We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
6 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$157
Hotels.comUS$157
TravelocityUS$157
PricelineUS$157
TripadvisorUS$157
Trip.comUS$156
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,136)
Filter reviews
1,136 results
Traveller rating
862
191
43
20
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
862
191
43
20
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews melting pot spa experience chinese restaurant beach shack special mention special thanks private beach beach side great ambience rooms are large in room dining a wonderful stay the east coast breakfast spread courteous staff his team house keeping
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
675 - 680 of 1,136 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018

I have visited Mahabalipuram few times and in all occasions have stayed in different resorts. I must admit that this InterContinental property is one of the best in this area.

Highs
--------

1. The property is very well-spread and will never give you a claustrophobic feel.
2. Front-desk, Housekeeping and Restaurant staff are excellent and genuinely attempts to cater to their guest needs.
3. The property is bang on the beach so very convenient to make frequent visits to the beach and adjacent area.
4. Buffet breakfast is awesome with plenty of variety to keep you going even if you are staying for 2 to 3 days.
5. Our suite was very well positioned with great view of the sea and separate bedroom and living room. The toileteries provided were excellent and the house keeping staff kept the rooms clean and tidy.

Lows
-------

1. The bathtub (very fancy one, shaped like big bowl) in our suite leaked and water spilled across the floor. Even after repeated complaints, nothing was done.

2. The in-room dining is pretty expensive and some food items were sub-par.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Nilashis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ICChennai, General Manager at InterContinental Chennai Mahabalipuram Resort, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your continuous patronage to the hotel. We are pleased to read your review and to note that the team created such a lasting impression during your stay.

Your kind comments are greatly appreciated. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to the team and their efforts in providing our guest a personalized service.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon and hope that InterContinental Chennai Mahabalipuram Resort remains your preferred hotel on all your future visits.

Regards,
Vijai Singh,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Myself, Jeyaraj Thanghavel- Country Head for CREDEA-INDIA. I had hosted the INTERNATIONAL CONFERENCE ON TRADE CREDIT INSURANCE on behalf of CREDEA during March 2018.

The hotel was running short of rooms because of group bookings from United Nation guests. Hotel Reservation team Mrs. Shruti,Sandeep and George supported us to provide maximum rooms that was possible to accommodate our Foreign Delegates from 15 different countries. we stayed there for 3 nights and around 15 rooms were being offered.

Meeting room and arrangements were perfectly supported by Mic, Projector, Writing pad, pen, water bottle, Wi-fi and tea break with Snacks. Mr.Sujeet was incharge and he was last his best.

our Experience at Melting point restaurant in Intercontinental was great, because the food provided for Buffet was perfectly matched the expectations of foreign delegates.

Hospitality was awesome during the stay at the hotel and restaurant was really friendly. Cook and the restaurant staff Mr. Sanu & Mr. Arun and Mr. Anoop were at their best in servicing and helping us in menu and arrangements.

Mr. Sanu was very helpful for food arrangements.

Bar facility near the beach and pool area was the best and dinner was served just outside of the melting pot and near the pool.

Area Manager- Mr. Gaurav was very supportive for the entire event and stay during the hotel. he instructed his team to give special care to our group and all our breakfast,Lunch and Dinner was good.

Airport pick-up and drop facility was perfect and supported even during the mid night for few of our guests.

Overall stay was fantastic and we look forward for our future events in this property Intercontinental Hotel,Mahabalipuram,chennai.

Kind regards
JEYARAJ THANGHAVEL
+93811 95055
Personal e-mail: jeyaraj.thanghavel@gmail.com

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeyaraj T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ICChennai, General Manager at InterContinental Chennai Mahabalipuram Resort, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Mr.Thanghavel,

Thank you for your continuous patronage to the hotel. We are pleased to read your review and to note that the team created such a lasting impression during your stay.

Your kind comments are greatly appreciated. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to the team and their efforts in providing our guest a personalized service.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon and hope that InterContinental Chennai Mahabalipuram Resort remains your preferred hotel on all your future visits.

Regards,
Vijai Singh,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Awesome hall with swimming pool in between.... a large beautiful landscaped garden takes you to the beach area where you have an amazing place to either play or sit and relax with some drinks in your hand at the beach side bar

Room tip: Nice beach side resort
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nishith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ICChennai, General Manager at InterContinental Chennai Mahabalipuram Resort, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your continuous patronage to the hotel. We are pleased to read your review and to note that the team created such a lasting impression during your stay.

Your kind comments are greatly appreciated. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to the team and their efforts in providing our guest a personalized service.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon and hope that InterContinental Chennai Mahabalipuram Resort remains your preferred hotel on all your future visits.

Regards,
Vijai Singh,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

A lovely, serene resort with amazing ambience against the famous ECR beach backdrop was a perfect getaway with friends.
The food at melting pot was good accompanied by the very courteous and friendly staff. A special mention for Mr. Prashant and Mr. Raju who were very prompt with their services.
Overall a good experience..

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank sagararava
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ICChennai, General Manager at InterContinental Chennai Mahabalipuram Resort, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your continuous patronage to the hotel. We are pleased to read your review and to note that the team created such a lasting impression during your stay.

Your kind comments are greatly appreciated. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to the team and their efforts in providing our guest a personalized service.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon and hope that InterContinental Chennai Mahabalipuram Resort remains your preferred hotel on all your future visits.

Regards,
Vijai Singh,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile


The hotel is a sleek, modern, concrete complex with comfortable, spacious rooms equipped with everything needed to make a stay very pleasant.

The restaurant and its friendly, attentive staff helped in every way to make our culinary experience unforgettable. Eating outside under the sun umbrella next to the fish pond was a pleasure.

The area on the the hotel grounds was quiet and peaceful. We enjoyed breathing the fresh air. There was an uncrowded beach with a handful of covered deckchairs behind the hotel grounds. It was about a 2 minute walk from the hotel complex. The beach itself was well-kept. It wasn't a walking beach, though, due to its length. Unfortunately, there were garbage dumps on both extremes of the sandy area. The ocean was not suitable for swimming because of its undercurrent and steep drop.

Since we were being picked up after the check-out hour the last day of our stay, the reception facilitated overlapping this time by letting us use the pool and the beach and showering at the spa before being picked up.

We would highly recommend this hotel to anybody wanting to reenergize and breathe in fresh ocean air. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so nice.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank patriciamV4782GK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ICChennai, General Manager at InterContinental Chennai Mahabalipuram Resort, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your continuous patronage to the hotel. We are pleased to read your review and to note that the team created such a lasting impression during your stay.

Your kind comments are greatly appreciated. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to the team and their efforts in providing our guest a personalized service.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon and hope that InterContinental Chennai Mahabalipuram Resort remains your preferred hotel on all your future visits.

Regards,
Vijai Singh,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews