We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$68
View deal
Booking.com
US$68
View deal
Agoda.com
US$65
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/12/21
Hotels.comUS$68
PricelineUS$68
getaroom.comUS$76
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (834)
Filter reviews
834 results
Traveller rating
281
212
148
95
98
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
281
212
148
95
98
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea function room evening meal would stay again bit dated lick of paint one night stay short stay full english excellent value for money lovely room good nights sleep yogurt kate wedding suffolk kettle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 834 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2021

Where should i begin !!!!
We visited as my partners son was getting married at a nearby venue, so was convenient for us, and other guests. We were booked in for 5 nights...and had a superior room booked with breakfast.. The room was average...but very dated....but ok for our stay. The shower wasnt great due to the water pressure...
Restaurant looked inviting, and on our 1st evening, had booked a meal ,as we were tired from a very long train journey.. The menu was uninspiring, But we ordered and the Starters were nice, Main courses were average.....The waitress took our drink orders, then i was told they didnt have the wine id ordered from the menu...so i settled for 2nd choice..

Breakfasts for the next2 days were pretty good....choice wise....
Then it gets worse..
The Brides mum had asked 3 different members of staff in advance if we could have 2 tables together on the day after the wedding, so we could all be together for breakfast...and some Just Married Banners put round the tables.. We all came down looking forward to this, and found nothing had been done !!! After finding a member of staff, they hurriedly laid up 2 tables, with just a brief apology......
There was a different Chef over the weekend, and the food was awful...Burnt dry Sausages, Greasy Eggs, and a chef that looked like he didnt want to be there...Also there were no glasses, cups and Juices etc were mostly empty...

It could have spoilt what was a beautiful weekend. .The day after that, our breakfast was even worse....The fried eggs were sitting in grease, and every one had been broken..YOU DO NOT SERVE FOOD LIKE THAT !!!!!
we didnt return for breakfast on our last day...

We realise Covid has made staff problems.....But it seems like most of the staff need serious training in Customer service as most dont seem to have a clue how to deal with things. Or cant be bothered..

The Only Good thing we can really say about the staff ,Was our Lovely Housekeeping Lady Gemma, who truly was a star, and a pleasure to chat with. She made sure we had all we needed, and the young man behind the Bar on Friday Lunchtime, who found the wine id wanted straightaway, which no one else could. .It had been in the fridge all week strangely enough.!!!!!!

This is a lovely Building that needs to be updated, And staff that need to be trained properly...Then things may improve...

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate Sewell, General Manager at Best Western Ipswich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2021

Dear Linda

Thank you for taking the time in writing your review. Please accept our sincere apologies that we did not meet your expectations. The information you have given with regard to training of the new Team and the inconsistency of the food will help us going forward and please be rest assured that we will be looking into the issues you have raised.

We do hope you will visit again in the future to regain your confidence in our hotel.

Kindest regards
Julie Campbell
Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2021

Very pleasant 1 night getaway. Good dinner and breakfast. Nice restaurant overlooking the garden. Tablecloths and linen napkins. Friendly helpful staff. Expected bigger bed in a superior room. Very comfortable, spacious, lounge/bar area with winding staircase. Hotel has lift but serves only one end of the hotel so caused bit of a problem as we had stairs to negotiate - my partner has bad knee and I am visually impaired. Had we asked I feel sure they would have changed our room if possible. However, nice view over the garden. Had been previously and would stay there again.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank janewithwilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate Sewell, General Manager at Best Western Ipswich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2021

Dear Jane

Thank you for leaving your lovely review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. The Team will be happy to hear their accolade and we do hope you will visit us again soon.

Kindest regards
Julie Campbell
Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2021

Stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed 3 great breakfasts. Rooms were clean, adequately furnished and comfortable. The TV sets are a bit on the small size but we didn't come away to stay in the room all the time. Had one evening meal in which was tasty from a decent selection.
The hotel could do with a lick of paint on the outside and at some time some internal modernisation but it represents great value and was well positioned for all out needs on the A12 and A14.
This was our third stay and we will definitely stay again when we next visit the area - which we do twice a year.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Bartonresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate Sewell, General Manager at Best Western Ipswich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2021

Dear Bartonresident

Thank you for leaving your lovely review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. It is my understanding that the front of the hotel is ear-marked to be painted again next year.

We do hope you will visit us again soon.

Kindest regards
Julie Campbell
Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2021

I was visiting my friend of over 50 years on and off, who lives locally, so it was very convenient. Unfortunately there was a wedding reception on this night which pushed the price up. Only problem was the TV remote which did not work at all, replaced by reception. The replacement was not the one for the TV in the room and the buttons did not correspond to the commands. Not really the hotel’s fault it’s the guests that steal them! Otherwise no complaints very quiet even though there was a wedding reception did not hear a thing and both had a good nights sleep. Plenty of variety for breakfast and the sausages are very nice. I was lucky to get a room on the ground floor because my wife would not have managed the stairs.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank mervdale2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate Sewell, General Manager at Best Western Ipswich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2021

Dear Mervdale

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Please accept my full apologies regarding the problem with the remote.

We hope to see you again in the near future
Kindest regards
Julie Campbell
Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2021

Booked the superior room, unfortunately the rooms had cobwebs in corners of it and spiders there upon arrival. The receptionist didn’t seem to want to acknowledge the spiders when I mentioned. the location there was questionable due to heat there was an awful lot of bugs flying everywhere. Even in their nice outside garden. Was looking forward to enjoy my food out there but was forced to eat in the room due to the bugs everywhere. The wowcher advert we had used to book this trip promised us a jacuzzi which was out of service the entire stay. It had promised 2 complimentary glasses of champagne upon arrival which was never received and slippers to take home which they had run out of. However the rest of wowcher advert it had delivered fine. But the rest of the expected service was poor.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank jamster1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate Sewell, General Manager at Best Western Ipswich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2021

Dear Jamster1410

Thank you for taking the time in posting your review and please accept my sincere apologies regarding the cleanliness of your room and that you did not receive your bubbly on arrival. We will be providing training for the new members of staff in the Restaurant with the aim to raise standards.

Apologies for the insects outside , I am hoping that this was not the case in the Bar and Lounge area.

Once again, thank you for letting us know the issues you encountered during your stay, we will endeavour to improve our standards .

Kindest regards
Julie Campbell

Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews