We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DIRTY !!”
Review of Sandgate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandgate Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandgate
Reviewed 5 September 2015

The images posted for this Hotel page are a misrepresentation of the facts They do not reflect the current state of this premise and its rooms. The building requires urgent remedial work and the rooms, hallways and staircase require a complete overhaul. The so called private balcony is not private. It is shared by two other rooms. The balcony is rusting, the windows / balcony doors require stripping re sealing and painting. There were loose tiles on the bathroom floor. There were dirty brown marks on the bathroom tiles ( forensic report required ). The bedding was faded and should have been laid to rest years ago. The carpet was flat with ware and dirty. There were hairs all around the skirting boards. There was dust everywhere. The walls were marked, the doors were marked,t he hallway walls were marked to an atrocious level. I have travelled the world and never stayed in such a dire establishment. I would not subject my dog to a night here. I paid half the bill under duress. Please see current images I have posted.

Room Tip: never in a million years !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank dafterthanabrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

100 - 104 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2015 via mobile

Arrived at the Sandgate hotel for one nights stay, so glad it wasn't a longer stay as we would have left !
We booked an over night stay for two adults and a dog with a private veranda !
Excuse the pun but we wouldn't have put a dog in that room.
Room/bathroom was dirty and shabby, the veranda was dirty and shabby also not private !!
Had a nice enough breakfast, served by a lovely young lady.
On leaving we complained to the young lady as she seemed to be doing the serving and reception, we arranged to pay half the bill as we did have a great view of the sea and a satisfactory breakfast.
Lastly we were awakened by boom boom music at 6am, I decided to take the dog for a walk to find out where the music was coming from. It was coming from the bar area below our room, a cleaner was there so I presume he had turned on the music, a big thanks to him for the rude awakening !! We only had 300 miles to drive that day.
Don't stay here is my advise it's worse than Fawlty Towers !!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank DoodleBingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2015

we nearly cancelled our stay after reading the negative reviews on trip advisor. Thankfully we didn't. We had a room with a balcony and sea view, unfortunately the weather was poor, but if you are lucky enough to get good weather this would be ideal.
Yes the rooms are a little tired, but for the price we had no complaints.
The staff are excellent, very attentive and efficient.
We ate both nights in the restaurant and found the food to be good. The bar is a comfortable place to sit and relax with a good atmosphere. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Savvynan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2015

We stayed one night, the general cleanliness was not good, the mattress was awful and could feel every single metal spring. The window was so dirty and dusty. The bathroom was full of mould.

Only positive point was a nice lady at reception.

Not worth £70 I would not recommend. It's not even that close to the Eurotunnel, stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Arrive early and check the bathroom first, or avoid all together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Milan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2015

This hotel is trying to be too many things. We stayed their on a Sunday, rooms were very average an't really grumble for the price, however the pillows and sheets were very very off white/ hint of yellow which gave the impression of not being clean and a tile missing in the bathroom that could have been replaced and the shower fitting leaked heavily when turned on, and bed uncomfortable. We booked a table for dinner and they had very loud live music on so we could hear ourselves talk, and yet no one said when we booked the table or we would have eaten elsewhere.
Dinner took over an hour for the starter due to being rammed with people watching the band and my dad's steak was order as well done and cam out with blood and even after asking to be cooked more it was still pink inside and a 18.95 for a steak poor show. Feel really sorry for the staff as too little of them so service is not what it should be for a hotel. Sorry guys think you need to decide what you want to be known and pay that more attention to encourage people to come back as the Ship Inn has rooms for £10 more than we paid and the service, room and breakfast so much better!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandgate
2.2 km away
Best Western Plus Burlington Hotel
3.6 km away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,907 reviews
2.8 km away
Hythe Imperial
Hythe Imperial
#1 of 3 in Hythe
1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#3 of 10 in Folkestone
209 reviews
2.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
2.7 km away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandgate Hotel

Address: The Esplanade | The Esplanade, Sandgate, Folkestone CT20 3DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone > Sandgate
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandgate
Price Range: RM 223 - RM 403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandgate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sandgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandgate Hotel Folkestone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing