We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little peace of paradise”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
82 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Charney Bassett, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 82 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

rayashfie...
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A little peace of paradise”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We arrived for a two night, three day stay in this delightful converted barn. Designed to the highest standards, furnished with many interesting pieces. Everything was well presented, a basket of food for breakfast was supplied, a wide variety of gins available at the honesty bar and Lesley was there on our arrival to welcome us and ensure we settled in quickly. Set in delightful countryside, the small, but well maintained gardens were a hidden treasure. Only the sounds of the birds to listen to. Plenty of places to visit if you wish and the local village has a great steak house pub, for dining. The information book supplied was very useful. All the amenities you would expect and more at a property of this standard. By the time we had to go home, we felt we had been here for a week. Completely rested. We will definately be coming again. Thankyou Lesley for the wonderful welcome cake you kindly made. Ray and Sue x

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and comfort of the property
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2016
Thank you for such a lovely comprehensive review of the barn and local area, we look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive P
Charmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Luxury”
Reviewed 24 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My wife and I had the most relaxing time, the facilities were first class and a bit quirky. The owner cannot do enough for you.
Set in lovely Oxfordshire country side.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2016
Thank you for taking the time to send a review, I'm glad you had a relaxing time at The Long House. Kind regards Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S
Ardington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous!”
Reviewed 28 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I have just spent the most wonderful birthday weekend at The Long House with some girlfriends. Lesley, the owner, has thought about absolutely everything a guest will ever need. From booking through to arrival, her attention to every single detail, was impeccable - she had even baked me a birthday cake!
It's all the little details that make a stay at The Long House so special. The sign outside the front door with a personal welcome message; the delicious hamper of breakfast essential; the log burner lit with a plentiful supply of chopped logs for later use; the very warm welcome from Lesley on arrival and the sheer luxury, peace and tranquility that is The Long House.
I will most definitely be booking another stay and would definitely recommend this property to anyone looking for a country stay.

Date of stay: February 2016
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Feb 2016
Thank you for the glowing review Karen and I'm glad you had such a great birthday weekend with your friends. We look forward to welcoming you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Date of stay: December 2015
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Jan 2016
Thank you for your lovely review, we're so glad you were able to relax and switch off from your usual hectic city lives.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in November 2015

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet and individuality
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Jan 2016
Thank you for your review, a country walk always builds up an appetite for a pub lunch! Glad you had a relaxing time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.