We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Sunday Roast - Great Service - Highly recommended”
Review of The Lion Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llansantffraid-ym-Mechain
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lion Hotel
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ate here with family (6 adults and 1 child) for Sunday lunch and have to say one of the best Sunday lunches we have had.
Beef or Lamb choice - all came with roast potatoes and lashings of proper gravy , Giant Yorkshire pudding, stuffing and pig in blanket.
See photos. Loads of veg and included - peas - carrot and turnip, cauliflower cheese and cabbage and all fresh too - served with jugs of proper beef or lamb gravy. Bowls of mash completed the meal...
Not because of the quantity but for the quality of the food - I would highly recommend The Lion, as beef just fell apart when you touched it with your fork - cooked to perfection.
The portions are really large and you have to go hungry.
We then had a variety of fabulous tasting home made puddings which came with either cream, custard or Ice cream.
Service excellent along with the food.
A must try pub....great outdoor seating area for summer.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rosaline2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

We were looking for a place for lunch and happened upon the Lion. The appearance of the hotel could be described as quaint and there is a small car park conveniently outside the front door. The bar and dining area could do with updating and decorating but are acceptable and sitting at the window table was pleasant on a sunny afternoon. The lunch was excellent. We had the roast beef with Yorkshire pudding. The beef was superbly cooked and very tender and there was an abundance of accompanying vegetables and extra gravy, wonderful value for money. I would definitely eat there again if I was passing

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank VW-Pagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Awesome service and lovely landlord. We arrived without booking on a busy Saturday early evening and were served really quickly. Catered to all our fussy needs, cask, wine and two starving teens. Will definitely go back! Thank you.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Bainey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

We had been told to try the Sunday lunch here as it's incredible and just a short drive from our weekend home.

We were not disappointed. The decor is a little dated though that did not detract from the great food and excellent service at a very reasonable price.

The staff welcomed us and despite being busy and us not booking, we were seated and drinks served straight away. Our orders were taken and the food arrived quickly and was fresh/hot; two roast pork with all the trimmings, including Yorkshire pudding, stuffing and pigs in blankets. There was plenty of extra vegetables; peas, carrots, cabbage, mashed potatoes and cauliflower cheese as well as a gravy boat full of delicious rich gravy. The meals were £8.99 each which for the quality and quantity is amazing value.

We were not disturbed during the meal which was a pleasant change from the chain style "how is your food" question when you've just put a forkful in your mouth! Though they were quick to clean the plates when we'd finished which made is feel well attended to.

The staff were friendly, polite and professional.

I would highly recommend this restaurant and will be visiting again.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

We visited here last Sunday, as we were staying in the area and were meeting with parents for a special meal. Four of us turned up at 12.00 pm and although we had not booked, we were immediately seated and made to feel very welcome. The Sunday dinners were very good, we had beef, lamb, chicken and the vegetarian option. All of us enjoyed the meal, there was plenty of choice of veg, and the little extras ( such as angels on horseback) just made it even better. Even though our table had a later reservation, we were at no point made to feel rushed, the staff were very polite, and the food excellent. Will be returning soon.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tanglepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion Hotel

Address: Llansantffraid-ym-Mechain SY22 6AQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llansantffraid-ym-Mechain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llansantffraid-ym-Mechain
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing