We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great burger ”
Review of L'Amour Fou

L'Amour Fou
Ranked #15 of 203 Restaurants in Ixelles
Price range: US$15 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Ixelleirs and Bruxelloises have been hanging out at l'Amour Fou since 1984. Today, it's your local spot for sipping high quality cocktails and homemade pastrami sandwiches.
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

One of the best burgers in BXL. The deserts are very good too, especially the banoffee :) they recently changed their menu to only pastrami sandwishes but I'm not sure if it's still like that, I haven't been their since.

Thank Florence V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

After having heard a lot of good things about the burgers etc I was excited to try this place, unfortunately service was poor and slow. We waited for ages that someone took the orders, for drinks it was about 1h and the food even longer.
Once it arrived it was cold. No effort was made to check if anything else would need to be ordered. Drinks that were no longer available were simply not prepared rather than checking if anything else could replace it etc etc
Not going back there and I would not recommend it to anyone - considering that the resto is connected to the gin and wine bar next door I'm not sure if this is clever to highlight/ advertise this link
There are plenty of other brunch / burger places in Brussles to enjoy a lot more

Thank Nelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Good for big groups of people.
Nice brunch on weekends.
Can get somewhat noisy.
Overall, nit bad but more appropriate for meeting up friends than for enjoying quality food.

Thank moroti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

I went to this restaurant with a friend of mine. We enjoyed a good burger (despite they forgot to serve sauces) and when we paid they tricked us by making us paying twice: I paid in cash 20 euros and my friend was supposed to pay the same by card, but they charged him the full amount. Unfortunately we noticed it once we were back home.

Thank Matteo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amourfou00, Propriétaire at L'Amour Fou, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2017

Hello,

Thanks for your review!

We're glad you enjoyed your meal, and we apologize your were double billed.
That doesn't make us "thiefs". We don't trick people. It would hurt us.

We sent you a private message to find a solution to this issue.

Best regards,

L'Amour Fou Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017

A friend organised a party. There were 20 of us for a meal and afterwards we expected to have a space to dance and have drinks, with more people coming. Upon arrival we were told that our tables were occupied and that we should go out of the bar because we were obstructing the waiters. Food took a long time to come, although everything had been pre-ordered two days before. When the time came to pay there was a misunderstanding about the bill and the person in charge shouted at the person in our party trying to sort things out. The space where we were supposed to meet after dinner should have been available at 22:30. I left almost at 01:00 and the space was still not available. I am not impressed with the way they catered for our party and even less by the reaction of staff when things did not go the way THEY wanted.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DrThebussem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amourfou00, Public Relations Manager at L'Amour Fou, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Dear DrTheBussem,

First of all, we are really sorry the evening didn't go as planned. It happens sometimes that a table isn't ready for a reservation and that our customers have to wait a little bit, and we agree with you that it is entirely our fault, that's why we offered you two bottles of red wine as a commercial gesture. We remember very well what happened with your group, and I'm afraid that there must have been some misunderstandings between our staff and the person that made the reservation : the space provided for dancing was originally planned to be available from 1 am and we agreed to make it available from 12.30 pm. We have customers late in the restaurant, so we never free up a space for a party at 10pm.

Regarding the pre-ordered, we received it 2 hours before your arrival instead of 2 days.
We sincerely apologize concerning what happened when your party was paying the bill, but may I remind you that the problem was that you refused to pay a 100 euros bill of drinks that the whole group ordered directly at the bar. We didn't invent fake orders, your party friends recognized they actually did ordered what they drank at the bar.

We hope that this can help you understand what happened and we assure you that will take your comment into consideration.

L'Amour Fou Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Amour Fou also viewed

 
Ixelles, Brussels
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to L'Amour Fou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing