We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, wow, wow!”

Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$428
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Nestled amidst beautiful gardens in the rural Cotswolds countryside, Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons is a gourmet hotel in Oxfordshire. Located in the picturesque village of Great Milton, this luxury hotel combines breathtaking surroundings with gastronomic excellence. The quaint streets of Oxford city centre are a 20-minute drive, whilst London Heathrow Airport is 60km away. Home to Raymond Blanc's Cookery School, one of Britain's finest culinary academies, this enchanting hotel offers French-inspired cuisine at the 2 Michelin-starred restaurant. Using only the best seasonal produce, freshly picked from the hotel's extensive vegetable and herb gardens, guests are invited to embark on an unforgettable gastronomic adventure.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

I’ve been to about 30 Michelin star restaurants in London alone. I must admit though two restaurants outside of London, 1. Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat’Saisons and 2. Adam’s in Birmingham are so far my firm favourites. We had 7 course lunch close to new year and whilst all were nice, some dishes were simply stunning and are memorable to this date (which itself says something given that I can’t remember all the dishes I have, especially those from Michelin restaurants which are generally nice) - my favourite was the trout - I tried trout dishes in so many other Michelin star restaurants but never knew how tasty it could be. Beef was my the other favourite dish which was simply amazing. After our meal, we took a quick stroll around the hotel - such a beautiful venue and I recommend everyone to have a look at the garden. At GBP140 per person for 7 course lunch, bill will hike up depending on how much you drink - we couldn’t drink a lot as we had to drive back to London - for those who wish to fully enjoy lunch or dinner with wine, it seems to be an amazing idea to stay at the hotel which itself looked stunning.

2  Thank HnD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan-Paul_Kroese, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear HnD2

Thank you for leaving such a fabulous review of your visit to Belmond Le Manoir.

We truly appreciate all of the detail that you go into and in particular that we are one of your firm favourites outside of London.

We look forward to being of service to you again on some future occasion and, who knows, maybe you will be tempted into staying overnight.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 86 of 2,230 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Food as superb as expected and whole experience thoroughly enjoyable. Wine flight good albeit pricey.
Would rather not pay £10 for tea and coffee, but guess it’s something I’ll only do once.

1  Thank poge19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan-Paul_Kroese, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear poge19

Thank you for leaving this feedback following your recent visit to Belmond Le Manoir.

We were pleased to know that you had enjoyed your experience and do hope that upon reflection you may consider visiting us again in the future.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

This was booked by my husband as a surprise for me as I have wanted to go for 30 years - and it lived to up expectations!
We had a wonderful five course lunch, starting with Canapes and drinks in the lounge. We were then taken through to the restaurant where we were looked after by a lovely waiter (I wish I had taken his name, a well spoken young man with blonde hair.) who was very attentive without being intrusive.
After we had finished eating we were escorted back to the comfort of the lounge for coffee and petit fours.
The food was beautiful, even my relatively fussy daughter enjoyed everything.
The ambiance was comfortable and welcoming.
The staff were friendly and attentive without being intrusive.
After coffee we had a pleasant walk around the gardens before reluctantly leaving.
The only disappointment was that I was unable to meet Raymond himself as he was on holiday.
Make no mistake - this was a treat and not something we could afford to do regulally -but should the opportunity arise we would definatly return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RachelWF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan-Paul_Kroese, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear RachelWF

What a wonderful surprise to have been presented. We were humbled to read that you had long wanted to visit us and that the time you spent with us lived up to expectations.

How lovely that you were able to share this experience with your family; we do hope that you have memories to cherish for years to come and that at some point in the future we may have the pleasure of being of service to you again.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

We enjoyed a fabulous lunch at 'Le Manoir' - the whole experience took three hours with each moment reflecting the care and attention the whole team spend in making guests feel special.

We were greeted on arrival and shown to the bar where we enjoyed a glass of champagne and hors d' oeuvres - the smoked eel was particularly tasty and the whole plate was a work of art!

We went on to enjoy lunch in the main restaurant where every dish was of the highest quality. Beginning with homemade bread then wild garlic soup through to a delicate smoked trout with beetroot ; a perfectly cooked hens egg with watercress and a tender roast quail, every dish was a triumph. The restaurant is very light and airy and looks onto immaculately maintained gardens. The quality was maintained through to coffee and petit fours which were absolutely delicious.

When we were waiting for our taxi were were able to browse through some of Monsieur Blanc's cookery books and appreciated the level of detail and thought that went into the dishes ; his views on what made a perfect egg were particularly interesting!

The service was discrete yet very attentive and friendly. It was clear that every member of staff was totally committed to giving guests the best possible experience.

'Le Manoir' is set in a lovely manor house surrounded by varied gardens - you are welcome to take a map and walk around, the two ponds have some striking bird sculptures. The interior is , as you would expect, very tastefully furnished and we felt that the art work was very impressive and contributed to the whole relaxing experience.

It was a special day for my wife and I and it exceeded our expectations which were already very high. Thank you for a perfect day and we look forward to returning

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank john_kate13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan-Paul_Kroese, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear john_kate13

Thank you for writing this review of your lunchtime visit to Belmond Le Manoir.

It was lovely to read that you had chosen to visit us for a special moment in your life. We truly appreciate all of the wonderful detail that you recount in your feedback and hope you will enjoy your memories for many years to come.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

We stayed in the Dovecote which had been beautifully renovated into a very unique and attractive room. The bedroom was upstairs with the bathroom below. The bed was very comfortable and the room contained everything you could need including little treats of sugar almonds, cold champagne and maderia. A nice touch. There was a charming private garden area outside complete with table, chairs and ashtray.
The bars were comfortable and cocktails were delicious. My husband loves an old fashioned and apparently it was very good here. We tried the tasting menu, which was beautifully presented washed down with water in my case and the prestige wine flight for my husband, all of which we thoroughly enjoyed. The tables were large and well spaced out and privately comfortable.
The staff, as you'd expect were fabulous, particularly our dinner waiter, who was amusing, friendly and so attentive. Generally the staff created a very unstuffy comfortable atmospere which was very pleasant.
Breakfast was fabulous. Everything you could possible desire. Love breakfast!
We wrapped up, braved the snow and walked around the gardens which were fabulous but I'm sure are stunning in the summer. Ponds, waterfalls, bee houses and beautiful bronzes. A very aesthetic place as is the entire property. A lot of time has clearly been spent creating this beautiful hotel and it is beautiful.

3  Thank sellsMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan-Paul_Kroese, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear sellsMiltonKeynes

What a fantastic review. Thank you so much for writing in such lovely detail about your visit. Our gardens are magical year round - even more so in the snow we have had recently- and how fabulous you were able to enjoy them.

We truly appreciate your comments and do hope to be of service to you again on some future occasion.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons also viewed

Bray-on-Thames, Berkshire
 
Murcott, Fencott and Murcott
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Bray-on-Thames, Berkshire
 

Been to Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing