We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Hakuba”
Review of Hakuba House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hakuba House
Reviewed 12 October 2017

I stayed here with my partner and family in January - it feels like a lifetime ago now but we had the most memorable stay! Great staff, loved the bar and in-house dining, super relaxed and friendly vibe from Grant, Ai, and staff. Despite a few issues (i.e. the fire in the chimney) everyone still had a great trip and appreciated Grant's effort to make sure we enjoyed our holiday. Would also recommend checking out the private onsen up the road - perfect for soothing sore muscles! Thanks so much Hakuba House!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HJane92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2017

This was my first stay at Hakuba House after years hearing from friends how good it was and I was not disappointed. The quote I remember most from the boys after staying there was that it "felt like home" and it was exactly that, the vibe in this place is awesome!

We arrived in Hakuba and called the lodge, by the time the bus arrived Grant was waiting at the station to collect us... tick! We stayed downstairs in a big room (Uma) with a heated floor, nice and warm with plenty of space. The toilets down there are communal and were always very clean, the bathroom was equally clean and the shower was hot, what else do you need?. The Drying room was great with plenty of space for everyone's gear, tuning facilities are available if you are hands on. There's a washer and dryer too which is really handy If you pack as light as I do (keep some 100 yen coins handy for that). If you are looking for somewhere to eat while in town do yourself a favour and eat in a couple of nights, the food at Hakuba House is fantastic. Do not miss Hotpot night!!!! Breakfast is good too, everything you want before a day of shredding pow. There is a Bar/Lounge area with couches and a pool table and also a small TV room with couches (great for bad weather or hangovers), drinks are very reasonably priced and if you're a sociable kind of bloke like me you will have a lot of fun here with people from all corners of the globe.

The location of Hakuba House is spot on. It's a short walk/ski/board to the Happo ticket office, shuttle buses to the other mountains are 100m away and there are several good places to eat very close by. HH offer a dinner drop off service at night but make sure there is enough left in your legs after slaying pow all day for the walk home.

The staff at Hakuba House were unbelievably good, seasonal workers so unlikely you will get the same group we did but going on what repeat guests have told me HH have a nack for getting cool people in for the season. Grant an Ai (hope that is spelled right) were the perfect hosts and made sure our stay was the best it could possibly be. Grant is also the man to quiz on a powder eve about where the best lines will be the next day.

In conclusion, I'm not sure you could get better bang for your buck than Hakuba House. It had everything we needed and provided an atmosphere that I really enjoyed, so much so that the next leg of our trip seemed a little biege in comparison.

Well played Hakuba House, well played!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tofu43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017

Having recently stayed at HH for the second time I thought I'd give them a plug as they again added a lot of value to a great trip. I did note there were a few old reviews but whatever perceived issues there were years ago, I think Grant and the team have certainly done what is required to ensure you have a great stay.

Service was strong including being picked up and dropped off station. We also got dropped off when we went out for dinner which is an enjoyable bonus at -15 degrees. Breakfast is great with muesli, toast and bacon & eggs etc there for you to start the day. There's a coffee machine too which is handy. The bar is friendly and gives you a great chance to meet other guests over a game of pool while this year they have upped the ante in the kitchen with some really tasty in-house food (great after a long day where you don't want to go out).

While it's a bonus (depending on how busy the are), you will probably get a chance to do some great skiing/riding with the staff who know a few nice local secrets.

You can ski in/out through some trees otherwise it's a short walk to/from the lifts. Same applies to buses to other resorts.

Rooms are absolutely fine. The bathrooms a cosy but that is standard for Japan.

Overall I just think its easy place to stay. If you are the friendly type you'll leave the week with new friends and no excuses not to enjoy yourself. The lodge is more solid and comfortable than luxury but you aren't paying luxury prices either.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisevansaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Arriving to Hakuba House is pretty straightforward: the lodge offers a pick-up and drop-off service directly from the bus terminal in Hakuba. We used the bullet train from Tokyo main station.

Location: The lodge offers a great value for those who want to enjoy the Happo-one ski resort, but also the tree runs and the backcountry, since it is located very close to the ski lifts. It is also located less than a 10min walk from the shuttle buses bringing you to the other ski resorts in the area at no extra cost. Bars and restaurants are within walking distance, and even more options are available for a small taxi ride. There is a public onsen right next door and a private one with pick-up service less than 15mins away.

The first thing we wanted to do after a long flight to Japan was somewhere to drop-off our gear, and in Hakuba House there is more than enough space in a heated room, incl space for waxing and servicing the skis/snowboards. There is also a washmachine and a dryer. The common rooms include a bar area with a pool table and enough sofas for everyone to relax after a long day on the slopes, as well as a separate room with a large tv and video games. During our stay there was a mix of groups of friends, couples and families with children all from different countries and this added to the special atmosphere of the place. The staff are excellent, friendly and always present, so everything we needed was quickly attended to. The lodge offers breakfast every morning between 7-8:30 which was good since sometimes we wanted to get going as early as possible and other times we chose to start our day later. There are snacks and drinks available as well as dinner in case you want to stay in.

Rooms: The rooms and the entire lodge are clean to a very good standard, the beds are comfortable and the rooms are well heated and isolated from the cold.

We would definitely stay in Hakuba House again and recommend it without a doubt. The price to value ratio is very good.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank vagelissg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Nice place good food good vibe and great location. But inconsistent snow in Jan so go to Niseko or come in Feb or Mar.

Also learn some Japanese as very useful in lovely local town.

And book open onsen next door as soon as you arrive.

Hope you have suggest stay and please ski safe

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
Thank jmckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Shakespeare Hotel
#41 of 125 in Hakuba-mura
87 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Mominoki Hotel
Hakuba Mominoki Hotel
#10 of 125 in Hakuba-mura
218 reviews
Hakubashionomichi Onsen
Hotel Stelle Belle
Hotel Stelle Belle
#27 of 125 in Hakuba-mura
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seventh Heaven Hakuba
#28 of 456 in Hakuba-mura
32 reviews
Hotel Montblanc Hakuba
#4 of 125 in Hakuba-mura
169 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hotel Sierra resort Hakuba
Hotel Sierra resort Hakuba
#1 of 125 in Hakuba-mura
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hakuba House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hakuba House

Address: 4892-2 Hokujo, Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura > Hakuba happou Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 121 Speciality lodging in Hakuba-mura
Price Range: RM 468 - RM 772 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hakuba House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you like skiing incredible backcountry trees to your front door then Hakuba House is the only place to stay! One of the best tree runs in Hakuba ends right at our front door, where you can unclip your bindings, come in and relax by the open fire... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hakuba House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hakuba House Hotel Hakuba-Mura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing