We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel in Hakuba”
Review of Heidi Hof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heidi Hof
Ranked #28 of 101 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We just returned from a snow holiday in Japan. We travelled with a group and spent majority of our trip at the Heidi Hof Hotel. From the moment we arrived the staff made us feel welcome, they are such wonderful people and do anything they can to make your stay more comfortable.

The hotel is very comfortable and warm, with a onsen, shared living space with a fire, and drying room. The hotel rooms are very small but I am told this is typical of japanese hotels. The beds are all singles but again I am told this is the norm. With all our luggage in the room there was barely enough space to walk around but this doesn't matter because hardly any time is spent in the room.

The view for breakfast was amazing with the Olympic ski jumps and mountain ranges covered in fresh powder in sight. We were able to book breakfast at different times each day to suit our schedule. Being gluten intolerant I was worried about my choices so I emailed ahead and the staff organised fresh rice bread every day just for me whilst the others still received their croissants and scrolls - I was more than impressed as gluten free options is near impossible in australian hotels. Breakfast also included a different version of eggs each day along with some fruit, yogurt, coffee or tea and juice.

The staff are willing to help at any opportunity and even gave our group a lift to Happo when they missed their bus. The bus stop for the majority of snow fields is up the road at a Spicy ski/snowboard rental shop, this only takes a few minutes to walk. Ask the hotel staff for a bus timetable.

There is a convenience store outside the hotel which is good for cheap beers, snacks and fruit. The town centre is about 5minutes walk from the hotel and has a few good restaurants and bars. If you are travelling with more than 2 people I suggest asking the hotel staff to book in advance for you. This also goes for the heidi hof, we couldn't eat there for dinner because we always left it to the last minute.

Overall the heidi hof is in a great location, with wonderful people and fantastic hotel for group or family holidays.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room. Our friends got a corner room and it was twice the size of ours even though i...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jesadtravelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
There are newer reviews for Heidi Hof
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

I cannot recommend Heidi hof highly enough. We are a family of 4 & stayed early in the snow season in December 2013. Asuza & her family made us feel very welcome. We enjoyed 2 in-house dinners which were superb as well as the daily breakfasts which included fresh croissants & pastries with a different cooked breakfast each morning.
The Alpine style accommodation was immaculately clean, warm & contained it's own Onsen which was a luxury enjoyed après ski.
All toiletries are provided as well as kimonos & house slippers.
Azusa's parents also worked hard, her mother helped with the cuisine & her father drove us daily to the ski slopes. Our service was amazing - we felt like family!
Heidi Hof is a top place to stay if you are lucky enough to book.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
5  Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

My first skiing trip in Japan and the experience was made better by staying in this excellent family run hotel. The location was great, the rooms comfortable and affordable, but most of all the service was outstanding, and always with a warm smile.

The driving too and from the resort was punctual, clean and comfort. Highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
4  Thank hbbmcghee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We had a convenient hotel. The staff were so accommodating it made the trip just so much better. The facilities are clean, spacious and had everything we needed. Want to go to the gondola, or the ski school or train station...our host was always obliging. Top spot - recommended!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
4  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

The family (2 adults and 2 young girls, 6 and 8) spent a week at Heidihof in January 2013 and had an amazing experience. As many have commented, the family running the hotel are very welcoming, friendly and really go out of their way to make staying there a much more personal experience than some other places we have stayed. This really became important when we had some difficulties (I got lost in the mountains!) and the family were extremely helpful for my wife in dealing with the situation (talking to the police, keeping the kids entertained etc). We really liked starting the day in the breakfast room looking at the mountains, enjoying fresh croissants, coffee, eggs and then heading off to the fantastic snow at Happo, Tsugaike etc or having a day off to see nearby attractions like the snow monkeys or Matsumoto castle. Other great features at Heidihof include the large onsen, close proximity to restaurants, ski hire and convenience store in Echoland, large drying room and the lounge area. We can't wait to get back to Hakuba and will definitely stay at Heidihof (and will go backcountry with Evergreen guides!).

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 68GeoFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Yamano Hotel
Hakuba Yamano Hotel
#21 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
99 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Restaurant & Hotel Traumerei
Restaurant & Hotel Traumerei
#19 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
46 reviews
Hotel La Neige
#24 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakuba happou Onsen
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#8 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
104 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#4 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
231 reviews
Shakespeare Hotel
#17 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidi Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidi Hof

Address: 3012 Hokujo, Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura > Hakuba happou Onsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 101 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
Price Range: RM1,016 - RM1,528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heidi Hof 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Heidi Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing