We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Royal Norfolk Hotel(Sandgate)(Great Value!)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ship Inn(Sandgate)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
59
81
67
58
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
81
67
58
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea fronthome from homea bit tiredwould stay againstayed here for one nightshort staylilytlckenttunneldover
Filter
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2015 via mobile

Arrived at the Sandgate hotel for one nights stay, so glad it wasn't a longer stay as we would have left !
We booked an over night stay for two adults and a dog with a private veranda !
Excuse the pun but we wouldn't have put a dog in that room.
Room/bathroom was dirty and shabby, the veranda was dirty and shabby also not private !!
Had a nice enough breakfast, served by a lovely young lady.
On leaving we complained to the young lady as she seemed to be doing the serving and reception, we arranged to pay half the bill as we did have a great view of the sea and a satisfactory breakfast.
Lastly we were awakened by boom boom music at 6am, I decided to take the dog for a walk to find out where the music was coming from. It was coming from the bar area below our room, a cleaner was there so I presume he had turned on the music, a big thanks to him for the rude awakening !! We only had 300 miles to drive that day.
Don't stay here is my advise it's worse than Fawlty Towers !!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank DoodleBingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2015

we nearly cancelled our stay after reading the negative reviews on trip advisor. Thankfully we didn't. We had a room with a balcony and sea view, unfortunately the weather was poor, but if you are lucky enough to get good weather this would be ideal.
Yes the rooms are a little tired, but for the price we had no complaints.
The staff are excellent, very attentive and efficient.
We ate both nights in the restaurant and found the food to be good. The bar is a comfortable place to sit and relax with a good atmosphere. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Savvynan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2015

We stayed one night, the general cleanliness was not good, the mattress was awful and could feel every single metal spring. The window was so dirty and dusty. The bathroom was full of mould.

Only positive point was a nice lady at reception.

Not worth £70 I would not recommend. It's not even that close to the Eurotunnel, stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Arrive early and check the bathroom first, or avoid all together.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Milan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2015

This hotel is trying to be too many things. We stayed their on a Sunday, rooms were very average an't really grumble for the price, however the pillows and sheets were very very off white/ hint of yellow which gave the impression of not being clean and a tile missing in the bathroom that could have been replaced and the shower fitting leaked heavily when turned on, and bed uncomfortable. We booked a table for dinner and they had very loud live music on so we could hear ourselves talk, and yet no one said when we booked the table or we would have eaten elsewhere.
Dinner took over an hour for the starter due to being rammed with people watching the band and my dad's steak was order as well done and cam out with blood and even after asking to be cooked more it was still pink inside and a 18.95 for a steak poor show. Feel really sorry for the staff as too little of them so service is not what it should be for a hotel. Sorry guys think you need to decide what you want to be known and pay that more attention to encourage people to come back as the Ship Inn has rooms for £10 more than we paid and the service, room and breakfast so much better!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2015

This hotel has obviously been very nice once, but the bedrooms are definitely a bit run down now. We also felt the restaurant menu was rather expensive, but the proportions were generous and the meal was OK. Breakfast is included and is very good value.
The thing that made us decide we would come back to the Sandgate was the girls on reception. We were booked in, served a drink at the bar, had our order taken for dinner and then were served dinner by the same young lady. She seemed to do everything! She was polite, friendly and helpful. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel, and there are regulars buses into Folkestone. We got a taxi from Folkestone Central station but would use the bus if we came again.
We paid £60 per night for 3 nights bed and breakfast in a twin room with sea view, and felt we got reasonable value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have balconies facing the sea.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank izzybelle40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews