We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Easter Hols in Kippford”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The sun filled sitting room with views over the estuary. The kitchen/dining room with views of the garden, if you're lucky you might see the red squirrel
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
The sun filled sitting room with views over the estuary.
The kitchen/dining room with views of the garden, if you're lucky you might see the red squirrel
The downstairs bedroom with a wc next door. Views over the estuary and Galloway hills beyond
The beautiful, restful upstairs bedroom with stunning views of the water
The twin upstairs bedroom with ever changing views of the estuary
The single upstairs bedroom with views to the back garden
The garden Wendy House, fun for the little ones!
View from the Front Porch
View from nearby hill
Kippford sea-front
Kippford Lifeboat which is housed next door to the cottage.
View from the three front bedrooms
Sunset from the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Kippford, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Julie B
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Easter Hols in Kippford”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Kippford is a little jewel of a place with lovely walks, with a real seaside feel. Allonby cottage has everything you will need for a relaxing break, handy separate shower downstairs, very comfortable bed and fab views over the Solway. Tea and biscuits were left in the kitchen on our arrival and the cottage was toasty warm. On Easter Sunday I was greeted at the kitchen window by a cheeky little red squirrel, lots of little bunnies on the lawn, and an abundance of wild birds on the feeders. Very good value for money , lovely quaint cottage.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review Julie. I am so pleased you enjoyed your holiday in Allonby Cottage and Kippford.
We are so lucky to have such an array of wonderful wildlife right on our doorstep, along with all the birds and animals in the estuary too.
Hope to see you back at Allonby one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A delightful holiday cottage in a beautiful location.”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage was lovely, beautifully decorated, a real home from home with everything we needed for our stay. The kitchen was very well equipped for meals in but there are also two Fab pubs to eat out at, the Anchor two doors down and the the Mariner just a short walk away. There is also a lovely garden at the back for the kids to play in although it is nice just to sit out at the front and look at the boats.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2016
Thank you Deborah, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Allonby. We hope to see you back in Kippford one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel A
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location, great views, spot on digs”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 for a stay in March 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We just thought we'd post a few comments & photo's from our lovely stay at Allonby Cottage.
The Cottage itself was great with plenty of room - ideal for a big group or a family party - as it was it was just the two of us & we loved the space.
We chose the Cottage based on its location within the village, which is just three doors up from the pub, great for popping in after a hard days walking.
The Anchor Hotel does some nice evening meals & has a lovely feel to it, with locals & holiday makes all enjoying a pint or two.
The village of Kippford is a great base for exploring the coast with some nice walks on the door step to Rockcliffe & Sandyhills as well as some within a short drive like the walks we took to Balcary Bay & Loch Trool
Overall a great stay (even the weather was ok) & we'd be happy to return as soon as we can.
Cheers

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its location & view within the village
Liked least: Parking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2016
Thank you Rachel, we are glad you enjoyed Allonby and Kippford. We hope to see you back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing