We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Yala Adventure(Tissamaharama)
US$73
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Hostel Yala(Tissamaharama)(Great Value!)
US$10
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
US$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aeon Hotel Tissa(Tissamaharama)(Great Value!)
US$28
US$21
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchorage Yala(Tissamaharama)
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Ainur Lanka Resort(Tissamaharama)
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Blue Turtle Hotel(Tissamaharama)
US$73
US$52
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ariya Tissa(Tissamaharama)
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Beddegama Ecopark(Tissamaharama)
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
307 results
Traveller rating
148
65
37
30
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
65
37
30
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstree houseunique experienceyoga retreatsri lankianchalet suitesalt water poolnature loversopen airorganic foodamazing treeoutdoor bathroomclose to naturemosquito netstaff was very friendly and helpfulstay in sri lankaamazing foodrecommend this place
Filter
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 307 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2015

Stayed here for two nights. Tree houses are as advertised and a nice change of pace for the adventurous. One thing to keep in mind is the heat! One of our party members came down with heat rash on the 2nd night. There is no pool etc to escape from the high temps (and it's always hot, even at night).

The staff, particularly Anna, the yoga instructor and masseuse, were very attentive. Lots of people around to help out with whatever you need. Language barrier was a bit of an issue at times however.

The food was three stars at best. I think the chef is doing the best he can with the facilities and management he has been given.

My chief criticism of this place is the management/back office side of things. We booked a particular tree house several months in advance. Upon arrival, they had no record of the reservation. We dug out the confirmation code emailed to us, and the staff had to call their offsite management team. The house we wanted was taken, so they put us in another smaller option. That wouldn't have been so bad - however the mistakes kept piling on. We paid for our drinks and tipped the staff as we left. Got into a taxi, and then 3 hours into our taxi ride the offsite manager calls the driver and tells us we hadn't yet paid for the rooms! He can't take our credit card over the phone (his machine was broke), so we had to leave cash with the driver. And they had the gall to try to overcharge us before we said anything!

Again, the onsite staff is great, but the remote managers are terrible and it shows.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank Morgan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraiiVillage, Manager at Saraii Village, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2015

Dear Morgan W,

Thank you for your kind comments on the Saraii Village staff and accommodation options.
I am extremely sorry about the inconvenience caused with regard to your checkout. Our staff did not confirm a payment method, and were unfamiliar with the third-party booking site that handled your reservation. We have now made efforts to train our staff to respond to these situations in a more systematic and efficient manner.

The Front Desk or the Management should have confirmed payment before your departure – instead of when you were already on your way back. This too has been communicated and our staff have been trained on proper protocols.

However, it would have also helped if you mentioned that you had not made a payment for your 2 night stay; since you were aware that you had not made the due upfront payment for your reservation.

I hope this has not marred your otherwise relaxing stay with us at Saraii Village.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2015 via mobile

Photos on the website is really misleading. We were promised a mud hut but I doubt it's what we got. Did not feel safe at all. However, trusted the people around coz they are my people and my country.
Although staff seem to be trained to be polite and friendly, they are not educated how to respond to certain important situations. In the dining area, we had to become passive smokers as the staff allowed foreigners to smoke inside the dining area. We came to this eco village to avoid pollution and be healthy. After all, it is not pub. I feel there is no value for money. Mainly because no unique experience was created as promised in the photos in the site.
We are grateful for the security we had irrespective of the half open room were given ( and it mattered coz we were two ladies)
This place need more attention in delivering a unique experience for people.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
4  Thank Jayneeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraiiVillage, Manager at Saraii Village, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2015

Dear Jayneeze,

I am sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay with us but we would like to point out the following:

- Our website is not misleading. We pride ourselves in being one of Sri Lanka’s most eco-friendly resorts and the pictures are taken by our own internal staff and description on the website portrays Saraii Village just as it is.

- Our Mud Huts have been designed in the most minimalist manner in keeping with the style of rural Sri Lankan homes employing an “Open Space” design. All the mud houses are equipped with lockable doors while we have a separate Luggage rooms which you could have used. Our staff is well trained and trustworthy and the whole resort is guarded with a 24 hour security.

Also noted your feedback with regards to the smoking and as you quite rightly stated, as an eco-resort, we have taken measures to avoid smoking indoors especially inside the dining area and would like to apologize for this incident.

However, we cannot force our guests to adopt certain behaviors – and in the future we would urge you to make a complaint to the staff in such an instance, and we would have been able to accommodate you in another location.

Thank you for your feedback.
Saraii Village Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2015 via mobile

We only stayed here one night but it was a wonderful experience we won't forget. We stayed in one of the two story treehouses. It had an en suite bathroom with running water, fully lit throughout and even wi-fi. Luxury camping with a small spa and great food. Had a wonderful massage from Anna. There were a lot of barking dogs at night and a snake was spotted (although this was the first time this had occurred) so you get well acquainted with nature. Staff were wonderful and even got up at 5am to give us a take-away breakfast because we were leaving early. Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank juskatgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraiiVillage, Manager at Saraii Village, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2015

Hello juskatgod,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear your positive feedback at our wonderful eco lodge. You must return to Saraii and maybe a longer stay next time with our Safari Combo offer!
Thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2015

For those who want to get away from the rush of the city but still be within easy reach of civilisation.
Saraii was very quiet for the 2 days we spent there.
Its only a few hundred yards away from the main road but you would not know it.
Comprising of very comfortable huts and tree houses, it blends in naturally with the dry zone bush of Sri Lanka
The tree house we stayed in had plenty of electric lights, a fan, mosquito nets and the beds were very comfortable.
The treehouse was very open to the outside so birds and squirrels come in and out very easily.
The complex has many trees which keeps the area relatively cool even during the burning mid day sun. The trees also give the place a refreshing air.
Yala is an hours drive away, but you can also go for a nature walk to the lake which is only a few mins away from Saraii. We saw many bird species on our walk to the lake.
Saraii supplied us with a jeep and and a packed lunch to go to Yala so that saved us the headache of booking a visit to the famous national park separately.
The food was delicious and i am told it is organic
All the staff working there are friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shivakumar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraiiVillage, Manager at Saraii Village, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2015

Thank you for your kind words Shivakumar,
Thrilled to see your positive feedback and glad you enjoyed a tranquil stay with us at Saraii. It’s also great you were able to participate in our Yala excursion. We look forward to having you back with us and do share your lovely pictures on our Facebook page or even tag us on Instagram as our fans would love to see them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2015

We stayed in the mud house chalet, which was spacious, cool and comfortable. The open-air shower and bath room was huge and definitely a close-to-nature experience (I had a little toad as company one morning). It was not easy to find the place, make sure your driver knows how to navigate to this place. Food at breakfast was so-so and service can be sped up.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Jazlyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraiiVillage, Manager at Saraii Village, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2015

Hi Jazlyn T,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the lovely review. We promised you a wild adventure and glad that we didn’t disappoint. The Mud Chalets are loved by quite a number of our guests seeking solitude and silence – which is the best part of the stay. We hope you return and look forward to having you back with us.

Saraii Village Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews