We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Location. AMAZING PLACE.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Ship Inn

External
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
External
Main Lounge Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
External
Main Lounge
Kitchen
2nd Lounge
Pool Table
Dormitory Room
Dining Room
Dinning Room View 2
Sample Bathroom
Sample Bathroom 2
Sample Bathroom 3
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 5
Bedroom 6
Bedroom 7
Bedroom 8
Bedroom 9
Bedroom 10
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
12 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 34
Old Colwyn, Conwy County, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lorlie-Lo...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Location. AMAZING PLACE.”
Reviewed 15 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

First of all. Considering the lateness of our booking, the whole process couldn't have been any easier for us. The owner was quick, efficient and incredibly helpful.

The Ship-Walking into The Ship, you don't know where to start. Its huge. There are 3 floors, bedrooms enough to sleep more than our mere 20. Two lounge areas, the massive one downstairs that makes you feel as though you own a pub, projector for sports, full sky TV package, even DVD's if you wanted to watch them. There is a second lounge room upstairs that also has sky TV so if you dont want to watch the sports (or whatever the crowd is watching downstairs) you can take yourself upstairs and chill up there.

There is a pool table which was a great touch. Extra special touch is 5+ furry snuggle blankets in the lounge to cuddle up with.

The kitchen is more than enough space to feed a small army, as well as being stocked fully to do so.

There were 20 of us there for a 30th Birthday party, the local pubs were very friendly and welcomed us with open arms. There are 4 pubs within walking distance.

We would definitely recommend The Ship.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Projector and Screen
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2013
Thanks for your kind words. It makes it all worth while to hear people had a blast. Hopefully welcome you back soon.
Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1m9a6c6
Darwen, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent venue for a family getaway”
Reviewed 13 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

The Ship Inn is an impressive and grand place to get away with the family or a large group.
the kids in our group ( ages 4 to 21 ) had a great time due to the fact that they took over the first floor with its own fully equipped living room , giving them their own independence ,
i.e. no parents getting on their case.
the dining kitchen was well equipped and ideal for a large group to eat take aways from the many on offer outside the front door.
the location of The Ship is handy for pubs , cafes , takeaways ,shops etc .
to be truthful you could just stay in and relax playing pool watching tv , films , sports , there is also wifi .
we encountered a couple of minor issues , but , I was in touch with the owner Mark and these were sorted out .
A GREAT PLACE TO STAY
we are looking forward to our next stay and I would and have recommended The Ship to others .
Cheers , Paul .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the size of the place
Liked least: could do with mirrors in more of the bathrooms
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2013
Thanks Paul for your kind and generous words. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ericac415
Darwen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic place for a break- would definitely go again.”
Reviewed 10 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We stopped at the Ship Inn over the Easter break with a large (24 including 10 children) family group to celebrate an 80th birthday. We had an amazing time: highlights of the property were its size and central location (plenty of very good pubs, restaurants and takeaways). It was large enough that the 10 children all felt they had their independence, using the first floor living room as their own. The children also loved the pool table, cinema screen and the WII games - so much so that they would have been happy if we had not left the house all weekend! As adults we found the property too be extremely well equipped, the large dining kitchen meant we could all sit down together for meals and the kitchen facilities were more than adequate for catering for this number of guests. The layout of the property and the abundance of double rooms spread over three floors also meant that whilst together, nobody ever felt they were 'in each others pockets' all of the time and the number of bathrooms also meant none of the children were falling out over 'shower time'!. Whilst there were some small problems (as maybe expected from an older property or that could happen anywhere) we would reiterate that these in no way affected our enjoyment and we would not only book again without hesitation but would (and have) recommend this property to all our family and friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and layout of the property
Liked least: Non residents using the car park
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2013
Thank you very much for your more balanced analysis of your trip than that provided by another guest. It is strange how two completely different experiences can occur at the same time within the same four walls. It is however of GREAT import and indeed relief to hear it was a success as far some were concerned!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$708
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing