We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service”
Review of Hunters Lodge Inn

Hunters Lodge Inn
Ranked #4 of 38 Restaurants in Axminster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$20
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: 16th Century Coaching Inn commands an enviable position, conveniently situated on the main A35 where Devon & Dorset meet, between the bustling market town of Axminster, and the beautiful seaside town of Lyme Regis, the gateway to the Jurassic Coast.
Reviewed 16 November 2017

A colleague and I visited of a Monday lunchtime whilst on route to Torquay.
The inn was well sign-posted with adequate parking.
Our drinks were quickly ordered and served.
There was a good range and choice of items in the menu plus several specials, and our orders were efficiently taken and served to our table in a reasonable time.
All was consumed, and after paying and using the facilities ... we were on our way.
Our only criticism was the hand dryer in the gents toilet was not working.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paige S, Manager at Hunters Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Hi, thank you for visiting us here at The Hunters Lodge Inn and taking time to give us such a lovely review! Sorry about the hand dryer, we have now sorted the issue with that! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 109 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the old Inn in hawkchurch, they thoroughly recommended this place, as we fancied a drive out. Looked up on trusty trip advisor. Bad news, quiz night, thought oh no we hate quiz nights, we won't get in. Bar man got us a table straight away. Food and drinks, perfect. Vegan curry!! Wife had a colossal ploughman's platter, half a year's worth of cheese, fresh perfect pork pie, fresh ham , salad etc etc wow!!
Did we want a sweet? Where are we meant to fit that then!!??
Thank you for a lovely meal. All done before the quiz. If that's your thing, looked very popular and a nice atmosphere.

Thank simon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paige S, Manager at Hunters Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Hi Simon!
Thank you for such a lovely review, i will pass on the positive comments to our fellow staff! Also thank you for taking the time rating us on trip advisor!
We hope to see you again soon at The Hunters Lodge Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

The Hunters is under new management, they have as lot to live up to after Neville and Sarah. The new staff need to as welcoming and friendly as the old staff. Food was good and hot with plenty of choices. No smiles or anything from the chap behind the bar taking our payment. It would have been better having bill served at the table.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paige S, Manager at Hunters Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Hi, thanks for the review, as any new business it takes time to find your feet. However, we have no intentions for major change - we have new staff recently starting (alongside with the old staff) to help manage our hectic Christmas parties to give our customers an amazing experience. Everything takes time, Neville and Sarah had 14 years to build a reputation so we are hoping our locals understand that and give us time to show what we can give to the community. Also we do serve bills at the table - if asked we would be happy to offer that service to you.
Hope to see you again soon at The Hunters Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

We stop off here regularly. The last meal was as equally good as the first. The service is always top notch. All I will say is make sure you book as they get very busy. The desserts are the best.

1  Thank neiljthomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paige S, Manager at Hunters Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Thank you for your lovely comments. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

Travelling to Cornwall, we decided to stop for a quick refuel lunch.

Often these roadside pubs can be dire places and the food and service terrible.

This couldn’t be further from the truth at Hunters Lodge Inn. A family run pub, the staff were welcoming, the venue clean and the food superb. It is clear that the chef and his staff take pride in their work. They even took the trouble to cook poached rather than fried eggs for one of our party!

I would strongly recommend this venue for a traveller’s lunch.

1  Thank Julian I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paige S, Manager at Hunters Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Hi! Thank you for such a lovely review - really appreciate the time you have taken to write it! We hope you had a safe journey yesterday and hopefully see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hunters Lodge Inn also viewed

 

Been to Hunters Lodge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing