We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to be back and a heartfelt "Well Done"”
Review of Chequers Inn

Chequers Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Restaurants in Redbourn
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had dinner Sunday evening and it was really good to be able to meet with family for a meal after so long. Service was a bit slow at times but as ever friendly helpful staff and we were not in a hurry so small delays didn't really matter. The meals were pretty good, well cooked and tasty, although I did think not quite to the standard I remember from last year. Maybe I am being picky though given these difficult times and it can't be easy to pick up the game less than a week after being closed for such a long time. So no complaints; I was impressed and will certainly be back for more. ::Neil::

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank macburner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Chequers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to let us know how we did. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (730)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 730 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Terrible service all night although the food when it eventually appeared was okay. Manager was apologising for the poor service but he appeared part of the problem. He was more interested in his mobile phone than serving his customers.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank X9293YDdavidb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Chequers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi X9293yddavidb, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. I'm disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit, and I'd really appreciate the opportunity to turn it around.Please can you get in touch when you have a spare moment 6151@greeneking.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great food, great service, Lucy is the best! It's good to be back, keep on with the amazing service.................

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank joeller455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Chequers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your positive comments about our pub, have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

nice garden and good variety of beers and food. friendly and polite servers, better to have phone on hand with NHS app as staff require you to check in on entrance,

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 531flake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Chequers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi 531flake, great to hear you enjoyed your visit to our pub. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First meal out since lockdown and chose the chequers as one of our old favourites -,great meal and service as always - the sea bream was delicious as was my lasagne - thanks to the team there for making it a meal to remember.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Monikahodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Chequers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your positive comments about our pub, have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chequers Inn also viewed

 
Redbourn, Hertfordshire
Little Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Chequers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.