We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch”
Review of The Polecat Inn

The Polecat Inn
Price range: US$13 - US$66
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Polecat Inn is a charming 17th Century Freehouse & Restaurant nestled in the picturesque Chiltern Hills village in Prestwood in Buckinghamshire. With hearty open fires and an offering of fine wines, traditional ales and locally sourced, market fresh food, we hope to make your acquaintance soon.
Reviewed 12 October 2021

Hadn't eaten here for 4 years. Obviously the the whole place had been renovated and extended. My daughter took me for my 66 birthday. My pizza was delicious, my daughters pasta and the pork of my future son in law was apparently delicious. Our waitress was attentive and helpful.
I have been reading some poor reviews since our meal, but I must say I'm very positive about my experience and I'm very fussy.!!

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank Povocop
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2021 via mobile

Took my mum and daughter here for breakfast after coming a few months ago and having really positive experience. Not this time! Restaurant was very cold and service slow, despite only few tables occupied. Breakfast itself was really disappointing. My eggs royale was served with stale muffin not even toasted, overcooked eggs and freezing cold salmon. Asked if muffin could be toasted and it was returned to me burnt! Black bits all over the plate as I cut into it, not especially appetising. My mum’s full English was cold, shrivelled up mushroom, overcooked eggs. She left quite a bit on her plate as just wasn’t enjoying it. Exactly same menu served at Beech House in Beaconsfield but much much better tasting food. Won’t be returning to polecat any time soon. Such a shame it’s gone down hill in last few months.

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank JAllens
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 September 2021 via mobile

This is a local restaurant in Great Missenden which serves good breakfasts, brunches and dinners. The outside pods are heated, have a push button call 'bell' and they can give you a wire for your own music. It is a nice place for a group of friends, with a minimum charge.

Only hesitancy about recommending The Polecat Inn is the variable service. .. a little hit and miss.

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank LondonFamily88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 September 2021

This was a wonderful treat for Saturday lunch. There is Both a very modern classy part and a traditional pub style seating area. Food was good, they were more than happy to redo the steak as it was a bit rare for my taste. My other half had the camembert which he enjoyed enormously. Will definitely be back agaibn

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Kittycat2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 September 2021

We had a very good Sunday evening meal here when visiting family in Great Missenden. It is in an attractive quiet location, with friendly staff and excellent food – good vegetarian choice too. We’d highly recommend.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Pelagius_Redivivus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Polecat Inn also viewed

Great Missenden, Buckinghamshire
 
Great Missenden, Buckinghamshire
Great Missenden, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Polecat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.