We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great times with great friends”
other travellers have booked this property
Study Farm Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Study Farm Barn
Double bedroom - entrance on ground floor Double bedroom - entrance on ground floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
Study Farm Barn
Double bedroom - entrance on ground floor
Double bedroom - entrance on ground floor
Bunk beds - entrance on ground floor
Family bathroom - entrance on ground floor
View from bottom of stairs through to dining room
Lounge - first floor
Double bedroom with ensuite - first floor
Ensuite shower room - first floor
Twin room - first floor
Twin room - first floor - beds can be put together to act as a double
Dining room - first floor
Dining room  and part of kitchen- first floor
Part of Kitchen - first floor
Twin room - ground floor - below dining room
Double bedroom- ground floor - below dining room
Family Bathroom - below dining room
View from kitchen to outside area
Bottom of Study Drive, opposite Fountain Tea Rooms
View of car park from Study Drive
Private outdoor seating area with furniture and bbq
Outdoor seating area looking out onto fields
Outdoor seating area looking out onto fields
View from kitchen to outdoor area
Outdoor seating area
Outdoor seating area
Christmas at Study Farm
Christmas at Study Farm
The original Study Manor House
Study Farm
View over Bonsall in Winter
The Cross & Kings Head Pub
Well Dressing - Carnival starts last Saturday of July
Fireworks that end Bonsall Carnival week - first Friday in August
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Bonsall, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michelle...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great times with great friends”
Reviewed 9 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed for the New Year week Dec 2013 & enjoyed really enjoyed our stay. We were a group of 10 friends & rented both cottages for a period of 4 days. The cottages provide a warm & cosy setting & we were relaxed & would definitely return & can highly recommend staying. Matlock Baths is a lovely little place & well worth a visit & the walks are fab too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunmoonst...
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful, comfortable, friendly and fun.”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Booked both barns for an extended family pre-Christmas reunion and had a wonderful time on the farm in Bonsall. The barns comfortably accommodated our large group of 8 adults and 3 children and we all slept well in the very nice beds. The barns were also very well equipped for self catering and lovely to have juice, milk and eggs on arrival; although we did enjoy a pub lunch a few minutes walk away in the village too. The heaters/radiators were also more than adequate to keep our older family members warm in the cold winter weather and the thick warm towels provided were lovely after a hot shower in the morning. The owner Jayne was really prompt and helpful in answering any queries prior to arrival and also really lovely and welcoming with nothing too much trouble. The kids loved the rabbits and being on the farm and also enjoyed the great playpark at the bottom of the drive. Bonsall is a beautiful village and a very short drive from Matlock so all in all a great family holiday and we would love to go back. Only wish we could have stayed for longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being able to accomodate a large group comfortably.
Liked least: Having to leave at the end of our stay!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMOGMONST...
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC WEEKEND EXPERIENCE .....”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Having been looking for a property that would suit myself and 8 friends I came across Study Farm Barns in the Heart of the peaks that looked fantastic and ticked all the boxes that were required. Booking could not have been easier as emails from Jayne were both prompt and clear and made for a easy transaction, upon arrival everything was exactly as described if not better very comfortable cottages with everything we needed. As previously reviewed there are 2 pubs in the village we decided on the Kings Head and again were most welcome and the drinks flowed and the laughter started from there. On another evening we took a short walk to Cromford and had a meal at the Boat Inn again the people from this area are some of the most welcoming I have encountered. Summary Fantastic Cottages , Welcoming Hosts and Fantastic Countryside would we come again... without a doubt 5 STARS * * * * *

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosie5519
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“perfect location”
Reviewed 14 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

I have just returned from a week in Study Farm Barns with 9 of my friends. The village of Bonsall is probably the best place we have ever stayed, we have been meeting up for many years. The Barns location is just 500m from either of the excellent pubs and about 100m from The Fountains Tea Room. We had a full house on Saturday night with 10 of us, putting the bed settee to use to avoid having to use the upper bunk! We socialised in the larger barn but preferred to eat in the smaller one which has an open plan lay out. Both kitchens well equipped, apart from some rather old mugs, and the beds and furniture very comfy. I mailed ahead to ask anything and was promptly answered by Jayne, both she and her husband were very helpful. There were eggs, milk and juice provided in the fridges. The local walking is superb with many many routes available, all quite hilly. There was ample off road parking. We voted it our best ever reunion so we may have to break our rule of never visiting the same place twice! Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, large lounge, twin beds!!
Liked least: some mugs past their sell by date, bunks and lack of wifi
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz T
Leicestershire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic Weekend Away with Good Friends”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We booked the Barns for two 50th Birthday celebrations. The Barns are ideal for a large party of friends. Two Barns directly next door. We had 9 of us and were able to have a lovely Special Meal in one of the Barns one of the nights. The owner Jayne is such a lovely lady - we exchanged a number of emails before we went - as I just wanted to make sure everything was perfect - and it was. The weather was so good we were able to sit in the court yard and drink our champagne in the afternoon in glorious sunshine. Absolutely idyllic. The local pubs are fantastic. Especially the Kings Head which has recently been taken over by Michael who is such a kind and friendly host. The food there was excellent and very reasonable. The location of the Barns means you can walk to the pubs and the excellent Fountains Tea Rooms which is also well worth a visit. We walked from Bonsall to Matlock - quite a walk but very satisfying. I would thoroughly recommend the Barns and Bonsall if you are looking for somewhere for a large family or group of friends. You really couldn't find anywhere better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing