We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation, excellent food!”
Review of Heidi Hof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heidi Hof
Ranked #27 of 101 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
Reviewed 4 March 2016

We had a lovely time at Heidi Hof Kakuba, the family running it is really kind and helpful. It was our first time in Hakuba.
The style of the building recreates one of these Swiss chalets and has a small working chimney. From the windows of the room we were in on the 2nd floor, we had a great view on the ski parks (Happo 47 and Happo one) and ski jumping stadiums. The location is barely 5 min by car from the happo one ski area, there is an ski rental shop 2 min away walking. The room was well heated, wifi was good. We enjoyed the natural hotspring (in a separate attending house) although I wished the outside baths were in service in the winter!
The best was the food, french style, 5 courses, decent portions, just amazing especially for the price. The bread and bakeries are excellent at every meal. We highly recommend having dinner there!
If you want to vary, there are quite a number of other restaurants around and pletor in the village.
We highly recommend Heidi Hof for your stay in Happo one.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pf V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
There are newer reviews for Heidi Hof
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2016

This was one of the nicest place I have stayed in years. Quaint and quirky, yet simply charming and is run by the some of the loveliest people you could ever hope to meet on your travels. Nothing is too much trouble and advice is always to hand to make your skiing holiday hassle free. The food is just delicious and beautifully prepared. Our family of five (three teenagers) will happily return for another seven nights next year, if possible. It is also centrally located near Echoland Precinct which has nice restaurants (Western & Japanese) and also close to bus shuttle stops for all the ski-fields.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timothy2963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2016

This is a lovely family run, small hotel. It is impecably clean with everything you need for a skiing holiday. The owners can't do enough for you, from advice to booking restaurants. Azusa speaks good English and is wonderful.
The breakfasts are amazing - something different each day, and the french dinners are awesome (5 courses, cooked by mother and daughter).
The location is a 5 minute walk from main street of Echoland, where there are lots of restaurants/cafes and a convenience store. It is a 2 min walk to bus stops (5 mins from Happo Gondola, 10 mins from Hakuba 47).
My husband and kids loved the onsen in the hotel, and we would definitely stay here again.
And the views of the mountain were fabulous!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jarelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2016 via mobile

My wife and I really enjoyed our 6 day stay at HH. The Keyamuras are gracious hosts, and daughter Azusa was a great help arranging dinner bookings and providing advice on which local ski resort would be best that day. Four mornings, her father shuttled us to the Nakiyama lift at Happo-one. We easily walked back each day when we were done.

Our room (in the annex) was plain but clean. We had enough room to air our gear and a small refrigerator to keep water and snacks that we bought at nearby convenience stores. Each evening, we took full advantage of the onsen on the ground floor of the annex. It felt luxurious.

We could explore Hakuba on foot from HH and walked to dinner most nights, including to nearby Echoland as well as farther afield.

Appreciated the delicious breakfasts. The menu changed each morning.

Looking forward to visiting HH again if we're lucky enough to get back to Hakuba.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank pengborlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2016 via mobile

Family of 4 (2 teenagers) stayed for 8 days and had 2 rooms in the annexure to the main building. Yes the rooms are tiny and the bathrooms are not much bigger than an airplane toilet but this is Japan and it is the snow fields. Yes the decor is old fashioned but that's where the charm lies. Who would have thought a European styled chalet in a Japanese ski area? We gave the kids the choice of the Heidi Hof or a more modern spacious place (but a way out of the town area) and they chose the HH and they are so pleased they did.

It's a family run place and they are so helpful and gracious. They picked us up at the bus station, took us to Rhythm Sports to pick up our hire gear, waited the hour it took to get the gear before taking us to the hotel. They book restaurants, suggest things to do, and are very accommodating. Lovely people even by Japan's very high standard of helpfulness and politeness.

Breakfast is pretty basic - egg, sausage/bacon and bread combinations - with fruit, juice and coffee but it's better than what we've had in other places.

Location is great - near lots of little restaurants in Echoland and 15 -20 minute walk to Happo. Located near all the bus services to the ski fields and close to 2 convenience stores and a bottle shop (ask the HH staff for wine glasses)

The rooms are small, decor very dated, but are very clean and have all the basic essentials (tea facilities, bar fridge, TV, hair dryer) They make up the room every day and provide fresh towels but don't expect luxury in towels or toiletries. Beds are all singles and narrow and pillows are the Japanese style with beads(?) on one side. You can get extra pillows if you want. Beds and pillows are too hard for me but again seem to be standard in Japan even in the 5 star places like the Hyatt in Tokyo. There is an onsen and a drying room for ski gear. The common lounge area is very cozy and large.

So if you're happy to stay somewhere a bit quirky but not luxurious, where service is great and location and convenience is important then I'd recommend the Heidi Hof. If however you want something modern and cheaper yet still in a great location with excellent service, well good luck trying. Let us know what you find.






Stayed: January 2016
Thank cpccat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Yamano Hotel
Hakuba Yamano Hotel
#21 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
99 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Restaurant & Hotel Traumerei
Restaurant & Hotel Traumerei
#19 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
46 reviews
Hotel La Neige
#25 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakuba happou Onsen
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#7 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
104 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#4 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
231 reviews
Shakespeare Hotel
#16 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidi Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidi Hof

Address: 3012 Hokujo, Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura > Hakuba happou Onsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 101 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
Price Range: RM1,017 - RM1,525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heidi Hof 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Heidi Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing