We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place for someone with disabled needs”

Review of Tidmoor Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
113 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Chickerell, Weymouth, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 113 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Amanda459
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely place for someone with disabled needs”
Reviewed 3 April 2012 for a stay in October 2011

I took my Mum away to the Tidmoor Cottages in October 2011 and we had a lovely time, the surroundings and the cottage were absolutely stunning. Many of the apartments that I was looking at with disabled access looked very dated and not very appealing but Tidmoor Cottages was the complete opposite, it was modern and homely and still had all the essentials to make Mum's stay as comfortable as possible.

We're already planning our next trip to stay there in the Summer.

Amanda

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia B
Surrey, UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Short break - February 2012”
Reviewed 4 March 2012 for a stay in February 2012

We were very comfortable in the Barn, where we spent three nights in half-term. There was plenty to do in the area, even in winter, so we enjoyed the walks to the Fleet Lagoon (visible from Barn) at Tidmoor Cove, Chesil Beach and to Ope Cove on Portland. The cottage is well-located between countryside and town, allowing easy access to Weymouth (10 minutes to centre).

We dined well on the generous servings at the Turk's Head in Chickerell village, and also at Lulworth Cove as we left.

The Barn is well-equipped and very clean, offering excellent views from the upstairs lounge and bedroom. Parking immediately outside the front door was very convenient with level access. Sarah, her son and their dog made us very welcome, and were available to assist, if required.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billyeff
Berkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Simply Brilliant!!”
Reviewed 16 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011
4
people found this review helpful

Staying again with Sarah & Alan at Tidmoor Cottages in the " Barn" was fantastic. My sister traveeled with us this time she uses a wheelchair & walker but she managed so well in the Barn as everything there was to her needs. I would certainly recommend this cottage to anyone, whether they have mobility impairment or not. it is situated is a lovely setting yet so near all attractions whether coast or country. Sarah & Alan are excellent hosts and will help whatever your request is. Would give this a 5* rating at all times.

Value Rooms
Location
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodmoor
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“home from home accommodation in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 25 June 2011 for a stay in May 2011
2
people found this review helpful

the Barn was very very comfortable and we were warmly welcomed
as avid birdwatchers Radipole and Lodmoor RSPB reserves were very close by, also the Fleet and Portland Bill.
Loved visiting the Swannery to see the baby swans and watch the mass feeding at 12 noon.
Hope to return to the Barn

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ptd5
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent renovated period cottage, well equipped, modern interior”
Reviewed 25 June 2011 for a stay in June 2011
3
people found this review helpful

A super little cottage with good views over the fleet and the sea. An ideal base for exploring Dorset. The ground floor bedroom and disabled bathroom were excellent. kitchen and lounge area very good. The upper floor bedroom/en suite area also had a second lounge with views out of French doors to the sea.

We were well looked after by Sarah and Alan. We enjoyed it very much and look forward to returning

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing