We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$186
View deal
Booking.comUS$186
Hotels.comUS$186
TravelocityUS$186
TripadvisorUS$186
Priceline
eDreamsUS$186
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
96
13
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
96
13
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Only a 1 night stay which was fabulous. St Estephe was not the most exciting venue. However Bordeaux towns (e.g. Pauilliac, St Julien, Margaux etc) along the D2 on the left bank are not full of life at the best of times. especially when the harvest is in full flow.

Great bedroom, a nice outside pool and a wonderful communal area which gives of a taste of what it would be like to live in one of these Chateaux.

We were well looked after by the staff who helped book us a restaurant (the only one within 4km - pretty important when you've travelled there by bicycle).

A very pleasant stay indeed. Recommend.

Room tip: We had a great room facing out from the front of the house. I would imagine all the rooms are very good.
Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MARK H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We arrived on Saturday afternoon and were met by Cathy, very welcoming (the house is not manned 24hours). Absolutely fantastic room, full length shuttered windows on two side - bags of French charm. Huge bed, very comfortable - lovely bathroom (only "telephone" style shower over bath so you have to be agile!!). Giles (owner) very welcoming and went to great trouble to organise two chateau visits for us (one to Chateau that doesn't normally do tours).
Breakfast in fine dining room, fresh pain au chocolat and croissants. No restaurant or other meals but as you are bound to be out most of day, no matter. We highly recommend The Restaurant in St.Jullien - especially the Oef Florrentine!!
Highly recommended - we will definitely go back

Room tip: Facing the building top floor left or right both have two sided aspects
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank g8dsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Because this is a small property ( not physically, the grounds to the rear are vast) there is a personal touch. Gilles had booked the wine tasting for us at Lynch-Bages at 11.30 then after talking to us, he could book lunch to follow at the lovely Cafe Lavinal which is right next door so it all worked beautifully. Having had probably the best meal we had in more than 2 weeks in France, we were able to shop for a picnic tea to enjoy in the gardens of the chateau and so we had a very relaxed afternoon and time to just enjoy being in such an iconic location.
We stayed for 2 nights in a room in the main chateau. We were in the middle room on the upper floor and the floor boards were very creaky and we could hear ( but fortunately not overhear ) the conversations in the adjoining room.
The chateau is ideally situated to see some of the most famous Bordeaux wineries but there are no restaurants or cafes in the local, or immediately adjoining villages so you do have to be prepared to tackle unfamiliar roads at night in order to eat unless you plan ahead as we did on the second night.
Just the usual gripe about not being able to make tea or coffee in the room but that is so for most of France.
Our bathroom was very small but had a shower rather than a bath which suited us well.

Room tip: The rooms in the ground floor annexe may be quieter than those on the upper floor of the original chateau
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This Chateau was wonderful even before we arrived, booking us in to several wine tastings at local vineyards and giving us a list of restaurant recommendations before we arrived, which all turned out to be excellent. The service continued to be amazing throughout our stay. On the first night we had some of the Chateau's delicious wines (and even took a trip down to the new little wine cave to pick it up), and drank them on the back terrace overlooking the huge garden and lovely pool at the back of the property. Wonderful shared guest facilities both inside and outside, including large lounge areas with loads of books, beautiful terrace out the back with seating, big garden and a lovely pool. Our room was great, very large, beautifully decorated and was perfectly clean and maintained, with views out across the neighbouring vineyard. Breakfast was wonderful and served out on the terrace and in the downstairs breakfast room. All in all, a wonderful experience, and we would return to St Estephe just to stay here again.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizabethAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We had booked two nights but stayed for four - it was an easy decision. A lovely spacious room, one of only four in the Chateau. Set in beautiful grounds. Excellent continental breakfast. Pristine clean swimming pool - a real swimming pool for a good swim. Gilles, the supervisor, was extremely helpful. He cooked a lovely dinner for us and a group of our family who were staying nearby - made it a very special evening for us all. He helped too with excellent recommendations for restaurants.
He also arranged a very interesting (free) tour for us of the nearby Chateau Lynch-Bages, owned by the same family as own the Chateau des Ormes. Very highly recommended.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ianliz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews