We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We all loved Maggies”
other travellers have booked this property
Maggie's  - Your home away from home
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Maggie's  - Your home away from home
Fully equipped kitchen Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
Maggie's  - Your home away from home
Fully equipped kitchen
Dining Room
The Living Room
Upstairs lounge area - with double sofa-bed
Upstairs lounge closet - which hides a TV, and CD player
Bedroom - Queen sized bed
Bedroom - Double bed
Bedroom - Double bed
The fireplace makes the kitchen cozy and warm
The main bath - another half-bath is upstairs
The view from the Kitchen
Maggie's Pond - across the road from the house
The beaver's home on Maggie's Pond
On Maggie's Pond - a great place to meditate or perhaps catch a trout.
A stream which feeds into Maggie's Pond
An occasional visitor on driveway to Maggie's
Cathy, Uli and Tomo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Englishtown, Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ann W
Hamilton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We all loved Maggies”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were a group of 6 that spent the middle week of August at Maggie's and we all loved it. The oldest was 84 and the youngest was 15 and it appealed to all ages. It felt like home from the moment we walked in and found a home made pie waiting for us to the time we left with long faces. It is such a quaint but large well maintained and loved old farm home with lots of character and room for everyone. The owner was so accommodating and helpful with the cutest little dog that followed him around. This was one of our best family vacations and hope to return to Maggie's again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The front deck
Liked least: There was nothing I didn't like
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2015
Thank you for your kind comments - and for recognizing Maggie's "charms". We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Uli, Cathy and Tomo.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M
Canmore, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A charming taste of history!”
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I arrived at Maggie's in late July. We were very excited as we drove up to the house. Upon entering my 9 year old twin daughters could hardly contain their excitement when they saw all the furnished rooms. They felt as if they were experiencing the past for real! Wood stove, 1920's gramophone, decorations which all contained some sort of curious story. In fact, my daughters stated, "It is just like the homes at Fort Edmonton!"

The owners of the property were very outgoing. They themselves had experienced many countries in their travels, but call Cape Breton home. I can see why - with such beautiful scenery, location to ocean and National Parks it is a true Canadian gem.

I would highly recommend this property to people who wish to have a very authentic Cape Breton experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners were very friendly :)
Liked least: The slight iron smell from the tap water.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2015
Thank you for kind comments. It was indeed a pleasure having your family stay with us and we look forward to your next visit. In the mean time love and hugs to the twins.
Uli and Cathy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travellin...
Ashcroft, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Maggie's is the best!!”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Our family (2 adults, 4 children 11-18) used Maggie’s as a base (7 nights) to explore Cape Breton - and staying at Maggie’s ended up being the main attraction! We love the authenticity, charm and comfort of this lovingly restored farmhouse. Most of all, the unparalleled hospitality from Uli and Cathy made us feel welcomed and at home with freshly baked strawberry rhubarb pie, a warm wood stove, handmade soaps, homemade sourdough bread and ready recommendations and stories of Cape Breton.
Every window has a view of the surrounding silver birch and sugar maples. Maggie’s has a well-stocked sunny kitchen, comfy couches both upstairs and down and a dining room perfect for family meals and conversation. We enjoyed the picturesque hike down to the ocean and other hiking trails on the property...and a rest in the hammock under 2 big trees. There’s even an old piano on which to play around. Books, games, satellite TV, dvds, a claw-foot bathtub - everything you could need is there.
We packed our visit full of experiences in Cape Breton. Here’s just a few recommendations:
1)Spectacular hiking along the Cabot Trail. Ingonish Visitor Center is helpful and friendly. Since we were some of the first hikers of the opening season in May, we did encounter some serious snowbanks and mud! All of the trails we hiked were stunning.
2)Drive the entire Cabot Trail. We did this the same day we hiked the Skyline Trail - an absolute must - keep right and hike the whole thing!
3)Fortress of Louisberg. Excellent tour guides, costumed villagers....and there’s even geocaches to find on site!
4)Alexander Graham Bell National Historic Site in Baddeck is definitely worth a visit.
Top 3 food experiences:
1)Fresh lobster straight from the Atlantic, cooked with seawater right on the dock if you wish, at nearby Little River Wharf. (And check out the sandy beach next to it.)
2)Captain Caper’s Fish & Chips - only the best we’ve ever had, with amazing homemade tartar sauce. Located on the south end of the Englishtown ferry. 960 Englishtown Rd.
3)Laboulangerie Aucoin’s Bakery in Cheticamp - we stocked up here...especially on the cupcakes!
We give Maggie’s the highest recommendation and wish we could have lived here for a month!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners hospitality, the setting in silver birch & sugar maple, the wood stove, everything
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2015
Thank you sincerely for your kind comments. It was indeed a pleasure meeting and hosting your lovely family and we look forward to your next visit to Cape Breton.
Best regards till then.
Uli and Cathy Nikolai
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing