We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”
Review of The Brook Inn

The Brook Inn
Ranked #3 of 27 Restaurants in Plympton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$22
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Brook Inn changed hands on 7th April 2014. It's a family and dog-friendly pub just three minutes from the A38 and 10 minutes from Plymouth city centre, set in the picturesque village of Plympton St Maurice. The aim is to provide a variety of dishes on the menu, using local suppliers as much as possible. The pub prides itself on its support for live and local music, and also hosts lots of other activities like quiz nights, Tai Chi, line-dancing, watercolour art lessons, Murder Mystery nights (to name but a few). The Brook, at the heart of the community, is also an ideal venue to hold coffee mornings, meetings and charity events. It's "more than just a pub".
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

Stopped here on the spur of the moment for lunch - and soooo glad we did . Ordered "posh fish finger" baguette and cheesy chips -- sounds a bit bland and boring BUT nooo it was far from it -- absolutely delicious . Staff very friendly . We will defiantly be returning
YUM !!
Paula/Nick

Thank Greengrann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookInn, Owner at The Brook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Thank you very much for your five star review on TripAdvisor, we really appreciate you taking the time and are delighted that you enjoyed your 'posh fish fingers' lol.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Best wishes from John and the team. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 99 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2017

My wife and I wanted to take the family out for a birthday treat and decided on a Sunday Lunch. Seeing as we required a table for 6 and we were informed booking was advised so we did.and it was a good thing we did.
When we arrived it was packed and we were greeted with hospitality and shown our table which was in the conservatory area which was light and airy.
We all decided on the famous Sunday Roast where you can choose between a variety of hot meats or even a combination. The service was excellent from the staff who really looked after us well. Our plates were full with lovely roast potatoes and Yorkshire puddings, with separate side orders of fresh vegetables. I see that during the week live entertainment is often featured with local bands and artistes.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookInn, Owner at The Brook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you very much for your five star review of The Brook Inn. We are very glad you discovered us and that you enjoyed your visit.

Yes, our Sunday lunches often book up a week or two in advance so it's always worth booking in advance.

We hope to see you back again soon. Maybe come and try some of our live music events.

Best wishes from John and the team :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

Recently had a family get together here and was very impressed with both the food and service. meals were of good quality and reasonably priced. Staff attentive and nothing too much trouble

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MaestroPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookInn, Owner at The Brook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Thank you very much for your review. We're really pleased that you enjoyed your family gathering at The Brook and hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes from John and the team
:-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Very friendly and with a great community feel, The Brook Inn serves some wonderful food. All the meals are freshly prepared, and served in substantial portions. Often locally sourced, the food is delicious. Prices are extremely reasonable as well. A word of caution though - as the food is freshly prepared, be ready for a bit of a wait at busy times. My advice would be to order some starters or light plates to share and simply enjoy the restaurant experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookInn, Owner at The Brook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thanks very much for your review of The Brook Inn and we fully concur with your advice.

We would also add that, whilst we love spontaneity, we give priority to customers who have booked tables - so it's always advisable to give us a quick call so we can let you know when the busiest times might be, and help you avoid any wait.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Best wishes

John and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

This is a fantastic restaurant located in the suburb of Plympton. The food here is fantastic and the staff are very polite and welcoming. There is a large car park, as well as a second car park above the restaurant. There is also a disabled toilet located inside. The food is delicious and there is also a bar!!

Thank zackhayden001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookInn, Owner at The Brook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Brook Inn, it means a lot to us.

We hope you'll come and visit again in the near future.

Best wishes from John and the team :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Brook Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Brook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing