We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful historic stay in beautiful East Sussex”
other travellers have booked this property
Main Entrance and patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main Entrance and patio
the gardens are in bloom for most of the year
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Main Entrance and patio
the gardens are in bloom for most of the year
genuine wood burner
Camber Sands 15 min drive
field next to house
country walks right on our doorstep
bath and shower
self catering kitchen and diner
patio with wild flower garden
Old schoolroom by night
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Northiam, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kathrynqp...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful historic stay in beautiful East Sussex”
Reviewed 11 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 2 nights staying at the Old School House and I can totally recommend it. The apartment is stunning. Huge beams, large log burner and original fireplace, mezzanine bedroom and beautifully fitted kitchen and bathroom (roll top bath!). You even get your own garden and patio area.

We went as a family as four, and there was plenty of room for us all to sleep. Two slept on the sofa bed in front of the roaring fire, which was wonderful.

The house the apartment is set in in stunning. A real piece of history, and Northiam is a great location to get to the Rye and local beaches and villages. Stay here! You won't be disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2018
Many thanks for your wonderful review. We loved having you stay over the Christmas period and so glad that the kids enjoyed it! please come again soon

regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chris P
2 reviews
“Beautiful 'room' in beautiful setting”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The Old School House is as beautiful in person as it is in the pictures.

We were welcomed warmly by Amanda and showed the double height space and all the facilities. Willow (black Labrador) who lives at the house immediately played with and occupied our dog in their secure, enclosed and large garden for most of the visit. So lovely to be staying with other dog people, a lovely change from most 'dog friendly' places that enforce rules for rules sake.
I would certainly recommend to all looking, especially those with dogs who want to also be able to relax!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
l0dewijk
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“Friendly and comfortable place in beautiful Northiam, where guests feel very welcome, along with their pets”
Reviewed 12 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Northiam is a pleasant town with a nice atmosphere and some beautiful historic buildings. Amidst these lies the location. It boasts a lot of privacy, because it is surrounded by a walled garden. Our selfcatering accommodation even had a very nice garden and patio for us to use. Our little beagle Ludwig had the time of his life wandering around freely in the garden, frequently playing with young labrador dog Willow, who is living together with her lovely owners Mandy and Mazin and their children in the house adjoining the accommodation. From Northiam we explored the region which has al lot to offer for lovers of walking the ancient woods and fields, National Trust highlights such as Bodium castle, delightful pubs nearby, nice sand beaches at Camber Sands and visiting old towns like Rye, Hastings and Winchelsea.
We promised Mandy and Mazin to return, because a week wasn't enough to savour everything this accommodation and the surroundings have to offer!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing