We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Tom G
Sherborne, United Kingdom

Amazing spot with a casual attitude

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Jul 2020via mobile
I decided to book Belum Eco Resort after chatting to friends that had also booked to stay here. Booking process was really simple and easy. All over whatsapp. All the information prior to getting to the jetty was excellent.
Belum Eco Lodge is a short boat ride from Banding jetty. Met the owner, Steve, and made our way across to check in. On the way we stopped at a Raffelesia site. Short 5 minute walk. Raffelesia was dead, not really much to see.
We had lunch and then checked in. Food was great throughout our whole stay. Enough to fill us up from all the activities. Tea/coffee available throughout the day. Afternoon tea and cake/biscuits also provided.
In the afternoon we went elephant/bird spotting. Saw hornbills and monkeys. No elephants unfortunately. The next day we had breakfast but didn't get informed about the itinerary. Had to ask friends in the party. Later were informed.
Visit to the waterfall and trekking was excellent. With two young children was a bit of a challenge but Bohan, our guide was amazing!!! So friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The waterfall site we visited was amazing.
In the afternoon we kayaked in the lake after helping ourselves. Swam in the lake too!
That evening it rained heavy at dinner but no acknowledgment to us getting wet holding umbrellas!! 🤣
Following morning we asked what time our boat was due to leave. Time for another kayak before we left. In the end we went on the houseboat back to the jetty.
I thoroughly enjoyed our trip and would well recommend it! Rooms were cosy. Loved it. Toilet outside. Bit rustic but in nature.
The accommodation is a long walk from the main entry point. So beware of bringing large bags or lots of stuff. Like us. Noone to help you transport bags.
Like I said, food was excellent throughout.
The location of the resort is incredible. What views and scenery!!!
Just be mindful that things are very casual. So if you need to know something or are not told. Ask. If you want a beer with dinner, not offered, ask! Maybe island life but a little slack. Having said that Bohan, our guide, was amazing! With improved communication and thought this place would be amazing!

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 585
  • Expedia.com
7.0 km from Belum Eco Resort
Free parking
Pool
Room
    26.6 km from Belum Eco Resort
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Agoda.com
    • Vio.com
    • Expedia.com
    25.6 km from Belum Eco Resort
    Gerik Homestay
    • Agoda.com
    25.9 km from Belum Eco Resort
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    26.9 km from Belum Eco Resort
    Earn Trip Coins after your stay
    • Agoda.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      RM 210
    • Vio.com
    44.6 km from Belum Eco Resort
    Grand Mandarin Betong
    • eDreams
    • ZenHotels.com
      RM 267
    • Trip.com
    45.2 km from Belum Eco Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • eDreams
    • ZenHotels.com
      RM 241
    • Agoda.com
    45.4 km from Belum Eco Resort
    Pool
    Restaurant
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    93.2 km from Belum Eco Resort
    Free Wifi
    Restaurant
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    0.0 km from Belum Eco Resort
    Restaurant
    View more hotels in Gerik
    Reviews (125)
    Filter reviews
    125 results
    Traveller rating
    74
    37
    6
    2
    6
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    74
    37
    6
    2
    6
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews jungle trekking yummy food unique experience rooms are basic tour guide tom accommodation island kayaking hornbills elephants boat waterfall malaysia lake nature electricity
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    12 - 17 of 125 reviews
    Reviewed 18 July 2020

    This resort is in a stunning location on a tiny island in the middle of Banding Lake. The accommodation and food is far from luxurious but still good and clean.
    We were sent a full itinerary prior to the trip but soon found out this was very loosely followed, there was a lot of sitting around before we started any activities. The boat tours were great though, Bohan was a great guide, looking out for birds and signs of elephants, we even came across tiger cub tracks on one of the treks!

    Date of stay: July 2020
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank natalies505
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 15 July 2020

    Back to nature after months of lock down...an eco stay at the eco resort in an eco environment with a group of eco senior buddies....met up with the eco friendly owner (hubby and wife)...shared with us the experiences of staying in the island.
    Thoroughly enjoyed the stay at the resort and the activities there; swimming in the cold clean dam, fishing, canoeing, bird watching....

    Date of stay: July 2020
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    2  Thank Eco-buddies
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 14 April 2020 via mobile

    It’s hard to sum up the feeling of staying here. The property is beautiful, lush with plants, the cottages are so cozy, and with their own balconies and semi outdoor showers. The lake water was freshwater and warm for swimming. The hosts Steve and his wife were wonderful. The food was plentiful and delicious, many local dishes. The kids loved afternoon tea and cakes. But best of all was going on safari each day by boat and/or hike. Our guide Borhan was so knowledgeable and friendly and accommodating and took us to many different parts of the lake. We saw 2 packs of wild boars, hornbill birds, a monitor lizard, otters, a large fowl I can’t remover the name of, and a monkey. We saw all the signs of elephants, the dung, footprints, the mud on the trees where they scratch, the saltlick. It was thrilling looking for them and sleeping just knowing they were in the forest somewhere around us. We saw the rafflesia flower in its early stages as it wasn’t near blooming time. We went on the 4 day 3 night Temmengor tour which I recommend. We went by easy and inexpensive coach bus from Butterworth to a jetty where the hosts picked us up. They were very helpful prior to arriving with figuring out transport and helped us get transport back too. This was by taxi which was very convenient and reasonable as the bus back would have required a transfer and much longer. I would highly recommend staying here.

    Date of stay: February 2020
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    1  Thank Tammy H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 17 February 2020

    We (2 adults, 3 Kids) stayed 4 nights at this unique place. Friendly staff, beautiful surroundings and welcoming feeling. The small huts are basic but comfortable with a small terrace with nice views over the lake. There is a big common area where you can hang around, drink tea, play games, look at the forrest and lake, talk and relax. Or go down to the lake to take a swim.
    We went on several trips with our good guide Burhan - saw a lot of elephant pooh(!), a group of wild boar, hornbill and many butterflies and other insects.
    This place is really made with love to the nature and an invitation to indulge and learn about the forrest.

    Date of stay: February 2020
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    1  Thank Marieloenberg
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Khong S, Owner at Belum Eco Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2020

    Can't wait to have you again!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 27 December 2019

    My son and myself had wonderful time in Belum Eco Resort just before 2019 Christmas. My son's favorite was fishing and the hotel owner did everything for my son to succeed: we had the freshly caught by 9 years old fish for our dinner :). Eventually, Belum Eco Resort offers a unique combination of remoteness and tranquility, and at the same time one can keep themselves as busy at he wants. We loved our daily excursions. We loved a company of total strangers, which turned out to be nice, friendly, interesting people. We had quite a few easygoing talks with the hotel owner, and enjoyed them a lot. Definitely we are looking forward to visit beautiful, clean, refreshing Belum Eco Resort again: it's less than 3 hours drive from humid, hot, busy Penang where we are living. And the road didn't cause us any problem at all.

    Date of stay: December 2019
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Service
    2  Thank Djimon
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Khong S, Owner at Belum Eco Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2019

    Thanks for the feedback and hope to see you again!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews