We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
Trip.com
Travelocity
Snaptravel
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (714)
Filter reviews
714 results
Traveller rating
140
283
182
65
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
140
283
182
65
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hornbill restaurant orang asli village lake view swimming pool boat ride bamboo rafting salt lick day tour night walk ala carte local food no alcohol day bed rooms are nice buffet style team building activities
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 714 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2020 via mobile

Nice resort in the middle of nowhere.... rooms are big and comfortable ... nice swimming pool... two restaurant and none is good... no alcohol, no beer... you can have beer just at the bar... if the waiter is there!
Nothing to do except a couple of tours.... two days are more than enough

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank DonatellaC58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nur Kalby Bt Mohd Nor, General Manager at Belum Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2020

Dear DonatellaC58,

Thank you for the candid feedback on your recent stay. Glad to hear that you've had an enjoyable stay overall. However, we sincerely apologise for the things that did not meet your expectations. Actually, we do have a couple of activities that our patrons can enjoy but the main attraction is in the Belum Forest itself. If you haven't got the chance to go there yet, maybe you would like to come again and experience the beautiful nature it has to offer. Thank you for staying with us. Looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2020 via mobile

The service was good, as was the food, and the boat trip into the jungle was excellent. We particularly enjoyed the very good local food. We also enjoyed swimming in the pool and the views were great. The hotel was very quiet when we stayed there, and the staff were lovely and helpful.

On the downside, it was all rather run down and poorly maintained. A lot of the design is very ugly, with huge steel ramps seeming to go nowhere. Several lights were not working, including those on the landing outside our room so we had to grope our way back to our room in the evenings.

The building was of concrete, and indeed the entire room seemed to be made of concrete too, including the bed. Do immediately that you arrive ask for the mattress topper to be fitted to your bed or you won’t get a wink of sleep. The two good things about our room were the view of the lake and the space. The bathroom is large, although you may stump your toes on the concrete step into the bath. I’m not a fan of Bauhaus style so I don’t think I could ever get to like this place, but you have to appreciate that it is in a jungle, facilities may be limited, and at least the staff did everything they could.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KLCKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NurKalbyB, Assistant Front Office Manager at Belum Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2020

Dear KLCKent,

Thank you for the kind rating and wonderful comments about our staff. Glad to hear that they have contributed to your comfortable stay. We apologise for the things that did not meet your expectations. However, we value your feedback and will definitely strive for further improvement. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2020

We had the Meranti suite with a master bedroom, verandah and 2 bedrooms aside. Perfect for a family. Beautiful views. Marvellous pool and view. Resort is Halal, so no drinks during diner of in bar. The beds are rather hard mattresses. Overal a lovely experience.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catharinab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NurKalbyB, Assistant Front Office Manager at Belum Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2020

Dear Catharinab,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us. Glad to hear you and your family had a wonderful experience throughout your stay except for the hard mattress. We are grateful for your generous rating. Thank you for staying with us. Hope you will come back for your future holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2020 via mobile

Nice place and nice people.
I love the chicken soup that much
Room are comfortable, cozy and relax. I love the concept also.
Thank you Mr. Chandra, Sobri and teams for helping me when i was there.
Wishing you guy all the best!!

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank azizdotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NurKalbyB, Assistant Front Office Manager at Belum Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2020

Dear Alia Ahmad,

Thank you so much for your awesome perfect score and support. I will sure let Mr Chandra, Sobri and the whole team know that they had contributed to your wonderful experience throughout your stay with us. We had also enjoyed catering to your group. Thank you for staying with us. Hope you will come back with more group events.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2020

Quite a journey from Ipoh but I love driving through the villages and forest. This is our second time here but this round we brought more people; my family. We were welcomed by cheerful receptionist. We booked Room Pulai and Tualang. Pulai has 2 bedrooms and Tualang is for a couple. Spacious bathroom and bathtub Facing the lake and I enjoy the view from our room. Here you are free to do your own jungle trekking or book a package with the hotel if you want to cruise around the lake and look for rafflesia and elephant or visit orang asli village. Basically there is no restaurant nearby but you can try cheaper and local food at the Royal Belum Jetty. I had asam pedas beef at Hornbill Restaurant and it was yummy Whenever I feel like going somewhere far from crowd, I love to come here!
The only thing, they need to wash the curtain regularly due to lizard droppings. Anyways love to come back here soon! I tried the massage too and it was good

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank bashariah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NurKalbyB, Assistant Front Office Manager at Belum Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2020

Dear Bashariah,

We are grateful for your generous rating and candid feedback on your recent stay. Glad to hear that our staff had contributed to your wonderful experience throughout your stay except for the lizard droppings. Your comments had been passed on to our Housekeeper for immediate action. We sincerely appreciate your constructive comments for our further improvement. Thank you for staying with us and hope you will come back to this peaceful place again in the near future.

Have a great day ahead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews