We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure you get the properly timed tickets”

Skyrail Rainforest Cableway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Embark on a fascinating journey of discovery over and through the oldest continually surviving tropical rainforest on earth. Enjoy a truly unique perspective of Australia's World Heritage listed Tropical Rainforest as you glide just metres above the pristine rainforest canopy before descending to explore the forest floor at Red Peak and Barron Falls Station and learn about one of the most botanically fascinating and diverse areas in the world. Explore Kuranda, the village in the rainforest known for its markets, cafes, art galleries and wildlife parks. Return via the historic Kuranda Scenic Railway to complete your rainforest day tour. Combine one of Cairns other leading attractions with your experience including Rainforestation Nature Park, Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park and the Kuranda Wildlife Experience. Consistently voted as one of the best things to do in Cairns - discover, encounter and immerse yourself in this unforgettable experience of a lifetime.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
Reviewed 2 April 2018

The Skyrail was fun, but we didn't realize that you really had to stick to the exact time on your tickets and then wait in line and share the cablecar with others. The ride down was great - great views. Make sure you get off at BOTH stops. Worthwhile sites at boht place.

Thank moosella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyrailMarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Skyrail Rainforest Cableway, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Greetings from the rainforest,
Thanks for visiting recently and sharing your travel advice. You are correct, we allow visitors to make changes to their booking as required prior to travel, however, we ask you to adhere to the departure times on the tickets once printed. We board guests by the allocated departure times on tickets to assist with passenger flows throughout the day and from time to time we will ask guests to share gondolas to help keep waiting times down. We are glad to hear you had a great experience and enjoyed discovering the forest floor at our rainforest stations, Red Peak and Barron Falls. We recommend 1.5 hours for a one way Skyrail experience plus time spent in Kuranda, the village in the rainforest - if you are unsure what times to select just ask our friendly team as they can guide you. We look forward to welcoming you back to the forest again soon.

Advance bookings are essential - book on our website and save!

Kindest regards

Marni Cadd
#skyrail #rainforest #cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"cable car"
in 332 reviews
"barron falls"
in 329 reviews
"diamond view"
in 163 reviews
"sky rail"
in 239 reviews
"red peak station"
in 62 reviews
"glass bottom"
in 143 reviews
"glass floor"
in 62 reviews
"scenic railway"
in 136 reviews
"birds eye view"
in 37 reviews
"both ways"
in 81 reviews
"afraid of heights"
in 55 reviews
"return trip"
in 99 reviews
"views are spectacular"
in 40 reviews
"kuranda village"
in 93 reviews
"butterfly sanctuary"
in 65 reviews
"second stop"
in 63 reviews
"different perspective"
in 30 reviews
Filter

217 - 221 of 3,120 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

Superb views on a comfortable ride up to Kuranda with two interesting stops en route. We travelled Diamond Class which gives a little more room and a glass floor. However, only every 10th capsule is Diamond Class, so you have to wait and we ended up arriving in Kuranda later than we had thought. Still a trip not to be missed.

Thank Trimley11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyrailMarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Skyrail Rainforest Cableway, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Greetings from the rainforest,
Thank you for visiting the ancient rainforest with Skyrail recently and sharing your experience. We are thrilled to hear you had such an excellent experience and superb views however we are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the addition of Diamond View. When booking a Diamond View experience we advise visitors to allow longer than the usual 1.5 hours for a one way experience as there are only 11 Dimoand View Gondolas available, arriving into the station 1 in every 10 gondolas or approximately every 7 minutes. We appreciate your sharing this information to assist fellow travellers. Thanks again for recommending Skyrail as a not to be missed experience! We look forward to welcoming you back to the oldest tropical rainforest on earth again soon!

Advance bookings are essential - book on our website and save!

Kindest regards

Marni Cadd
#skyrail #rainforest #cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We were booked on the railway & Skyrail excursion but due to landslides the railway was not working. This meant instead we went just on Skyrail. Was this a disappointment - not in the least. We had a marvellous day. It was Good Friday so lots of people and we generally steer away from crowds but it didn't matter at all as there was always plenty of room. Plus everyone we talked to was so friendly. We enjoyed walking around Kuranda although we never managed to see it all. But best of all was the Skyrail and travelling over the rainforest. It was wonderful and exhilarating. And all the staff were amazing. The rangers talked about the rainforest quickly but it was stuffed with interesting and fascinating information. I left my hat on the cable car but thanks to one of the rangers got it back really quickly. Everything about the day was great. Totally recommended.

Thank KatieSusan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyrailMarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Skyrail Rainforest Cableway, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Greetings from the rainforest,
Thanks for visiting the rainforest with us and sharing what a delight it was to experience the rainforest with us even when part of your day was cancelled by unexpected closure of Kuranda Scenic Railway. We are thrilled to hear you had a marvellous day experiencing the ancient rainforest at Skyrail and Kuranda village. Thanks for mentioning our friendly staff and knowledgeable Rangers! They really do love sharing their stories of the forest with our guests. Thanks for recommending us to fellow travellers, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Advance bookings are essential - book on our website and save!

Kindest regards

Marni Cadd
#skyrail #rainforest #cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Wow! If you want to see Cairns from a different aspect, this is the way to go. The train ride up to Kuranda was beautiful, except quite hot and sticky, and the history was interesting. It was beautiful to finish with a relaxing trip down the sky rail taking in the views. The kids loved it too!

Thank Meeksy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyrailMarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Skyrail Rainforest Cableway, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Greetings from the rainforest,
Thanks for sharing your spectacular day exploring the ancient rainforest. We are glad you and the family all had a great day discovering the history of the railway and the rainforest! Thanks again for sharing your experience, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Advance bookings are essential - book on our website and save!

Kindest regards

Marni Cadd
#skyrail #rainforest #cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Well worth the time and $$.
Beautiful views of the Cairns region
The only downfall was that due to it being Easter and a weekend it was very busy and we had to share a cable car with strangers, and sit backwards - which if you get motion sickness is not ideal. Once we realised this may be an issue we just made sure we asked the worker to sit us front facing, even if it meant we had to wait a minute for the next car.
Kunudra was lovely and Baron Falls was in full flow after all the rain the region had had.

Thank AndiPolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyrailMarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Skyrail Rainforest Cableway, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Greetings from the rainforest,
Thank you for visiting the ancient rainforest at Skyrail recently and sharing your day with the travel community. We are thrilled you enjoyed the beautiful views of the rainforest and surrounds and found it to be well with the time and money! Whilst we endeavour to offer visitors their own gondola, from time to time we ask guests to share during busier periods as it is necessary operationally to keep a smooth flow of passengers to reduce waiting times. We do thank you for your understanding and are glad you worked with our team to ensure you enjoyed the experience when sharing with others. We are glad you also had a great time in Kuranda and seeing the Barron Falls in full flow! Thanks again for sharing your great day in the rainforest! Advance bookings are essential - book on our website and save!

Kindest regards

Marni Cadd
#skyrail #rainforest #cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Skyrail Rainforest Cableway also viewed

Queensland, Australia
 

Been to Skyrail Rainforest Cableway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing