We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and impressive ”

Ballenberg, Swiss Open-Air Museum
Ranked #4 of 13 things to do in Brienz
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: More than one hundred centuries-old buildings from all over Switzerland, 250 farmyard animals, traditional, old-time gardens and fields, demonstrations of local crafts and many special events create a vivid impression of rural life in days gone by. Ballenberg is indeed unique.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Beautiful place with wonderful buildings. The roundtour could be better guided and with clearer structure but overall its a great experience. We enjoyed our visit quite a lot.

1  Thank Stefan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLMBallenberg, Verkaufsleiter at Ballenberg, Swiss Open-Air Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Stefan G, Thank you for your rating and your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your visit. We would be delighted to welcome you this year again. Our open-air museum is open from April 14th till October 31th 2018. Kind regards from Ballenberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (742)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"open air museum"
in 44 reviews
"cheese making"
in 21 reviews
"farm animals"
in 24 reviews
"swiss history"
in 13 reviews
"bread"
in 12 reviews
"west entrance"
in 10 reviews
"different areas"
in 9 reviews
"petting zoo"
in 5 reviews
"walking shoes"
in 5 reviews
"merry go round"
in 5 reviews
"rural life"
in 5 reviews
"sausage"
in 13 reviews
"old days"
in 6 reviews
"step back in time"
in 4 reviews
"live demonstrations"
in 4 reviews
"period furniture"
in 4 reviews
"swiss pass"
in 16 reviews
Filter

27 - 31 of 742 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2018

Nice open air museum; these are common across Europe and give you a great introduction to how buildings in the region and the culture have progressed over time. Buildings and items of culture on display from different periods over the last few hundred years. If you've never been to an open air museum, highly recommend. You can walk fast and see most of everything in 3 hours.

Thank 14er_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLMBallenberg, other at Ballenberg, Swiss Open-Air Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Dear Scott H
Thank you very much for your 5-point rating and your kind commentary. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the open-air museum Ballenberg. We would be happy to welcome you again, maybe this year? There will be news waiting for you in 2018. Have a wonderful time and best regards from Ballenberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017

An unexpected recommendation and totally worth it. This is a fantastic place, a journey back in time back to the old days in Switzerland. Remarkable in every way and interesting for young and old.

Wear comfortable clothes and walking shoes (it is an outdoor museum) and carve out at least 2 to 3 hours.

There is a great walk back to the town of Brienz and the lake.

Thank Bruno T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLMBallenberg, Marketing at Ballenberg, Swiss Open-Air Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Bruno T,

Thank you for your five star rating. It is with great pleasure that we hear that you enjoyed visiting the Open-Air Museum Ballenberg.

A new special exhibition, thematic events throughout the year and much more await our visitors during our jubilee year 2018.

We are looking forward to welcome you again from April 14, 2018 on the Ballenberg.

Best regards from Ballenberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

Located in the middle of Switzerland, surrounded by the Alps, the open air museum demonstrates how Swiss people have been living for centuries.

Thank LoveIStanbul365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLMBallenberg, Marketing at Ballenberg, Swiss Open-Air Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear LoveIStanbul365,

Thank you for your five star rating and your kind words. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Open-Air Museum Ballenberg.

We are looking forward to welcome you again during our jubilee year starting April 14, 2018 on the Ballenberg.

Best regards from Ballenberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

This is a museum of Swiss buildings and agriculture dating back to the 16th century right through to quite recent times. We made the mistake of arriving just after midday and the exhibits close at 17.00hrs, you need at least a day to look around the museum. Be prepared for a good bit of walking so wear appropriate footwear, that said, most of the paths are suitable for people who are disabled. There are a number of grill points (wood supplied) around the museum if you want to take food with you or else there are a number of cafes/stalls. The exhibits are beautifully laid out and very well presented. We all found it fascinating to see the variations in construction used throughout Switzerland with some of the buildings going back to the 16th century. In addition to the buildings there were examples of livestock and plants that featured in Swiss farming and pharmacology. Throughout the day there are a number of displays by craft workers, some of whom are selling their goods. Our access to the museum was by car but I noticed that the Post Bus also calls by the museum. In summary, I was very impressed by this place and will certainly return again sometime in the future to see those buildings we didn't manage to fit in, I also want to see how the staff progress with the new brick-kiln.

Thank delingard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLMBallenberg, Marketing at Ballenberg, Swiss Open-Air Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear delingard,
Thank you very much for your 5-point rating and your kind and detailed commentary. We are very pleased to hear that you have truly enjoyed your time at the open-air Museum Ballenberg. We would be happy to welcome you again, maybe next year?! There will be news waiting for you in 2018. Have a wonderful time and best regards from Ballenberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ballenberg, Swiss Open-Air Museum also viewed

Brienz, Bernese Oberland
Brienz, Bernese Oberland
 
Brienz, Bernese Oberland
Meiringen, Bernese Oberland
 

Been to Ballenberg, Swiss Open-Air Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing