We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, wonderful hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Santa Ana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2017

Casa Bella Rita sits in a quiet residential neighborhood on the edge of the Virilla River canyon, with an expansive, verdant view of farmland and distant mountains. My ground-floor room (Heliconia) is cool and airy, with both fan and air conditioner, as well as a mini-fridge. The casa has a front courtyard with garden and a covered patio. The spacious common room opens onto another covered patio, with pool and terrace beyond, all with the lovely canyon view. A gate in the far corner opens into an enclosed lawn with a covered deck, cooling breezes, and butterflies like many-colored confetti.

Alejandra and Javier are welcoming and gracious hosts. Their made-to-order breakfast includes super-fresh local fruits, yogurt, and a choice of French toast, pancakes, eggs (omelette, scrambled, etc), along with the usual coffee, juice, milk, toast etc.

Three restaurants are a three-minute walk away, including an Italian one recommended by Alejandra - who lived in Italy for 10 years. Twenty minutes away in a small plaza are Fresh Market (6am to 12m) and additional restaurants. The market offers prepared salads and sandwiches, fresh meats, fruits and vegetables, wines, groceries and so on.

I know I will return to the Casa Bella Rita whenever I visit Costa Rica in the future. Muchas gracias, Javier and Alejandra, for a lovely, relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (729)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 729 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2017

Though we had a bumpy start with car rental and health problems Alejandra and Javier helped us out from the very first moment on. We couldn't think of a more friendly, heartful or welcoming place. The B&B is clean and cosy, beautifully situated in the outskirts of San José and a short 20 min ride from the airport. We received fast and super efficient support with trips and local guides. Bottom line: we felt like at home and can't wait to return one day. Big hugs from Chris & Jasmin

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_and_Jas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

After 24 hours of travelling from Europe we finally arrived in San José at 7.30 P.M. We decided to spend our first night not far away from the airport but still lightely outside the city. That's why we booked at "Casa bella Rita", Santa Ana. A wonderfull B&B with lovely owners. The House is amazing, very clean and nicely decorated. You have a beautifull view from the patio. We chose a perfect place to start our trip trough Costa Rica.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank AlainJost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

This was our second time staying the night at Casa Bella Rita after Alejandra and Javier bought the B&B from Rita and Steve and we were curious how they would grow into the job.
Even though getting through customs took longer then expected our ride to the B&B was there to greet us and place our bags in a comfortable air-conditioned van. We were welcomed to the B&B by Javier and Alejandra and their new little very friendly dog and show to the Mariposa room on the second floor of the main building. (We stayed in this room the last time we visited Costa Rica). The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable, There is air conditioning if needed and the windows do open to catch the breeze.The shower is fun and funky with live plants getting showered along with the humans. There is a little mini bar with a very limited selection but we usually stop at the liquor store in the airport and bring our own drinks. On the first floor there's a lovey little terrace with comfortable seating and a little pool overlooking the valley.

Breakfast is made to order and although the options are limited the food is very fresh and well prepared.

Since we usually arrive after 3pm and have been up for many hours we have an early dinner at a good Italian restaurant within walking distance. The B&B is located in a residential area and without driving or taking a taxi to a restaurant, the options are limited. There is no formal concierge service there but both Alejandra and Javier will help you find a restaurant, order a taxi and do whatever they can to make your stay with them enjoyable.

This is probably not the best place for children or for people who have trouble with stairs.
However if you want a warm and welcoming Costa Rican experience, this place is ideal. We look forward to our next opportunity to spend the night at Casa Bella Rita!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuffaloGal46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017

We spent our last 3 nights/2 days in Costa Rica at this cozy, friendly B&B. Javier and Alejandra were such welcoming hosts, providing assistance before and during our stay. It is so comfortable and clean we just relaxed there our last day, went to the local market at Ciudad Colon and got to know our hosts a little bit. Breakfast was delicious, made to our order. Javier even was up at 5:30 a.m. to see us off to the airport. We have stayed in many B&Bs over the years and this is absolutely one of the best. Thank you Javier and Alejandra. Highly highly recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable, large and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BuckhornOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
6.1 km away
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
#8 of 8 in Santa Ana
120 reviews
10.4 km away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,481 reviews
5.4 km away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
#6 of 8 in Santa Ana
343 reviews
0.1 km away
Vista Canyon Inn
Vista Canyon Inn
#2 of 5 in Santa Ana
150 reviews
18.8 km away
Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Address: Brasil de Santa Ana, Santa Ana 6100, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Ana
Price Range: RM294 - RM923 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Central Valley's finest Bed & Breakfast. Casa Bella Rita is private and luxurious and within minutes of the airport, San Jose, Poas Volcano, coffee plantations, botanical gardens and other popular sites. Complimentary airport pick-up and gourmet breakfasts are included. Each room has a cable TV, AC, honor bar, safe, custom furniture, high quality mattresses and bedding and private bathroom. Perfect for your home base while touring Costa Rica, honeymoons, business travel or your first and last night's stay. Breathtaking views of the canyon, WIFI, computer station and friendly dogs on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Bella Rita Boutique Hotel Santa Ana
Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed And Breakfast
Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast Costa Rica/Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing