We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for yala safari lovers, locals or eco tourists.”
Review of Saraii Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saraii Village
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Tissamaharama
Reviewed 6 April 2015

There was no security/safety in the rooms, and it was very rusty and dusty. Though the setup is unique, food is below average, you would get better food in a local home at Tissamaharama. Staff are friendly but they are not managed well. This place is one hour way from Yala. What they said about food is neither locally produced or organic. Photos are very misleading, don’t get carried way. Overall they failed to deliver one of the things they promised!

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Nilmini D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraiiVillage, Manager at Saraii Village, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2015

Dear Nilmini D,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Saraii Village is a dedicated eco friendly resort and our minimalist architecture brings out the true essence of rural Sri Lankan homes. We try to enhance, not take away, from the beauty of the natural landscape – which is why we offer an Open Space concept where our guests are able to connect and feel closer to nature.

We have given all our guests the option of using the luggage hold if they wish. And we have provided 24 hour security on site. So the location is absolutely safe and secure.

While accepting that we have been unable to satisfy you during your stay at Saraii, we believe that our communications and website are in no way misleading. Almost all pictures have been

Most of the vegetables we use in our kitchens are grown and purchased from the local smallholder farmers or are from our own organic kitchen garden. Our local cooks are highly trained to prepare you a variety of western and local cuisine. If you were unhappy with your meals, our chefs would have been more than happy to whip up something different for you and your friend, had you brought this up to our staff.

We would like to sincerely apologize once again for your unsatisfactory stay at Saraii Village.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 158 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2015

Stayed here for two nights. Tree houses are as advertised and a nice change of pace for the adventurous. One thing to keep in mind is the heat! One of our party members came down with heat rash on the 2nd night. There is no pool etc to escape from the high temps (and it's always hot, even at night).

The staff, particularly Anna, the yoga instructor and masseuse, were very attentive. Lots of people around to help out with whatever you need. Language barrier was a bit of an issue at times however.

The food was three stars at best. I think the chef is doing the best he can with the facilities and management he has been given.

My chief criticism of this place is the management/back office side of things. We booked a particular tree house several months in advance. Upon arrival, they had no record of the reservation. We dug out the confirmation code emailed to us, and the staff had to call their offsite management team. The house we wanted was taken, so they put us in another smaller option. That wouldn't have been so bad - however the mistakes kept piling on. We paid for our drinks and tipped the staff as we left. Got into a taxi, and then 3 hours into our taxi ride the offsite manager calls the driver and tells us we hadn't yet paid for the rooms! He can't take our credit card over the phone (his machine was broke), so we had to leave cash with the driver. And they had the gall to try to overcharge us before we said anything!

Again, the onsite staff is great, but the remote managers are terrible and it shows.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank Morgan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraiiVillage, Manager at Saraii Village, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2015

Dear Morgan W,

Thank you for your kind comments on the Saraii Village staff and accommodation options.
I am extremely sorry about the inconvenience caused with regard to your checkout. Our staff did not confirm a payment method, and were unfamiliar with the third-party booking site that handled your reservation. We have now made efforts to train our staff to respond to these situations in a more systematic and efficient manner.

The Front Desk or the Management should have confirmed payment before your departure – instead of when you were already on your way back. This too has been communicated and our staff have been trained on proper protocols.

However, it would have also helped if you mentioned that you had not made a payment for your 2 night stay; since you were aware that you had not made the due upfront payment for your reservation.

I hope this has not marred your otherwise relaxing stay with us at Saraii Village.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2015 via mobile

Photos on the website is really misleading. We were promised a mud hut but I doubt it's what we got. Did not feel safe at all. However, trusted the people around coz they are my people and my country.
Although staff seem to be trained to be polite and friendly, they are not educated how to respond to certain important situations. In the dining area, we had to become passive smokers as the staff allowed foreigners to smoke inside the dining area. We came to this eco village to avoid pollution and be healthy. After all, it is not pub. I feel there is no value for money. Mainly because no unique experience was created as promised in the photos in the site.
We are grateful for the security we had irrespective of the half open room were given ( and it mattered coz we were two ladies)
This place need more attention in delivering a unique experience for people.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
4  Thank Jayneeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraiiVillage, Manager at Saraii Village, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2015

Dear Jayneeze,

I am sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay with us but we would like to point out the following:

- Our website is not misleading. We pride ourselves in being one of Sri Lanka’s most eco-friendly resorts and the pictures are taken by our own internal staff and description on the website portrays Saraii Village just as it is.

- Our Mud Huts have been designed in the most minimalist manner in keeping with the style of rural Sri Lankan homes employing an “Open Space” design. All the mud houses are equipped with lockable doors while we have a separate Luggage rooms which you could have used. Our staff is well trained and trustworthy and the whole resort is guarded with a 24 hour security.

Also noted your feedback with regards to the smoking and as you quite rightly stated, as an eco-resort, we have taken measures to avoid smoking indoors especially inside the dining area and would like to apologize for this incident.

However, we cannot force our guests to adopt certain behaviors – and in the future we would urge you to make a complaint to the staff in such an instance, and we would have been able to accommodate you in another location.

Thank you for your feedback.
Saraii Village Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2015 via mobile

We only stayed here one night but it was a wonderful experience we won't forget. We stayed in one of the two story treehouses. It had an en suite bathroom with running water, fully lit throughout and even wi-fi. Luxury camping with a small spa and great food. Had a wonderful massage from Anna. There were a lot of barking dogs at night and a snake was spotted (although this was the first time this had occurred) so you get well acquainted with nature. Staff were wonderful and even got up at 5am to give us a take-away breakfast because we were leaving early. Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank juskatgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraiiVillage, Manager at Saraii Village, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2015

Hello juskatgod,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear your positive feedback at our wonderful eco lodge. You must return to Saraii and maybe a longer stay next time with our Safari Combo offer!
Thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2015

For those who want to get away from the rush of the city but still be within easy reach of civilisation.
Saraii was very quiet for the 2 days we spent there.
Its only a few hundred yards away from the main road but you would not know it.
Comprising of very comfortable huts and tree houses, it blends in naturally with the dry zone bush of Sri Lanka
The tree house we stayed in had plenty of electric lights, a fan, mosquito nets and the beds were very comfortable.
The treehouse was very open to the outside so birds and squirrels come in and out very easily.
The complex has many trees which keeps the area relatively cool even during the burning mid day sun. The trees also give the place a refreshing air.
Yala is an hours drive away, but you can also go for a nature walk to the lake which is only a few mins away from Saraii. We saw many bird species on our walk to the lake.
Saraii supplied us with a jeep and and a packed lunch to go to Yala so that saved us the headache of booking a visit to the famous national park separately.
The food was delicious and i am told it is organic
All the staff working there are friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shivakumar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraiiVillage, Manager at Saraii Village, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2015

Thank you for your kind words Shivakumar,
Thrilled to see your positive feedback and glad you enjoyed a tranquil stay with us at Saraii. It’s also great you were able to participate in our Yala excursion. We look forward to having you back with us and do share your lovely pictures on our Facebook page or even tag us on Instagram as our fans would love to see them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tissamaharama
9.6 km away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
336 reviews
7.3 km away
Ekho Safari Hotel
Ekho Safari Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tissamaharama
584 reviews
8.0 km away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 km away
Jetwing Yala
Jetwing Yala
#1 of 2 in Yala National Park
1,599 reviews
8.1 km away
Kithala Resort
Kithala Resort
#4 of 14 in Tissamaharama
618 reviews
19.4 km away
Cinnamon Wild Yala
Cinnamon Wild Yala
#1 of 2 in Kirinda
1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saraii Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saraii Village

Address: Randunu Kale Watta | Weerawila, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Tissamaharama
Price Range: RM224 - RM940 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Saraii Village 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saraii, meaning "the essence" in Hebrew, aims to provide an authentic Sri Lankan experience with its unique tree houses and mud chalets. Within 15 minutes' by safari jeep from Bundala National Park, this pet-friendly property also has free Wi-Fi. The on-site Saraii Slow Food Specialty serves Sri Lankan cuisine and sandwiches. Decorated with colourful cushions, the non-smoking accommodation all come with a balcony, a fan and free bottled water. The private bathrooms are equipped with a shower. Saraii Village is 10 km from Tissamaharama and 27 km from Mattala Airport. It is within a 30-minute drive from Yala National Park, Kirinda Beach and Kataragama. Colombo International Airport is 290 km away. Guests can arrange day trips at the tour desk, or rent a bicycle to explore the area. Free parking is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Saraii Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saraii Village Sri Lanka/Tissamaharama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing