We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Villa Pillar(Dapitan City)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
AJ's(Dapitan City)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (324)
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveller rating
73
119
68
28
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
119
68
28
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach resortday tourhorseback ridingwhite sand beachbeach frontbanana boatkiddie poolmain restaurantreception areaitalian restaurantlovely beachwater sportssouvenir shopbad receptionvery nice placedel nortefew months
Filter
Updating list...
270 - 275 of 324 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I had reservations for our company's National Conference being held here...after reading so many bad reviews on Dakak. On arrival, I was expecting the worse, but the worse didn't come.

Alright, so it's not a 5 star over the hill, swanky resort where you'd pay more than what you'd get. But Dakak Park Beach Resort had that ambience where peace, relaxation, and some quiet time alone amidst nature beckoned the tired weary soul.

The plus side was the fact that the staff was attentive to our needs and the food was superb. Added to that were the amenities at the souvenir shops weren't highway robbery. The rooms were of 3 star category, but hey, this is Zamboanga del Norte, a peninsula on the tip of Mindanao in the Philippines! Here, you don't expect a palace, but Dakak was a kingdom nestled in the heart of a beautiful region. The climate was warm and inviting.

While Dipolog is as laid back as it could get, this should be part of anyone's travel agenda when one comes to the Philippines. After all, this country with 7107 islands isn't the archipelago with unique heritage for nothing. Come visit my country - it really is more fun and I should say, more beautiful, in the Philippines

Room Tip: Pick the rooms fronting the pool. While they may not be the newest (the place is undergoing renovation), it's a nice stroll in the 24/7 pools that are refreshingly inviting.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Benjamin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

As one of the tickboxes in our Christmas holidays itinerary, our family spent a few days in Dapitan City during the last week of December 2011. We took an overnight stay at the Dakak Beach Resort, which looked different from our last visit in 2008.

As usual, the good-old service crew is still the best. People at the boutique, the restaurants, are just really warm and accommodating. The rest rooms are clean and smelled good. Food is still the best - perhaps they still maintain their own farms that grow the very same foods served at the resort. And the bread and pastries --- yummy and smelled so good! Yup, they bake these breads in their very own huge oven right at the back of their kitchen (yes, I did peep). The meals at the beach-side will always be one of the most relaxing munch moments you could experience in Dakak.

The beach was OK. We didn't do as much dipping because the jellyfishes are big enough to scare my son :) We spent most of the time at the now child-friendly pool at the back of the pirates-inspired resto. They now added a diving board, a couple of slides and fountains that I'm sure your little ones can’t wait to take the plunge into the kiddie pool. They also added another small kiddie pool at the expanded area. I personally love the old, serene pool by the bar. However, they have made it stricter and did not allow people to use it if not wearing proper swimwear (surf shorts not allowed). I didn't mind at that time because it was early evening and nobody will notice my stretch marks haha!

Dakak is now being expanded, if I'm not mistaken, to cater to a wider market. The most exciting thing about the expansion is the dormitory-type room accommodation. With a space big enough for at least 10 people, it’s a great option for barkadahan out-of-towns, or big-family-wise-budget set-ups. These dormitory rooms are located near the new entrance. Since the rooms are little far from the beach and the main lobby, they provided free golf-cart rides for all guests, which our kids enjoy much :) They also offer group packages that include free tickets to the city's own theme park - the Gloria Fantasyland.

A few things, though, that did not tickle me - the Chinese-inspired restaurant building they are currently constructing, and that Italian-theme resto... I don't know; maybe it's just me but, I just find it too cheesy. I loved that the resort is native/Filipino-inspired, with its nice deluxe 'kubo' rooms.

But still, generally, I think the idea of expanding to a wider market is good because this means more jobs for the Dapitanons, and more income for the city.

Room Tip: Get a car rental and try dining out also, to save up and try local cuisine.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank AshandNoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I have been here 3 times now but unfortunately the redevelopment has changed it from a being a peaceful natural looking resort to more like a day trip centre for bus loads of people.

Plenty of money has been put into it but they should have hired a town planner to design it. rooms that accommodate 10 plus people are lined up togeather ? so dont expect much sleep as people tend to hang out the front of the units after a few drinks and talk loudly. get the smaller units if u can.

A new concrete road that goes thru the middle of a resort ? why wreck the natural ambience of the place with a concrete motorway ? expect motor bike noise and pollution.

great pool and slides but slippery tiles everywhere.

great shows during dinner with hawiian dancing.

White sand on beach but not a great beach for swimming

new restaurants popping up but quality of food may dissapoint international visitors

Its the little things that count and getting a warm flat beer that made me sick is not on my holiday planner.

Room Tip: ask for a smaller unit away from other guests especially if they have lots of people
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

If you are looking for a place to relax and unwind this is a place. Variety of activities including pools, beach, quiet and not tourist pack resort. The food is really inexpensive here. If you are only doing a day tour the fee is consumable which basically cover your lunch (buffet) and drink. Really good for family outing. Its away from the city from noise.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank jcdalman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

nice road, courtesy of pgma. major facelift. its a good thing day guests were provided beach chairs unlike before. the food is not as delicious as kamayan ni manay, owned by the same family. the staff was not as accomodating. but it was a pleasant one. the beach and the water is great.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank david harold p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews