We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Touring Base....”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Orchard Cottage

View of the cottage from the pond area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the cottage from the pond area
Double bedroom Garden view in the winter
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
View of the cottage from the pond area
Double bedroom
Garden view in the winter
Dining area in the lounge & through to the kitchen area.
lounge south facing & looking onto the 1 acre of garden.
View of the garden in the spring.
kitchen.
2nd bedroom with 2 single beds.
Garden in spring
Garden in the summer
Garden Summer House
Garden pond in the spring
View of cottage from the garden.
View of cottage from the garden summer house area.
Dining area.
Pond area by the garden summer house.
View of the pond from the top garden.
Spring lambs in the field..
Patio area.
Pond view towards the summer house, middle lawn.
Winter 2018
Middle lawn area looking towards the summer house.
Orchard to the side of the cottage
Buttercups in the field to the side of the garden.
Top lawn area
Lower lawn area.
Baby hedgehogs in the middle garden 2018
Spring lambs in the field nest to the garden.
Ducklings by the pond.
Baby rabbit on the step by the summer house.
Ducks on the millstone in the top garden.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NathanRB6...
Pembroke, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Touring Base....”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Had a great stay here, perfect location for getting to the cities and hills of Gloucester and Worcestershire. The owners were very helpful, they even put away our shopping as we were late getting there!!! Got our holiday off to a great start, thank you so much.
The cottage itself was clean and well appointed, we lacked for nothing and the kids loved the ducks and rabbits visiting the window every day, the garden is fabulous.
Only improvement I'd have liked was more reliable wifi, but for the price we paid and the quality of the cottage its a minor gripe. Book it now, you won't regret it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Convenience,
Liked least: poor wifi signal.... Outside it was fine though
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2015
Many thanks for your review.
We will continue to try & improve the wi-fi in Orchard Cottage.
Our signal strength is often fine but can dip on occasions, BT !!!
Dovecote Cottage gets a stronger signal.
Regards Clive.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jax208
coventry
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“'A little bit of heaven'”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Beautiful accommodation, spotlessly clean, lovely beds! An abundance of wildlife right outside our window which kept us amused for hours. Plenty to do within easy distance ~ would recommend highly. Clive and Kaeren were lovely, always on hand but not intrusive. Back to reality now but will definitely be back! Thank you so much both!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendliness of Clive and Kaeren
Liked least: That we couldn't have stayed longer!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for your review.
Very best wishes Clive & Kaeren.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve F
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent accommodation, fantastic garden, warm and friendly hosts”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Clive and Kaeren were warm and friendly hosts, always happy to have a chat and to help recommend places to visit. Orchard Cottage was a clean and comfortable place to stay, a real home away from home and the large garden was an excellent place for the kids to play, they really loved it here and wished that we could take the garden home with us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden
Liked least: There was nothing that we were unhappy with
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2016
We loved seeing the children play in the garden.
Thank you for your review.
Kind regards Clive & Kaeren.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Xi'an, China
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A truly idyllic stay with terrific hosts”
Reviewed 30 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My sister and I were looking for a cottage as a base while we visited the Cotswolds, and found this in Orchard Cottages in Gloucestershire. When we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly face welcoming us, showed us around and had everything ready for our tea upon arrival. The cottages are very clean, in a great location, and Clive and Kaeren are great hosts who are there for anything you could want, with great tips on where to eat and what to see, when asked. They never steered us wrong, but were never intrusive. The place is perfect for a quiet stay and the birds and bunnies are very entertaining. We had a great week and I really hate to leave. I would recommend this to anyone who wishes to have a lovely holiday in the English countryside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and comfortable after a day of hard travelling. Helpful hosts.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2016
Many thanks for your review.
Best wishes Clive & Kaeren.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W
1 review
“Highly recommended - lovely stay with excellent hosts.”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed here for three nights with our 12yr and 13 yr olds. Located in the village of Corse, it is remote enough to be peaceful and close enough to Gloucester centre for shops. Clive ensured that we were warmly welcomed and then, crucially, left to settle in and enjoy the clean, cosy, and well-equipped cottage. The gardens are spacious and well maintained and children are encouraged to play with a variety of toys in the summer house. We had a relaxing and enjoyable stay and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts.

Highly recommended and we would definitely book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2016
We would love to see you all again one day.
Thank you for the review.
Regards Clive & Kaeren.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing