We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Soul Search”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dakak Park & Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dapitan City
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Nice resort at the northern tip of Zamboanga. An hour drive from Dipolog airport. Resort staffs welcomed you upon arrival. They have welcome drinks for their guests but in a very small juice glass.

The resort is nice, facilities are fine, bufffet meals are great. Resort staffs are very accommodating and they always attend to every need. The beach is kinda convincing but not good for swimming. Sand is very pure and like powders. The pools are clean also as well as the entire environment. Very relaxing if you really want peace of mind. Good for honeymooners but maybe not for party people.

Overall, it was a nice experience

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank simply_owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 249 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

I had reservations for our company's National Conference being held here...after reading so many bad reviews on Dakak. On arrival, I was expecting the worse, but the worse didn't come.

Alright, so it's not a 5 star over the hill, swanky resort where you'd pay more than what you'd get. But Dakak Park Beach Resort had that ambience where peace, relaxation, and some quiet time alone amidst nature beckoned the tired weary soul.

The plus side was the fact that the staff was attentive to our needs and the food was superb. Added to that were the amenities at the souvenir shops weren't highway robbery. The rooms were of 3 star category, but hey, this is Zamboanga del Norte, a peninsula on the tip of Mindanao in the Philippines! Here, you don't expect a palace, but Dakak was a kingdom nestled in the heart of a beautiful region. The climate was warm and inviting.

While Dipolog is as laid back as it could get, this should be part of anyone's travel agenda when one comes to the Philippines. After all, this country with 7107 islands isn't the archipelago with unique heritage for nothing. Come visit my country - it really is more fun and I should say, more beautiful, in the Philippines

Room Tip: Pick the rooms fronting the pool. While they may not be the newest (the place is undergoing renovat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Benjamin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

As one of the tickboxes in our Christmas holidays itinerary, our family spent a few days in Dapitan City during the last week of December 2011. We took an overnight stay at the Dakak Beach Resort, which looked different from our last visit in 2008.

As usual, the good-old service crew is still the best. People at the boutique, the restaurants, are just really warm and accommodating. The rest rooms are clean and smelled good. Food is still the best - perhaps they still maintain their own farms that grow the very same foods served at the resort. And the bread and pastries --- yummy and smelled so good! Yup, they bake these breads in their very own huge oven right at the back of their kitchen (yes, I did peep). The meals at the beach-side will always be one of the most relaxing munch moments you could experience in Dakak.

The beach was OK. We didn't do as much dipping because the jellyfishes are big enough to scare my son :) We spent most of the time at the now child-friendly pool at the back of the pirates-inspired resto. They now added a diving board, a couple of slides and fountains that I'm sure your little ones can’t wait to take the plunge into the kiddie pool. They also added another small kiddie pool at the expanded area. I personally love the old, serene pool by the bar. However, they have made it stricter and did not allow people to use it if not wearing proper swimwear (surf shorts not allowed). I didn't mind at that time because it was early evening and nobody will notice my stretch marks haha!

Dakak is now being expanded, if I'm not mistaken, to cater to a wider market. The most exciting thing about the expansion is the dormitory-type room accommodation. With a space big enough for at least 10 people, it’s a great option for barkadahan out-of-towns, or big-family-wise-budget set-ups. These dormitory rooms are located near the new entrance. Since the rooms are little far from the beach and the main lobby, they provided free golf-cart rides for all guests, which our kids enjoy much :) They also offer group packages that include free tickets to the city's own theme park - the Gloria Fantasyland.

A few things, though, that did not tickle me - the Chinese-inspired restaurant building they are currently constructing, and that Italian-theme resto... I don't know; maybe it's just me but, I just find it too cheesy. I loved that the resort is native/Filipino-inspired, with its nice deluxe 'kubo' rooms.

But still, generally, I think the idea of expanding to a wider market is good because this means more jobs for the Dapitanons, and more income for the city.

Room Tip: Get a car rental and try dining out also, to save up and try local cuisine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank AshandNoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I have been here 3 times now but unfortunately the redevelopment has changed it from a being a peaceful natural looking resort to more like a day trip centre for bus loads of people.

Plenty of money has been put into it but they should have hired a town planner to design it. rooms that accommodate 10 plus people are lined up togeather ? so dont expect much sleep as people tend to hang out the front of the units after a few drinks and talk loudly. get the smaller units if u can.

A new concrete road that goes thru the middle of a resort ? why wreck the natural ambience of the place with a concrete motorway ? expect motor bike noise and pollution.

great pool and slides but slippery tiles everywhere.

great shows during dinner with hawiian dancing.

White sand on beach but not a great beach for swimming

new restaurants popping up but quality of food may dissapoint international visitors

Its the little things that count and getting a warm flat beer that made me sick is not on my holiday planner.

Room Tip: ask for a smaller unit away from other guests especially if they have lots of people
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

If you are looking for a place to relax and unwind this is a place. Variety of activities including pools, beach, quiet and not tourist pack resort. The food is really inexpensive here. If you are only doing a day tour the fee is consumable which basically cover your lunch (buffet) and drink. Really good for family outing. Its away from the city from noise.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank jcdalman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dapitan City
13.3 km away
D'Hotel & Suites
D'Hotel & Suites
#1 of 7 in Dipolog
217 reviews
12.3 km away
Ariana Hotel
Ariana Hotel
#3 of 7 in Dipolog
42 reviews
0 km away
Royal Garden Hotel
Royal Garden Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ozamiz City
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 km away
Travelbee Heritage Inn
Travelbee Heritage Inn
#1 of 12 in Dapitan City
27 reviews
13.5 km away
C & L Sea View Hotel
C & L Sea View Hotel
#5 of 21 in Dipolog
26 reviews
13.1 km away
No photo provided
Seabreeze Lodge and Cafe
#1 of 5 in Dipolog
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakak Park & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakak Park & Beach Resort

Address: Dapitan City, Mindanao, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindanao > Zamboanga Peninsula > Zamboanga del Norte > Dapitan City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dapitan City
Price Range: RM492 - RM764 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dakak Park & Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dakak Park and Beach Resort is the closest place to paradise one could ever experience, with its beauty and serenity. Dakak started operating on 1988, was conveniently positioned in the southern part of the Philippines and surrounded by mountains in its west. Situated at Taguilon, Dapitan City, Zamboanga del Norte, Dakak tactfully eludes the typhoon belt, making it an ideal all-season destination for travelers. Dakak is the first five-star resort in Mindanao with "AAA" accreditation from the Department of Tourism, located along a private 750 meter white sand beach. From the original two (2) cottages, it has expanded into 64 cottages with 160 fully-furnished; 64 Bungalows; 98 Deluxe rooms; 2 Executive rooms; 16 Prime Deluxe rooms; 14 Beachfront rooms in native duplex type bungalows with capiz shell window panes; and three (3) Family Pavilions with 30 family rooms and one (1) Presidential Suite. Through the years, Dakak received various recognition locally and internationally among which are the Kalakbay Award for Resort on 1989 from the Philippine Department of Tourism; 16th International Award for Tourist, Hotel and Catering Industry on 1991 from the Trade Leaders Club and Editorial Office Madrid, Spain; a certificate of excellence by the Prestigious Resorts of the World on 1992; and has participated in the Dream Incentive Contest theme for the Philippines that has won the "Best Showcase 1997" in the Incentive Travel and Conventions, Meetings Asia (IT&CMA) last December 1997. Dakak Park and Beach Resort continuously strive to carry out its mission - "an abundance of recreational activities and entertainment, warm Filipino hospitality, and environment friendly ambiance." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dakak Park & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakak Park Beach Hotel Dipolog

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing