We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
12
10
3
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
12
10
3
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plain omelette jungle walk lunch and dinner night cruise the river boatman package guests tours guide
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2019 via mobile

We did the 3D/2N package with Sukau Backpackers, mainly because it was the only option within our budget. It was as expected for a less expensive option, though some elements were disappointing and probably easy to improve.

We enjoyed the 4 cruises on the river, each taking a different route. The scenery was spectacular and we saw a number of monkeys, birds, baby crocodiles and an orangutan from a distance. It seemed that the driver of the boat spotted everything we passed and positioned the boat well to watch the animals. However, he wasn’t very interactive and we ended up learning more about the animals from the guides on other boats next to us. We were also expecting a guide and a driver, and only had a driver, which was disappointing but probably to do with the budget option. There were also no binoculars available (which are essential really), and again we used some from the boats next to us.

The jungle walk was disappointing and felt like a time filler. We were followed by the village dogs which barked and scared off the only monkeys we saw. After that the guide didn’t seem very interested in trying to spot anything else.

The accommodation was basic but had everything we needed (air con, comfy bed, outdoor seating), and we were pleasantly surprised by how nice the garden/setting was. Transfers in private minibuses were great - pick up and drop off as expected. The food was OK for a meat eater, but the vegetarian alternative provided (plain omelette or salad) was disappointing. Some fruit for breakfast would have been nice.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lmd0792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2019 via mobile

My family of Four (kids 8 and 10) did the 3D/2N at Kinabatanga with Sukau backpackers. The rooms are basic but clean, the food was plain but pleantyfull and the Nature was beautiful and We were lucky to see two Wild orangutans pretty close to the boat.

The Nightwalk wasnt worth the trouble of going through swamp and the mody Hills but We didnt see any animals.

We were also dropped of at the junction but it was with Perfect timing to catch our bus to Semporna- so no complains there.

All in all a worth value experience.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Nina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

The Kinabatangan river is a beautiful place to see a bit of Borneo's wildlife. This place, though, might not be the best option to enjoy because they are always looking for ways to sneak some more money out of your pockets. First, the cruises are 10-20 ringgit more expensive than anywhere else. There is a hidden "aircon fee" that you will only hear about when checking-out. The meals are scarce and overpriced because they know the closest restaurant is a 40-minute walk away. Even if it is a very special place, these people's greed manage to make you leave with a bitter taste. You better find another place around Sukau.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Scenic814018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

We have booked the 3 days, 2 night package. Pick up was arranged according to the package from Sandakan to the b&b. The cruises were nice although they should keep a bit more distance between the boat and the animals. Some monkeys real almost coming in boat to fight. They felt threatened. The second night we had a cruise instead of a walk. Great because the morning walk was really disappointing, just 15 minutes in the forest and the other time along the main road. In the morning of departure they suddenly charged 20Ringit per person extra. Furthermore, the bus to Semporna was suddenly not included and they booked a bus for 45 Ringit departing from Sukau junction without noticing us in advance about prices. The bus was full when he arrived at the junction and our driver from the hostel just dropped us, left us there and said it was our problem to arrange transportation in the midnights night
The doctor dle of nowhere. Luckily a car stopped to give us a ride to the next big town where we arranged a minibus to Semporna.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Annesadventuresnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

We booked a 3D/2N activity package with Sukau Backpackers and loved it (except for the jungle walk which wasn't very memorable so we skipped the second one we had scheduled and went on a night river cruise instead). While the hotel itself is very basic and the food is not that great, the room was clean and comfortable. You get what you pay for. We had some issues with the shower - both mornings around 5.30 am (probably when they turn the water back on) it started making very loud noises and they wouldn't stop unless we turn the shower on and kept it running - a bit unfortunate. Having said that, this stay was the highlight of our trip to Borneo. The river guides are very knowledgeable and were able to spot even the tiniest bird in the dark during the night cruise. We were extremely lucky with proboscis monkeys and pygmy elephant sightings (they bathed in the river right in front of us) and we even spotted a clouded leopard - everyone, including the the guides were so excited - it was only a third sighting in 5 years! Service was great and we would definitely recommend this place to anyone who is on a tighter budget. Beautiful memories! Thank you!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank barboraf2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews