We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveller rating
116
41
17
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
116
41
17
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish dive sites tawau airport on stilts unlimited diving white tip reef sharks social media food was buffet style dive staff low season dive shop taking photos tuna sashimi star resort boat ride bring your own other resorts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 190 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2019

Excellent hotel for divers, located on the coast of the island of Mabul.
The design of the hotel is rather a feeling that you are in China.
One of the few licensed diving hotels on Sipadan.
Good bungalows. The service is pretty simple.
Basically, all the dishes in the restaurant, Chinese cuisine. By the way, the hotel guests are mostly Chinese citizens.
However, diving on Sipadan is worth it all!

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 475vladimirm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2019

From the moment the boat arrives at Mabul Water Bungalows, you know you are at a special place. Attention has been given to plants, planters, lighting, and architecture itself. This is obvious from the number of people taking photos and selfies at every turn. Teh view from the rooms is of sea stars, rays, birds, fish, and boats. The dive personnel and other staff stop at nothing to make your stay fabulous and always have a smile. I’d go back in a minute!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2019

Stayed here with my family in early September. I had booked online with Asia Dive Holidays found via internet searches. The process was straightforward but took some organising as regards flight timings and details of dive certifications etc.

The resort transfer by road from Tawau airport to Semporna was efficient. From Semporna it was about an hour's boat ride to the resort. The sea was a bit choppy but not too bad. With a higher wind, it would have been a bit uncomfortable.

The resort really is pretty nice, on stilts just off Mabul island. Bougainvilla flowers along the walkways and by the cottages - rather special. Our cottage was clean and had all we needed. Not 5* but as long as you are clear about that, it's fine.

Food was buffet style for breakfast and dinner (not sure about lunch as we were diving during the day) and adequate but not great. Tuna sashimi they put out every other evening was good.

Of course, you only come here for the diving and we were lucky to get to Sipadan three days out of four. We saw turtles and white-tip reef sharks on every dive. Also schools of jacks and trevally, bumphead wrasses and barracuda. Other highlights: grey reef sharks and a thresher shark. The other day we dived closer to Mabul and visibility was poor. Boat ride to Sipadan is not 15 minutes, more like 45 to 60.

The resort provides "elevenses" and lunch on the island (along with the other resorts visiting the island).

All in all, this was a great stay and I would definitely return.

Date of stay: September 2019
1  Thank side11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2019

Booked the land Chalet and was quite pleased. Perfect location, close to restaurant, dive shop, bar. Alcohol is very expensive on the island, bring your own or give it up for a week. The staff were all tops. Food was good. They cooked a BBQ several nights, it was the best food for the week. Bar on the water opens at 3pm....no staff actually show up until 3:30 or 4p. Dive staff were all great. AC in room will freeze you out....perfect for me!! Wifi and cell service is intermittent at best, disconnecting for a week was actually nice.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mikewowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Views beautiful. Staff amazing and go extra to please. Not quite 5 star Maldives but good 4 star luxury for where it is. Only down side is alcohol sooo expensive (maybe because of religion... frowned upon?) then again the normal treats were very expensive ( think airport or motorway services monopoly... hmmmm

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Sonya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews