We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home from home in Tuscany”
Review of La Fontaccia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Fontaccia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2017

What a wonderful place! Giuliana, our hostess, was such a warm, welcoming person who made us feel very much at home. The room was spacious, a very comfy huge bed, and everything that one needs.
The breakfast was a joy, sitting on the large terrace overlooking the olive groves and hills beyond. Giuliana dies a great scramblespd egg, as well as all the other Tuscan delights. She excels in her evening meal - superb!
We spent 5 nights here, and would certainly want to return.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
There are newer reviews for La Fontaccia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed for five days at this wonderful bed and breakfast, and I am counting the days until I can come back. Giuliana was a wonderful host. She makes her own limoncello, sweet wines, olive oil, marmalades, baked goods, jarred figs, pesto, etc... Her meals were wonderful and have the charm that you would hope to find in Tuscany. It's so lovely and her hospitality was outstanding. She doesn't speak much English, but she understands the majority of what we were trying to communicate. The location is a little tricky with very windy roads to get to other places, but the charm of the place makes up for the slightly out of the way location (we visited several other cities while we stayed here). Just a lovely place to stay.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

We had a great stay in this quiet and peaceful inn. The rooms are simple and clean. Apartment is available for families. The best part is the multi-course meal that was included. The food was excellent and easily an $80 meal in a top notch restaurant. This place has charm! We will stay again.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Thom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

+ Location is unique. Wonderful view of the valley and very quiet.
+ Food is great: you can have continental or English breakfast and enjoy homemade cakes. I also advise you to have dinner there as well. They cook very traditional Tuscany food.
+ Staff is kind

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
Thank Davide M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

What a lovely and warm place. Extremely remote with breathtaking vistas. Incredible hospitality from Juliana who serves up delicious meals and coffees. Perfect place to return to for a quiet bottle of wine after a day of running around Tuscany. Rental car a must. Zero hustle and bustle. A real escape from city life.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank mdoppnyc36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel San Gimignano
3.9 km away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,237 reviews
9.3 km away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,308 reviews
8.1 km away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Hotel le Volpaie
Hotel le Volpaie
#14 of 29 in San Gimignano
174 reviews
5.2 km away
Hotel Pescille
Hotel Pescille
#11 of 29 in San Gimignano
360 reviews
7.1 km away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fontaccia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fontaccia

Address: Localita la Fontaccia SNC, 53037 Castel San Gimignano, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano > Castel San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Castel San Gimignano
Price Range: RM602 - RM703 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Fontaccia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing