We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely family friendly pub”
Review of The Garibaldi

The Garibaldi
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Bourne End
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Community owned since February 2013, this well loved Victorian Inn situated in Hedsor Road, Bourne End offers a great selection of cask ales and fine wines. Food is fresh, locally-sourced, home-made pub favourites plus discover the many flavours of South Africa on our unique menu inspired by the chef's home country all to be enjoyed in the warm, cosy bar area or the lovely garden.
Reviewed 20 April 2018

I've visited The Garibaldi on a number of occassions and i've always been met with friendly staff, a great atmosphere and excellent food which has a South African twist. Its a quaint little pub that has great views from the garden and is dog friendly too. I would recommend vising this pub.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank slightvariable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmain M, Owner at The Garibaldi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Goodday slightvariable

Its always nice to see you and Mabel at the Gari. Mabel is gaining a huge following and is often asked for when she is not around. See you later.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2018

My husband and I went to the Garbaldi for a quick Friday lunch. What a lovely menu and really good food! I loved that there were some South African dishes on the menu, and immediately ordered the boerewors bap. Very good. My husband had the special, the Moules Frites. Lovely big fresh mussels in a very tasty creamy sauce.
Such a nice pub with a lovely atmosphere. The outside seating area is very nice, especially with the fab weather we're having. They have some lovely local beers and IPAs as well. We will most certainly be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TanyaRetief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmain M, Owner at The Garibaldi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Hi Tanya

Thank you for your lovely review, we always enjoy seeing you and the family. Although we are mostly a traditional British pub, our SA dishes on the menu are proving to be ever popular with the locals in Bourne End. Look forward to seeing you again and remember to try either our Bobotie or Durban style curry as these are selling out fast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

Visited on Sunday 15th April with family. Second time there and again didn't disappoint! Good food, really tasty, hot and plenty of it. Great desserts as well. Malve dessert particularly good. Well worth a try ! Will definitely return. Only slight criticism,if any , was that music being played was too loud and not particularly relaxing for a Sunday dinner.

1  Thank Stephen1955-1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmain M, Owner at The Garibaldi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

HI Stephen1955-1604

We are pleased that you enjoyed your last visit at The Gari and look forward to seeing you again. We have since noted your comment regarding the music as our music is generally customers choice. Please feel free to put in a request next time you are in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We have visited a couple of times and have never been disappointed with the food. Our meal this evening was no exception. I was about to order the chicken Cesar salad but after finding out that the special was mussels I of course ordered these! They were lovely. Finished the meal with an Irish coffee, the lovely lady that served us said this was the first time she had made one and it was surprisingly nice! The staff are lovely and that’s the main reason we will keep returning.

1  Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmain M, Owner at The Garibaldi, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hi Lauren C,

It is always a pleasure serving you and your partner. You are delightful customers and I am really pleased you enjoyed your mussels. Come back soon and don't forget our quiz nights every 1st Tuesday of the month!

See you soon.
Regards

The Garibaldi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Had a fantastic time If I could give 10 stars I would. Definetly going to return and recommend. Food and Service were superb. Local Pub with lovely atmosphere

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank maroudasclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmain M, Owner at The Garibaldi, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hi Maroudasclan

Thank you for much for the lovely compliments. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Being South African and true to our roots, we will BBQ/Braai come rain or shine. Look forward to seeing you again. Follow us to keep up to date with our events.

Kind regards

The Garibaldi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Garibaldi also viewed

Bourne End, Aylesbury Vale
Cookham, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Seer Green, Beaconsfield
Cookham, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Cookham, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to The Garibaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing