We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveller rating
166
77
16
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
166
77
16
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub fish and chips lovely atmosphere family meal ribs liver pie bar area is prices are reasonable sunday roast scotch egg have eaten here dee estuary very pleasant evening selection of beers a great place to stay spent nights
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 271 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

We visited the Jug and Bottle with family in a group of five as part of a treat for my wife but our Son and Daughter in Law. We had not eaten there before. The Waitress was pleasant and we were shown to our table where drinks were ordered. We chose a variety of dishes, which were all served together with not a lot of waiting time. My wife and I had homemade steak
pies and homemade chips. One of our party had the BBQ Ribs which were an impressive size. One of my sons had the Brisket Burger which was incredibly greasy and he was not able to finish it. He did not want to make a fuss but when it was pointed out to the Waitress, she offered to bring him another drink on the house which he accepted. Otherwise the food was very
good and other than the burger, we couldn't fault anything. We would eat there again. The bill was under £100 for five with drinks about £20 on top.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Phil_Jane_wirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

Situation handled so badly. The last straw was after waiting so long for ordered food (and not apparently that busy) a reserve notice was dumped on our table without a word spoken and we have not even eaten. So sad.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank michael l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

Despite the initial confusion, booking.com had confirmed the wrong date, I had a very good stay.

Room was clean and spacious and the food in the restaurant was fantastic.

Would highly recommend and would certainly stay here again.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank Christopher E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

A few couples stayed over to attend a birthday party nearby. From the moment we arrived the staff were very welcoming friendly and organised. We had a light bite in the afternoon and there was a great choice of excellent food. The rooms were very comfortable, spotlessly clean and exceeded our expectations. The breakfast as others have said was excellent. I could recommend as a good place to stay, eat and drink!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank AdandNess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed here twice now. Both occasions can't complement enough. Rooms are done to a brilliant standard, beds are comfy, the place is immaculate and there is an excellent choice for breakfast. Went for the full English. Top quality produce, cooked well. Didn't eat in the bar / restaurant on this visit but have in the past and the food is good too. Good selection of lagers, lots of real ale, most of which local. Overall what's not to like. Exceptional value for money.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank ferris39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews