We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mvuradona Safari Lodge(Marloth Park)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Turaco Lodge(Marloth Park)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jabula Lodge(Marloth Park)
US$113
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bushwise Safaris(Marloth Park)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royale Marlothi Safari Lodge(Marloth Park)(Great Value!)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Crocodile Kruger Safari Lodge(Marloth Park)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Phumula Kruger Lodge and Safaris(Marloth Park)(Great Value!)
US$67
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Kruger Lodge(Marloth Park)
US$120
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Kruger Lodge(Marloth Park)
US$208
US$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (481)
Filter reviews
481 results
Traveller rating
455
23
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
455
23
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbush babiesother guestsgame driveskruger parkcommunal tableevery eveningdinner tablegreat hospitalitynight packagesouth africalong tablecrocodile rivermorning walkon a daily basisspent nightscomfortable roomsperfect stay
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 481 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at Needles Lodge. In the middle of the bush, only 30 min from Crocodile bridge Gate to Kruger. The people are very nice. There is a relaxed informal atmosphere. At night they serve lovely dinner on one long tables with the other guests.

The room is beautiful. However we did have a few cockroaches walking around. But I guess u cant avoid when staying in the bush!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lisanne6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGoff, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear Lisanne,
Thank you very much for visiting Needles Lodge, we really appreciate you choosing us for your safari holiday. And a big thank you for the great review. Yes we are in the bush and creepy crawlies do sometime enter ones room if the door is left open. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best regards, Denis, Gail, Colin and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Researching safaris in Kruger can be a daunting task - there is so much information out there and it can also be difficult to price things and hard to know what part of the vast area to stay in.

We liked the sound of Needles and felt it would be a more genuine visit to the 'open' or wild part of Kruger rather than paying exorbitant prices to go to a fenced reserve stocked with animals making it a guarantee to see the Big 5, helped by guides who destroy the flora and fauna driving off road to please the high paying tourists demanding to see everything.

Needles facilitates a much more genuine and organic experience of the park. Located in Marloth Park, about 30 mins from the Crocodile Bridge Gate to Kruger, it was a pleasure to stay in. The area itself is its own wilderness with some beautiful animals like Kudu, Giraffe, Zebra, Mongoose, Warthog and an abundance of bird life regularly visiting the surrounds of the beautiful lodge deck.

Dennis and his wife Gayle, along with Manager Colin were so helpful regarding our visits to Kruger. They recommended what game drives to do with our time available - we did a full day drive, a morning walk, a sunset/night drive and some self driving on our last day. If not getting picked up from the lodge, the staff will transport you to the Crocodile Bridge gate, about 30min away. These Kruger visits are with amazingly knowledgable guides that have to adhere to strict rules and not leave the road in their vehicles, all helping to preserve Kruger and protect it for visitors for years to come.

Our room was perfect for what we needed, there were only around 8 rooms when we were there so you really feel like you're getting a personalised experience and the staff really care about giving you the best they can. The breakfast was fresh and tasty, the three course evening meals were a great experience where everyone sits together and share stories of their day, sightings and recommendations of where to travel. The kitchen and cleaning staff were top notch!

Some of the best moments were being educated about all things Kruger over a glass or two of wine with Colin after dinner, learning things that you never would staying at a big impersonal resort. We also enjoyed the local bush babies coming out to eat in the evenings and the surprise visits of various groups of animals to the deck.

Dennis is passionate about the lodge and the environment in Marloth Park - various awards and his importance to the local community prove this. The amazing welcome and experience that him and his team gave us will always be remembered. We would love to visit again in a different season to see how the landscape changes and to tick some more boxes in our sightings book. We may have only seen 4 of the Big 5 but we never travelled expecting to see everything in 3 days. We saw and learned a lot more than we ever imagined and potential to see more will be our excuse to come back.

Thank you Dennis, Gayle and Colin for an unforgettable experience and sorry it took us so long to get our review up! We hope Gayle's leg healed well and that your slight expansion was successful. We will be back at some stage and I'll bring a better camera too :)

Kevin & Ailish

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGoff, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Kevin,
Wow, what a kind and flattering review! Thank you so much for taking the time to go into such detail which I am sure will assist many other travelers. And of course, thank you so much for choosing Needles for your bush holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back some day. Warm regards, Denis, Gail, Colin and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

I had an unforgetable and amazing experience, truly the best. Great thanks goes to Denis,Collin and Gail, the amazing host. You guys are an amazing host and I totally felt like home. Thank you so much.
The food was great and the staff was very friendly.
The guide who brought me to Kruger was fantastic and very helpful.
I highly recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGoff, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Hi Kevin,
We really enjoyed your visit and company, thank you for selecting us for your safari holiday. And a zillion thanks for the wonderful review. It really makes us happy when our valued guests enjoy our hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best regards, Denis, Gail, Colin and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Everything I expected and more. Accommodations are very comfortable. Breakfast and the 3 course gourmet dinners are awesome. Transportation provided by the lodge is also great. The owners Dennis and Gail along with the manager Colin, all have dinner with the guests on the patio every evening. The staff who cook and clean are very proficient and friendly to the guests. We we enjoyed the morning safari walk and 2 full day game drives. The full days are what I would change next time. I thought the days were way too long and would do half day game drives instead. The lodge has a pool and had it been a little warmer that would have been nice too. We enjoyed hanging out on the deck relaxing and reading from their library and watching the variety of animals that visited the lodge daily. My favorite were the bush babies that came in the evenings. Overall a fantastic experience that I'd love to do again. Thanks to everyone at Needles lodge for a great holiday!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank bigeasygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGoff, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Hi Bigeasygirl,
What a lovely review, thank you so much for choosing Needles and the kind words. I will pass on your good wishes to the team. we look forward to seeing you back in the bush. All the best, Denis, Gail, Colin and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Our hosts Colin, Dennis and Gayle were gracious and made us feel at home. Colin went above and beyond in helping us plan our trip to Needles and I cannot thank him enough. Fantastic value for the price! When we checked out, I could not believe our inexpensive bar bill! Go ahead and get a large bottle of wine, and forget the small bottles. If you do not finish, they will keep it for you until you're ready for it. The rooms were very comfortable, clean, well maintained, tastefully decorated, quality toiletries, and amenities. They even mopped the deck outside our rooms daily. When you open the drapes in the morning there's different animals right outside your door around the deck. The friendly staff Triphina, Thandi, and Thabbi worked very hard and made our stay comfortable. They have an excellent library that I took advantage of, since I keep a journal. Sous chef Tobi was amazing. Every meal was fantastic! She also catered to special dietary needs and I thank her for that. They are even willing to share recipes. Maybe they should come out with a cookbook or a cooking lesson tour? Tour guide Dylan was extremely knowledgeable and informative. Manny, the driver was interesting to talk to while he was motoring us around. We hated leaving and wanted to stay longer, but they were booked. I cannot say enough great things about Needle Lodge. I have been singing praises to everyone about this wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jacainc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGoff, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Jacainc,

WOW!! Thank you for your amazing review and your kind words. Thank you for choosing Needles for your safari holiday.

We will be certain to pass all of your great comments onto each member of staff individually.

It was our great pleasure to host you at Needles and we look forward to welcoming you all back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Denis, Gail, Colin and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews