We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$211
Hotels.comUS$211
PricelineUS$212
Orbitz.comUS$211
eDreamsUS$212
CheapTicketsUS$211
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (867)
Filter reviews
869 results
Traveller rating
546
142
86
29
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
546
142
86
29
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the grill bridal suite sunday lunch family meal wedding venue beef van dyk fish and chips yorkshire pudding booked a table couldn t lovely food from start to finish be visiting again special occasion cannot fault loyalty card
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 869 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2021 via mobile

We came for a lovely lunch (squid, cream mushrooms, chicken escalopes, crusted cod with chorizo).

Everything was fine. If truly honest, I'd have happily had a little more on my plate and it does a feel more than a smidgen overpriced.
I did want the scotch egg starter but they'd gone by 1:15 - I managed to overcome my devastation.

We had booked to be in the Yule Lodge but we only discovered on arrival that this was not open - we were disappointed to not be informed by email or phone beforehand but it wasn't the end of the world, despite wanting to be outdoors on a beautiful day. The Orangery is a nice space. The decor was very fresh and comfortable.

We'd consider trying the spa and overnight stay as the venue looks lovely, but we'd probably wait for a deal to encourage us to come here rather than other spa breaks/eateries in the area.

Thanks for having us.

Room tip: If going in the next few days and booked in the Yule Lodge, check this is available if you have your heart set on eating in this particular area.
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AandR24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Journey Manager, Other at Van Dyk By Wildes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Thank you for providing a lovely review on your lunch. our team back and front of house work hard to ensure that all our guests have an enjoyable experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards

Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2021 via mobile

My sister had her wedding here on Saturday and it was a truly beautiful and memorable day.
The hotel decor and furnishings are fresh and tastefully modern. The ambience of the hotel was welcoming and the staff were friendly, smart and helpful.
The wedding canapรฉs were exquisite and the chosen wedding breakfast menu was delicious, well presented and a great temperature.
We would highly recommend the hotel as a wedding venue and the attention to detail was spot on.
We look forward to visiting again in the near future.
Claire Russell

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Journey Manager, Other at Van Dyk By Wildes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2021

Hi Claire,

Thank you for your lovely feedback on your sisters wedding. We are so pleased you enjoyed your experience at Van Dyk.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards

Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2021

We visited Van Dykes this weekend after booking a table at The Yule Lodge on the 12th April and thought we would stay the night too. When we arrived the Yule Lodge that we had booked a month before was closed and we had not been notified of this before hand, no email, no call nothing on social media! We then got directed to the old part of the hotel for our evening meal where food was nice but the experience was not! We were waiting ages when there were plenty of clearly very stressed out staff who were prioritising the outside drinking rather than the inside diners.
After the meal I made a complaint at the front desk about how poor our experience had been and we were just told that it would be passed on, no apology. Then to top off our stay the breakfast buffet had apparently just been put out at 8am and it was all cold. We would definitely not recommend anyone to stay here and we certainly will not be returning. It may look nice but thatโ€™s about it!

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5  Thank victoriabP364LF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Journey Manager, Other at Van Dyk By Wildes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

As we explained to you and also explained on our social media platforms, we had tried to contact as many guests as possible (those that had left correct details) that our Yule Lodge was closed due to the amount of rain that we have received in the last 4 weeks.

We as a business will also ensure the safety of our Team and Guests is a priority. No business that has been closed for months, wants to close any part of the business and loose further revenue. I can only apologise that we were unable to contact you to advise of the short notice closure.

Our breakfasts start at 8am and we served over 140 breakfasts on Saturday Morning of which the feedback on checkback and checkout was excellent. We know the breakfast buffet wasn't cold.

However, thank you for your feedback, albeit not fully accurate.

Regards

Craig.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2021

Lovely lunch in the orangery today. Beef bourguigon for me which was tasty and melted in the mouth and a light bites fish and chips (nothing lite about it - i might have pinched a chip or two, which were also amazing) for my sister. The staff were friendly, smart welcoming. The food was exquisite. The decor is fresh and modern. We will be having a return visit soon.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Dawnmumoftwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Journey Manager, Other at Van Dyk By Wildes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your lunch with us and found our staff smart, friendly and welcoming.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards

Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2021 via mobile

Visited Van Dyks for dinner, a wedding then breakfast the next morning. Staff were friendly and helpful, Mark Wildeโ€™s was on hand to ensure everything went to plan and really made us feel looked after even with our 3 month old baby, nothing was too much trouble.

Orangery restaurant is stunning and food was lovely. The burgers could be sourced better but overall was good.

Wedding food was gorgeous as was breakfast in the morning.

If booking in the traditional side of the hotel there are no lifts for prams/heavy bags etc. So ensure in the new part if lifts are needed.

Room tip: Accessibility for prams, disability etc limited in traditional part of hotel. Book the new side if lifts needed.
Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank beckyw772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Journey Manager, Other at Van Dyk By Wildes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your experience at Van Dyk and our Team looked after you.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards

Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews