We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Needles Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Needles Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Needles lodge is an amazing lodge. Dennis, Gail and Colin are great hosts. Every night they eat dinner with all of the guests. At first we were hesitant about eating all together, but it's so much fun. Everyone is doing safari's and different trips, having different experiences which you can later share with eachother. The lodge was beautiful, with lots of animals coming to the lodge veranda. From the dinner table we already saw bush babies, Kudu's, Pumba's (you know) and wildebeast. I would love to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGoff, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear Lars,
what a wonderful review. Thank you very much for the kind words and choosing Needles Lodge for your safari holiday. We certainly enjoy our discussions with guests at dinner each evening. We look forward to welcoming you back n the future. Warm regards, Denis, Gail, Colin and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at Needles Lodge. In the middle of the bush, only 30 min from Crocodile bridge Gate to Kruger. The people are very nice. There is a relaxed informal atmosphere. At night they serve lovely dinner on one long tables with the other guests.

The room is beautiful. However we did have a few cockroaches walking around. But I guess u cant avoid when staying in the bush!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lisanne6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGoff, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear Lisanne,
Thank you very much for visiting Needles Lodge, we really appreciate you choosing us for your safari holiday. And a big thank you for the great review. Yes we are in the bush and creepy crawlies do sometime enter ones room if the door is left open. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best regards, Denis, Gail, Colin and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Researching safaris in Kruger can be a daunting task - there is so much information out there and it can also be difficult to price things and hard to know what part of the vast area to stay in.

We liked the sound of Needles and felt it would be a more genuine visit to the 'open' or wild part of Kruger rather than paying exorbitant prices to go to a fenced reserve stocked with animals making it a guarantee to see the Big 5, helped by guides who destroy the flora and fauna driving off road to please the high paying tourists demanding to see everything.

Needles facilitates a much more genuine and organic experience of the park. Located in Marloth Park, about 30 mins from the Crocodile Bridge Gate to Kruger, it was a pleasure to stay in. The area itself is its own wilderness with some beautiful animals like Kudu, Giraffe, Zebra, Mongoose, Warthog and an abundance of bird life regularly visiting the surrounds of the beautiful lodge deck.

Dennis and his wife Gayle, along with Manager Colin were so helpful regarding our visits to Kruger. They recommended what game drives to do with our time available - we did a full day drive, a morning walk, a sunset/night drive and some self driving on our last day. If not getting picked up from the lodge, the staff will transport you to the Crocodile Bridge gate, about 30min away. These Kruger visits are with amazingly knowledgable guides that have to adhere to strict rules and not leave the road in their vehicles, all helping to preserve Kruger and protect it for visitors for years to come.

Our room was perfect for what we needed, there were only around 8 rooms when we were there so you really feel like you're getting a personalised experience and the staff really care about giving you the best they can. The breakfast was fresh and tasty, the three course evening meals were a great experience where everyone sits together and share stories of their day, sightings and recommendations of where to travel. The kitchen and cleaning staff were top notch!

Some of the best moments were being educated about all things Kruger over a glass or two of wine with Colin after dinner, learning things that you never would staying at a big impersonal resort. We also enjoyed the local bush babies coming out to eat in the evenings and the surprise visits of various groups of animals to the deck.

Dennis is passionate about the lodge and the environment in Marloth Park - various awards and his importance to the local community prove this. The amazing welcome and experience that him and his team gave us will always be remembered. We would love to visit again in a different season to see how the landscape changes and to tick some more boxes in our sightings book. We may have only seen 4 of the Big 5 but we never travelled expecting to see everything in 3 days. We saw and learned a lot more than we ever imagined and potential to see more will be our excuse to come back.

Thank you Dennis, Gayle and Colin for an unforgettable experience and sorry it took us so long to get our review up! We hope Gayle's leg healed well and that your slight expansion was successful. We will be back at some stage and I'll bring a better camera too :)

Kevin & Ailish

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGoff, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Kevin,
Wow, what a kind and flattering review! Thank you so much for taking the time to go into such detail which I am sure will assist many other travelers. And of course, thank you so much for choosing Needles for your bush holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back some day. Warm regards, Denis, Gail, Colin and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

I had an unforgetable and amazing experience, truly the best. Great thanks goes to Denis,Collin and Gail, the amazing host. You guys are an amazing host and I totally felt like home. Thank you so much.
The food was great and the staff was very friendly.
The guide who brought me to Kruger was fantastic and very helpful.
I highly recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGoff, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Hi Kevin,
We really enjoyed your visit and company, thank you for selecting us for your safari holiday. And a zillion thanks for the wonderful review. It really makes us happy when our valued guests enjoy our hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best regards, Denis, Gail, Colin and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Everything I expected and more. Accommodations are very comfortable. Breakfast and the 3 course gourmet dinners are awesome. Transportation provided by the lodge is also great. The owners Dennis and Gail along with the manager Colin, all have dinner with the guests on the patio every evening. The staff who cook and clean are very proficient and friendly to the guests. We we enjoyed the morning safari walk and 2 full day game drives. The full days are what I would change next time. I thought the days were way too long and would do half day game drives instead. The lodge has a pool and had it been a little warmer that would have been nice too. We enjoyed hanging out on the deck relaxing and reading from their library and watching the variety of animals that visited the lodge daily. My favorite were the bush babies that came in the evenings. Overall a fantastic experience that I'd love to do again. Thanks to everyone at Needles lodge for a great holiday!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank bigeasygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGoff, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Hi Bigeasygirl,
What a lovely review, thank you so much for choosing Needles and the kind words. I will pass on your good wishes to the team. we look forward to seeing you back in the bush. All the best, Denis, Gail, Colin and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
24.4 km away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
408 reviews
5.3 km away
Maqueda Lodge
Maqueda Lodge
#2 of 34 in Marloth Park
392 reviews
6.6 km away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#7 of 34 in Marloth Park
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Royal Kruger Lodge
Royal Kruger Lodge
#3 of 34 in Marloth Park
312 reviews
0.7 km away
Turaco Lodge
Turaco Lodge
#6 of 34 in Marloth Park
154 reviews
5.2 km away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#4 of 34 in Marloth Park
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Needles Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Needles Lodge

Address: 340 Bushpig Avenue, Marloth Park 1320, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range: RM564 - RM658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Needles Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to five-star service at three-star rates You deserve to give back to yourself and your loved ones. You deserve to reconnect. And what better way to do so than at an affordable four-star game lodge in the African bush. Up close and personalWarthogs, giraffe, zebra, kudu, wildebeest and impala wander around Needles Lodge. As you get up close and personal with them, you will experience their lives – and the heart of the African bush. At this warm, owner-run lodge, your comfort, your experience, and your needs are our top priority. As one visitor said, "You looked after us beautifully" – see 'Reviews'. Food, wild animals on your doorstep, peace and tranquility At Needles Lodge, delicious local cuisine, African hospitality, and tranquility complement country-style luxury, resulting in the experience of a lifetime. Your time in the African bush, at Needles Lodge, will revitalise you and your loved ones.Your memories – the animals, the people, the sounds, tastes and scents of the African bush – will live with you for the rest of your life. A bouquet of optionsIf you're looking for a peaceful retreat, escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life; enjoy the hospitality, relax, and soak up the sun at the pool. Or let Needles Lodge be your launching pad to the following day trips – see 'To Do':Kruger National Park (safari in one of the largest and oldest game reserves in the world) Mpumalanga province (landscape, culture, nature, wildlife) Mozambique (craft markets, architecture, history, African/Portuguese cuisine)Swaziland (tribal dancing, bushman paintings, crafts, culture, nature, wildlife)Needles Lodge is located in Marloth Park, a private nature sanctuary in Mpumalanga province, South Africa. Marloth Park is situated on the border of the Kruger National Park, and is neighboured by Mozambique and Swaziland. Opportunities for close-up animal interaction.With Kruger Park in the 'back garden', Needles Lodge is the perfect launch-pad for your safari trip. Stay a few days, enjoy the hospitality, take a day-trip to discover the diverse attractions in the province of Mpumalanga or, if you're looking for a peaceful retreat, simply relax by the pool and escape the hustle and bustle of every-day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Needles Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing