We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
19
24
8
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
24
8
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Wow, what an amazing ryokan experience. If you've never stayed in a traditional ryokan, it is very special. This traditional Japanese hotel has 2 hot springs on site, and a first class traditional dining experience. Breakfast and lunch were incredible, traditional, multiple course meals. If you are staying near the Shiga Kogen ski area, this is the place to stay. Very relaxing place. Be sure to try both hot spings on site, as both are unique and have their own special features. Nothing like a Japanese onsen and sake after a full day of skiing. We had a car, but it is easy to access the hotel by train. From Nagano station, take the Nagano line to Shinshu Nakano, then to Yudanaka station. Total about 1 hour and 10 min from Nagano station by train, then, a 5 minute walk from Yudanaka station to Yoroduya Shoraiso hotel. The price is worth it! Must try!

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

This hotel is very proximity to the Onsen Street and very Good in the town, clean and big room, very good service (staff can speak english). And they serve a very high quality of dinner. The hotel is located near the yudanaka train station, so dont miss it. Its really good for the Ski trip and Onsen trip!

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mouriska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

We stayed in this ryokan as part of our honeymoon. I am relieved we went to Kyoto first as it could have been quite a culture shock as it was a very Japanese experience. We wore the traditional dressing gowns during our stay and ate a variety of never ending courses at breakfast and dinner, including raw horse! We stayed in an extremely spacious western/Japanese room with a private onsen. I would recommend this for any foreigners who are looking for a bit of quiet time on their trip. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were both surprised and relieved that they were waiting for us at the train station when we arrived in the dark. We still have no idea how they guessed our train. We were a bit worried they had been waiting their for hours! While in this beautiful area we visited the snow monkey park, which was a unique experience in itself. I would highly recommend this ryokan to anyone who wants to experience what I would imagine is the equivalent of a spa retreat in Japan. It was an unforgettable experience.

Date of stay: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AussieTravellerPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

After a long night time drive from the Haneda Airport to the hotel, we were exhausted and parked just outside the hotel entrance. The moment we walked in the hotel we were greeted by the extremely friendly and helpful staff. We checked into our spacious room. We stayed in the main building and the rooms were nice and big. There is the tatami area as well as a living room with TV and a dining room with a table for four. We dropped our bags off and head straight to dinner. The food was one of the best I have had. It was traditional Japanese but the beef is famous in the area. There are three buildings to the hotel and they have both public and private onsens. The private onsen is available for booking for half hour private use and is located in the annex. The public onsens are also heritage sites and definitely worth a visit. The hotel itself is quite spacious and you could easily walk around the hotel a bit after dinner. Overall a very comfortable and relaxing stay.

Date of stay: January 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rinox1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2009

The Yorozuya hotel is a 5-star ryokan in Yudanaka. It has three buildings: the main building, the Shoraiso and the Annex. The main building is the nicest one. The Annex is the cheaper more affordable one, and I don't know anything about the Shoraiso building (the rooms may be much smaller than the main building). This review is for the main building, not the Shoraiso building.

The service of the hotel is the most amazing. On our trip we have stayed in Iwaso, the famous A+ ryokan in Miyajima. I have to say that Yorozuya is every bit as nice as Iwaso with even better service. They wait for their guest at the train station at every arrival time of express trains and drive the guests back to the train station to time the departure time of the express trains. We missed the morning shuttle by 2 minutes. Without us having to say a word, the lady who works at the main entrance immediately run to get another van to drive us specially to the train station. Again without us needing to say anything, they found kid's Yukata for my 5 year old and an extra extra large Yukata for my husband just by looking at him. They make sure that an English speaking staff waits for us at the dinner room entrance to help us get to the right room. All in all, the service is the best we have had.

We had a combined Japanese/western style room on the top floor with private bathroom and tub. half of the room is tatami, and the other half western with western beds. The room is amazingly big for Japanese hotels, yet this was one of the smaller rooms.

The dinner is amazing. The portion was big. Our daughter shared our meal, and all three of us were super full. The variety and preparation was first rate, and the presentation delicate and beautiful. The breakfast was also a treat.

The best part is the hot spring bath. For both men and women, they have an indoor pool and a large outdoor pool amidst beautiful landscape. The outdoor pool has over 100 years of history, and the garden landscape has matured and is amazingly beautiful. The men and women switch bath in the morning and evenings so that one can experience both sides. They also provide free cold tea outside the hot spring bath. nothing beats a cup of fragrant cold tea right after a hot soak.

All being said, this is one of the best ryokans we have stayed in. it is not cheap: at close to $380 a night for two including dinner and breakfast. But it is also a great value considering the quality of the lodging and food.

The only major problem is that this Inn seems to cate to Japanese only. They do receive the foreigners at the cheaper Annex building, but I have not seen a westerners' comments in their log books for as far as the past year. We made the reservation through a japanese website, which confirmed with me twice about the reservation. However, when we arrived, our reservation was "accidentally" lost. Luckily we looked similar enough to Japanese and after diplomatically questioned our profession and our experience with Japanese bath, we were told that one room miraculously became available. I guess that they must have decided that we would not embarrass their regular Japanese guests. The front desk people and some of the staffs actually speak excellent English. This is one of the best ryokans there. it is just too bad that they focus on the Japanese clientele only and does not want to open to the foreigners.

Date of stay: May 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel-world-mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews