We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”
Review of The Gelato Caffe

The Gelato Caffe
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Hawera
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$14
Cuisines: European, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Enjoy award winning Gelato made daily on site! We offer fresh baked bread,German specialities like meatloaf or the faamous Bratwurst (sausage), Belgium waffles and pancakes and of course Italian coffee. In winter we have two home made soups on the menu and our ice cream sundaes are not to be missed.And best of all, everything at The Gelato Caffe is very competitivly prizes and served with a smile. Annett and Holger Zabel, owner and operator, would like to welcome you and make your visit an enjoyable one.
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Good food and the ice cream and gelato is some of the best I have tasted. The only problem the service is a bit slow.

Thank beverleyw996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holger Z, Owner at The Gelato Caffe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Great rating thanks for that. I've just ordered roller-skates, hopes that helps :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2017

We went here for a late lunch and decided just to have an ice cream. Friendly staff. Looked at the menu and decided to get a dessert ice cream instead. The pancakes and berries and the rum ice cream sundae was divine. Definitely would recommend and return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Janelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holger Z, Owner at The Gelato Caffe, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Great review thanks a lot for your positive feedback! Welcome back anytime :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Fabulous coffee and great food, either off a menu or from the cabinet. Located in the heart of town with friendly staff and great service

Thank Rochelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holger Z, Owner at The Gelato Caffe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Thanks a lot Rochelle for this encouraging review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017

My wife and I pop in for a coffee and cake when we are up town. Lovely sausage rolls and as fairly regular customers, the owner knows that I have mine cold with yummy relish. Lovely atmosphere and great service and just an all round place to have a break. Top cafe for us.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vinaki1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holger Z, Owner at The Gelato Caffe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Great review from great people! Thanks a lot for sharing your thoughts of our cafe with other out there....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Great coffee, good food options, and nice service in a clean and welcoming environment. Well located on main street.

Thank hughconway2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holger Z, Owner at The Gelato Caffe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2017

Glad you like what we do! Thanks and please come back any time....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gelato Caffe also viewed

Hawera, Taranaki Region
Hawera, Taranaki Region
 
Hawera, Taranaki Region
Hawera, Taranaki Region
 

Been to The Gelato Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing