can welcome you back to the Hotel again soon. Kind regards, Maria Mickova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (987)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 987 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017

Great location, fantastic bar and waiting staff, great views from the restaurant, good comfortable, ensuite rooms and great, well presented good restaurant level food! If you are in the area go and stay!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge of Orchy M, General Manager at Bridge of Orchy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Simon T,

Thank you very much for your great feedback. I am so pleased you had a wonderful experience at the Bridge of Orchy Hotel. I will share you feedback with all the team. I am sure they will be encouraged by your comments. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Maria Mickova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Stayed for one night in the river view rooms. They are not the prettiest of buildings but are fresh clean and modern with good quality linens and comfy beds. View to the river with sliding doors and decking were great.
The food here was the best we had during our road trip around Scotland. The evening meal was excellent as was the full Scottish breakfast. Staff were extremely friendly too. Would highly recommend. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge of Orchy M, General Manager at Bridge of Orchy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Jo B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Hotel after your recent visit. I must admit that your comments are very special and so highly appreciated. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Maria Mickova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

An isolated and pretty location but taking luggage from the station quite a treak then being told no room in the hotel but we were to stay in outdoor huts a bit off a shock had to slide down a grassy bank,one lady fell, only then to be told not to go that way was an instruction a tad too late. The hut was clearly geared to outdoor walkers or the type that only need basic accommodation as it was more ymca than luxury. At breakfast I iasked for porrage and a cooked breakfast but told I could only have one or the other! Many would say that would warrant only a one star! Marked higher brecause we travelled on a Railtrailr party and the only excuse was itmay have been cheap, it definitely needed to be! The general waiting staff were also very good problem is with owners and management I suspect

Room Tip: Make sure you know wha t sort of accommodationyou are getting their website is for dreamers. Stay in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank peanhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge of Orchy M, General Manager at Bridge of Orchy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Peanhill,

We are quite disheartened by your post and wish you had address your issues with us directly during your stay. All of the issues you have outlined could have been addressed immediately instead of what we feel is misleading feedback on your part. We strive to ensure all of our guests enjoy their stay with us. Please also address these issues with your agent as this might help to clarify your experience.

As per the agreement with your agent you were allocated rooms which they were aware of both their location and décor. We are quite shocked as to your response to our hotel rooms as they are exactly as described on our website. We certainly do not feel our rooms are YMCA style and are usually complimented on their modern and aesthetically pleasing design. Since you felt so strongly against our View rooms we wish you had mentioned something as we could have moved you to one of our rooms in our main hotel which might have been more to your taste.

With regards to the porterage of your luggage this was not included in your package with our hotel but if required could have been organised in advance. We had previously offered porterage for your group but no reply was received from your agent. The train station is 0.3 miles away from Hotel and it is not part of this Hotel. I believe you understand that unless this service is requested guests cannot expect us to wait for them there. Most groups organise their own transport between the station and our Hotel. When asked to assist with luggage on departure we gladly organised our staff to help the entire group. There was no mention of porterage on arrival by the tour guide and in fact our receptionist did offer assistance to your group on arrival.

All around our hotel we have signs displayed asking our guests to keep off the grass. This is specifically so that no one slips. In the area where the lady slipped there is clearly a sign as this is a steep grassy bank which due to the ever persistent rain in Scotland is often slippery. The verbal warning was in fact voiced both before and after the lady slipped and was ignored even after the incident as guests were still using the bank to access their rooms. We do not understand why the grass bank was used in the first place as there is a set of stairs directly next to the bank leading to the rooms.

We are also a bit surprised by your comments relating to your food options during your visit as we have offered what we think is quite an extensive menu which has been our standard menu throughout the season and yours is the first complaint we have received. During breakfast a full continental buffet and a West Highland breakfast is provided to all of our groups. We were more than happy to replace the agreed items to suits your personal requirements, but all additional items would have needed to be charged and this was made clear at the time.

Thank you very much for your positive account of our staff, they endeavour to ensure all of our guest have a positive experience during their stay and I'm glad this has been noticed.

If you would like to discuss this any further you are welcome to contact any of our management team directly at your discretion.

Kind regards,

Maria Mickova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

This was the "hotel highlight" of our West Highland Way hiking trip. Halfway through, this was the ideal spot to rest and recover. The new rooms are well appointed, modern and extremely ascetically pleasing. Done in gray with pops of color, the rooms back up against the actual Bridge of Orchy and the Orchy River. We walked out our sliding glass doors to a picnic table and enjoyed whiskey, cigars and conversation with other travelers. The king bed clearly had high-end thread count sheets and comforter! The wait staff at the bar and hotel were absolutely top-notch. Shout out to Nico our waiter for dinner as he juggled the eight of us with aplomb and got our orders exactly right.

We had three meals here: first was a terrific lunch (the mussels in white wine were excellent) and dinner (our group enjoyed the sea bass with mushy pea risotto, gnocchi with mushrooms and a steak dish - all wonderful.) Breakfast of smoked haddock with eggs was a treat. Our group enjoyed every dish and every meal.

I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Bridge of Orchy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sile365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge of Orchy M, General Manager at Bridge of Orchy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Sile365,

Thank you very much for your review. I am thrilled the team delivered an excellent experience and you enjoyed one of our View rooms as we are very proud of them. I will pass your compliments to our team, especially Nico, who I am sure will be very motivated by your comments. We do hope we can welcome you back to the Hotel again soon. Kind regards, Maria Mickova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridge of Orchy
16.6 km away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
33.9 km away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
909 reviews
27.7 km away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Muthu Ben Doran Hotel
Muthu Ben Doran Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tyndrum
563 reviews
37.8 km away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,542 reviews
28.6 km away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge of Orchy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge of Orchy Hotel

Address: Bridge of Orchy PA36 4AD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Bridge of Orchy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bridge of Orchy
Price Range: RM582 - RM1,311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bridge of Orchy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bridge of Orchy Hotel sits on the A82 which is the main route to the Highlands and Islands of Scotland. The train station which is only minutes walk from the Hotel is served daily by trains from London, Glasgow and Fort William. The Hotel has become renowned for its fine cuisine and real hospitality, it is surrounded by some of Scotland's finest scenery including several munros, loch and river fishing, skiing, distilleries and breweries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bridge of Orchy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing