We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful stay in charming cottage close to...”
other travellers have booked this property
Grade II listed slate worker's cottage with 0.2 acre garden and parking.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Grade II listed slate worker's cottage with 0.2 acre garden and parking.
On  a quiet lane, 5 miles from Bangor and Menai Bridges over to Anglesey View of the cottage as you approach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
Grade II listed slate worker's cottage with 0.2 acre garden and parking.
On  a quiet lane, 5 miles from Bangor and Menai Bridges over to Anglesey
View of the cottage as you approach
Hammock slung between two apple trees in  the large garden
Kitchen
kitchen
Lounge with ladder leading to crog loft
Lounge with coal fire (not a log fire)
From the crog loft
Front/main bedroom
Back bedroom
bathroom with a shower over the bath
Views out to Anglesey from 100 yards down the lane. You can see Puffin Island.
View out to Anglesey from half a mile up the lane
View up the Ogwen valley half a mile from the cottage.  Snowdon is 8 miles south.
Zip World Wales less than 3 miles away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Tregarth, Bangor, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GPZ550
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing and depressing”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

When we arrived at Pant-y-lon we were pleased that it was what we wanted, a quiet little cottage on a quiet lane. It looked lovely. When we got inside it was a different story. It was dirty and smelled strongly of damp. Crockery, cutlery and cooking utensils were dirty, as was the metal drainer, a spider was living in one of the saucepans hanging up. Plaster was missing and loose, wallpaper and paint were peeling. The living room looked nothing like the photos on the website, it was stark and unwelcoming. Bedding was really damp, I'm just glad I'd taken our own quilt, pillows and linen. There were cobwebs and spiders that had been there more than a couple of hours, as the owner told me the cleaner had cleaned for four hours that day and spiders do return. An awful smell would sometimes fill the bathroom (septic tank kind of smell). The cleaning was really lacking, perhaps a cleaner! The garden furniture was old, filthy and one table was broken. We found dog muck in the garden. Although the garden is completely enclosed, the neighbouring farms Collie kept jumping over the wall, our own dog wouldn't go out on his own, which was a shame as he enjoyed exploring the large garden. The gardens are very uneven, not level at all, so much so that we couldn't put our own portable hammock up at all. The lane wasn't very quiet while we were there, perhaps the time of year. Pulling out was tricky as the view on either side is restricted. I let the owner know I had complaints on the Sunday, but as I had cleaned what we needed and put them separate from everything else and cleaned the bathroom to make sure it was clean, there was no point in getting her to send her cleaner round, it should have been done properly in the first place. Everything else couldn't be rectified in the week we were there. The cottage needs a thorough decorating and going over to make it more welcoming and homely. I'm only grateful that the weather was with us and we could get out, if it hadn't been I think I would have packed up and come home and I have never ever thought of doing that before. I have stayed in many cottages and they have all been well looked after and cared for, a pleasure to stay in and places you want to don't want to leave or at least want to go back to, this one was the opposite and it's a shame as it's a listed building.

The area is beautiful though. Bethesda has good shops for general food shopping, if you want pub food you'll need to go a bit further though. The Anglesey Arms in Caernarfon, The Boat Yard in Bangor by the pier, and the Liverpool Arms in Menai Bridge are all good. Anglesey is beautiful, Beaumaris impressive, although we couldn't go in because of Alfie and dogs aren't allowed. Aberffraw is worth a visit, not a lot there, but it is beautiful and the history and atmosphere (that at least I found there) is what Wales is built on.
So another cottage and the holiday would have been perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Getting out for the day and exploring the countryside
Liked least: The cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2015
Thank you for taking to time to review your stay at Pant y Lon. These are the first complaints that we've received about our cottage in many years and we are sorry that the issues were not raised during your stay as we would have been more than happy to sort them out for you. We've not had any mention of damp from other holiday guests before, so we're saddened to hear that this was a problem for you.

At the end of last year at we made some improvements to the lounge by replacing the open fireplace with a greener, cleaner and more efficient stove. The mantle piece became smaller and there is no longer enough space for a side lamp. So there are is one fewer light sources in the room. We will consider what we can do to improve the lighting in the room for next season. We will be updating the photos on both our own website and Holiday Lettings to reflect this alteration. Thank you for bringing that to our attention.

We have modernised and improved the cottage for visitors in recent years, replacing the crog loft flooring, re-rendering the gable end walls both up and down stairs as well as replacing the fireplace to keep this beautiful example of a slate workers cottage comfortable and enjoyable.

We do not have any record of you informing us that you were bringing a dog. We are sorry that your dog did not get on with the neighbouring farms Collie. It is a rural location with lots of sheep farming in the surrounding area. Collie's are a breed commonly used in sheep farming. The garden is enclosed by a dry stone wall that is as high as reasonably possible at the back of the cottage. However the ground is quite steep so animals do sometimes hop over into the garden. In our experience we have only ever found the neighbours dogs to be very friendly and happy. We always check for dog mess in the garden as part of the cleaning schedule, but it's no guarantee that we don’t miss something or a dog fouls in the garden during your stay. Again, we would have cleaned this up immediately if it was brought to our attention at the time.

We pride ourselves on our very high cleaning standards, however you've said that a couple of other items were missed for your stay. We have let our cleaner know the issues you raised and we will ensure that things are not missed for future guests. Thank you for taking the photos at the end of your stay of these issues.

The eaves of the conservatory roof are not sealed to the outside so the spiders can get in there unfortunately and it is a rural location after all. We are considering to replace the conservatory with a more solid structure in the next year as one of many improvements. The areas you have highlighted where the plaster is missing will of course be addressed as soon as the cottage is available as will the loose wall paper. We're sorry that these items affected your stay. We agree that the crack in the garden table that occurred 2 weeks before your stay is unsightly so I am arranging for this to be replaced. Unfortuntely items do get damaged but sometimes it is difficult for us to repair or replace these items during the holiday season without increasing the turn around time.

Once again we thank you for your time taken to review the cottage so thoroughly and we wished that you could have enjoyed your stay in the cottage as much as everybody else has this summer. We were heartened to see that you did at least enjoy the tranquil location and surrounding area of the cottage. To put things in context, the family immediately after your stay enjoyed the cottage so much that they extended their stay. To use their words they "...could not have asked for better".
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda T
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful stay in charming cottage close to Snowdon.”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed with my partner and his family in this lovely, older-style cottage for 5 days. Great value for money, clean and well-equipped with everything we needed. Enough space for the family, I loved the high ceilings in the living area and the addition of the loft room. Beautiful garden, we enjoyed watching the birds come to feed on the bird table. The bathroom could do with an update, but it was perfectly serviceable.
Handy location for both Snowdon and Anglesey. We did the climb to the Snowdon summit and visited the castles and beaches around Anglesey. Definitely recommended for a value for money stay and relaxing holiday for the family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Value for money
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Reviewed 25 February 2013 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$699
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing