We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from Home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Milk House

The Milk House & parking area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Milk House & parking area
The sitting room Downstair bedroom with wheelchair access
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
The Milk House & parking area
The sitting room
Downstair bedroom with wheelchair access
The kitchen
Ensuite bathroom downstairs
Upstairs bedroom twin
Upstairs bathroom
Upstairs double
The view in winter
The sitting room
The sitting room
The kitchen from the other end
The boot and utility room
Bluebells in Erlestoke Woods
Reared deer beside Erlestoke Wood
The front of the Milk House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Erlestoke, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
DEBRA W
Romford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had a lovely suprise when we walked into the Milk House, it was like the Tardis only better! our 2 scotties could run freely and safely in the garden, Rebecca was a wonderful host and Rachel had left everything spick and span for our arrival. Weather was fabulous, if your a fisherman there is a lovely lake nearby across the road to the Railway Tavern in the nearby village. We would definately stay there again if we were in the area, only wishes would have been somewhere to hang clothes in the bedrooms, for a week living out of a suitcase was not ideal and made the room look messy, there are a few hooks but not that practical, a hanging rail and a few drawers would be welcome especially in the main bedroom, a hook on the back of the bathroom doors would be useful and a bread knife in the kitchen or electric knife, otherwise it is so well equipped you want for nothing. A very special treat to have stayed there. We tried to support the local pub that had only just opened but sadly they never did food on the nights we tried to eat so cannot comment on the experience there but the Three Daggers is a great option.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The scenery and ease of getting around
Liked least: Nothing it was the perfect stay
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JStephens...
Neyland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely family friendly house in a great location”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you Rebecca and Rachel for a surperb stay at Milk House, even though the weather was a bit hit and miss we all had a great holiday and the house was ideal for all weathers. The house is so much bigger than it looks on the web and felt very spacious for the seven of us. We had a lovely welcome and everything we needed in the house. The house has been done to a very high standard and was an ideally placed for longleat, cheddar gorge, Stonehenge and Avebury. Thank you once again we had a brill family holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenVo...
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect house and location to spend a family holiday”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My family recently spent a week at the Milk House. Rebecca was a delight to deal with from booking right through to a prompt return of deposit - she could not have been more helpful. We found the Milk House to be very clean and extremely comfortable place to stay. The large kitchen is ideal for a family. The house is set in a beautiful location within walking distance of an archetypal Wiltshire village and a nice pub. There are many tourist attractions nearby including Salisbury Plain, the White Horse at Amesbury, Longleat etc. Many beautiful National Trust houses are an easy drive away. We have no hesitation in recommending the Milk House - you will not be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The heavy rain on the last day!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allypink
maldon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Beautiful house in lovely surroundings”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed at the milk house for a week in July. We were very lucky to have lovely hot weather all week. The house is lovely and homely with everything you need. My little boy who is 2 and a half loved the toys especially the train set and also enjoyed the huge trampoline in the garden. All the bedrooms are lovely and comfy my only problem with them was the fourth bedroom where my little boy was going to stay was too far away from our bedroom it would have meant he walked through the utility room, kitchen and sitting room on his own in the night if he needed us. We ended up putting the matress for his bed on the floor in our bedroom which was fine. The sitting room is really cosy and the kitchen was great and huge with everything you need and a lovely big dining table. We used the table and chairs in the garden more as we had a few bbq's during our stay! The house is in a great setting with the farm so close, Tony the farmer is really friendly and let us watch him feed the sheep one evening and my little boy sit on the tractor which he thought was great! There are no chickens anymore though which was a shame. Lunch was eaten at the three daggers pub which was lovely and the farm shop attached to it is really lovely too and they do yummy cakes! We would definitely re-visit the milk house maybe in the winter when we could use the wood burner.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The fourth bedroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerrieBoa...
Stowmarket
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The epitomy of comfort and taste”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

From the moment we booked Rebecca could not have been more helpful. Her communication was great, and the downloadable information sheets were very helpful and comprehensive.
On arrival, the first impression of The Milk House is that it appears a little small, but as soon as you open the door that impression is dispelled. This is a property that keeps on giving.
The sitting room is very comfortably furnished, the spacious kitchen diner is very well equipped, all three bedrooms are of a good size and the beds are very comfortable. The shower room is a delight.
Overall, Milk House has been furnished and decorated with a great deal of taste; Rebecca obviously has a great eye.
Rebecca greeted us on arrival and made sure we were made to feel welcome. She had loads of great tips on things to do and where to eat etc and made sure we had everything we needed to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.
All that remains for me to say is, thank you. We will be back for more !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The shower room
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing