We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cain Valley Hotel(Llanfyllin)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$87
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$102
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hand at Llanarmon(Llanarmon DC)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$142
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The West Arms Hotel(Llanarmon DC)
US$150
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lion Quays(Weston Rhyn)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$111
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$87
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Talbot Hotel(Berriew)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$76
US$74
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
14
8
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
8
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstuffingpeasfell apartbeefsunday lunchpuddingcooked to perfectionfeel very welcomepigs in blanketsportionsvegpub
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

We were looking for a place for lunch and happened upon the Lion. The appearance of the hotel could be described as quaint and there is a small car park conveniently outside the front door. The bar and dining area could do with updating and decorating but are acceptable and sitting at the window table was pleasant on a sunny afternoon. The lunch was excellent. We had the roast beef with Yorkshire pudding. The beef was superbly cooked and very tender and there was an abundance of accompanying vegetables and extra gravy, wonderful value for money. I would definitely eat there again if I was passing

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank VW-Pagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Awesome service and lovely landlord. We arrived without booking on a busy Saturday early evening and were served really quickly. Catered to all our fussy needs, cask, wine and two starving teens. Will definitely go back! Thank you.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Bainey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

We had been told to try the Sunday lunch here as it's incredible and just a short drive from our weekend home.

We were not disappointed. The decor is a little dated though that did not detract from the great food and excellent service at a very reasonable price.

The staff welcomed us and despite being busy and us not booking, we were seated and drinks served straight away. Our orders were taken and the food arrived quickly and was fresh/hot; two roast pork with all the trimmings, including Yorkshire pudding, stuffing and pigs in blankets. There was plenty of extra vegetables; peas, carrots, cabbage, mashed potatoes and cauliflower cheese as well as a gravy boat full of delicious rich gravy. The meals were £8.99 each which for the quality and quantity is amazing value.

We were not disturbed during the meal which was a pleasant change from the chain style "how is your food" question when you've just put a forkful in your mouth! Though they were quick to clean the plates when we'd finished which made is feel well attended to.

The staff were friendly, polite and professional.

I would highly recommend this restaurant and will be visiting again.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

We visited here last Sunday, as we were staying in the area and were meeting with parents for a special meal. Four of us turned up at 12.00 pm and although we had not booked, we were immediately seated and made to feel very welcome. The Sunday dinners were very good, we had beef, lamb, chicken and the vegetarian option. All of us enjoyed the meal, there was plenty of choice of veg, and the little extras ( such as angels on horseback) just made it even better. Even though our table had a later reservation, we were at no point made to feel rushed, the staff were very polite, and the food excellent. Will be returning soon.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tanglepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

Only live 15mins away - can't believe we haven't been before. Absolutely stunning Sunday lunch with choice of turkey, beef or pork. All the meat fell apart-totally spoilt with huge portions! :D beautiful.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Nathan Pippa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews