We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stop for lunch”
Review of Northern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Northern Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brechin
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

We stopped in for lunch today on a day out and had the carrot and coriander soup, which was devine! The only criticism is they don't serve sandwiches on weekends, so I was glad I liked the kind of soup they had, otherwise, there wasn't anything on the menu that was light enough for lunch. We've eaten here before and the food was nice then as well, so at least there's a consistency. We will return when we're in the area, though.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank robinsmithculross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2017

popped in for a meal on thursday night with a friend from edinburgh , food was fantastic service was fantastic highly reconmend this gem of a place , will definately be back soon to have a high tea on a sat or sunday

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

I've stayed at the Northern quite a few times over the years, when in Brechin on business. It is a good solid hotel. My room was nice and the shower was very powerful which was a bonus. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. I didn't eat at the restaurant in the evening but had a lovely, freshly cooked breakfast in the morning. Recommended.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank DJM1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

Lovely old centrally located hotel is excellent in all respects save for uncomfortable beds and prison-issue duvets. This gives it the feel of a budget chain hotel instead of the three century old town centre icon and which this hotel is in every other respect. If you’re staying in the Brechin area then it’s virtually the only show in town. The apartments (located across the road) are spacious and reasonably priced.

Just don’t forget to bring your own duvet!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank CFeatures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

We stayed stayed here previously but the hotel seemed a bit more run down and in need of a makeover that being said its still ok.Our room was a bit noisy with an air conditioner or refrigerator fan running all night disturbing our sleep.Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brechin
8.3 km away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
581 reviews
29.1 km away
Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel
12.1 km away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#1 of 5 in Montrose
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.4 km away
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
12.1 km away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 5 in Montrose
326 reviews
26.2 km away
Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel
#2 of 2 in Carnoustie
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Hotel

Address: 2 Clerk Street, Brechin DD9 6AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Brechin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brechin
Price Range: RM415 - RM2,102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Northern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located in centre of Brechin with 15 rooms and 5 self catering apartments.Perfect for business customers as well as families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Northern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing