We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kronenhoff Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$88
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dolphin Dance Lodge(Port Elizabeth)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
US$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The King Edward Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Paxton Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
US$92
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sir Roys At The Sea(Port Elizabeth)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bishops Inn(Port Elizabeth)
US$50
US$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Hub Boutique Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
66
25
9
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
25
9
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaddo elephant parkgreat foodrooms are spacioussecure parkingbase to exploreb bsundays river valleygemaccommodationguesthousedinnerpatiocoast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

Booked on the internet, pleasantly surprised as room way better than the pictures. Friendly staff, great value. Excellent restaurant too
Booked for 2 nights, breakfast included in tariff with accommodation for 2 adults.
Rooms well equipped, quiet with access to garden and swimming pool

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendrien, Owner at Kronenhoff Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

We love to surprise people with our lovely rooms and friendly staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

I stayed at Kronenhoff Guest House for one night during a business trip. The room was nice and the on site restaurant was great. Unfortunately the Wifi did not work at the time of my visit. Will visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacquesvanAswegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grysbeer, Owner at Kronenhoff Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Thank you for your comment. My apologies that there was a problem with the Wi-Fi during your visit. Our IT consultants have in the meantime solved the problem so it so on your next visit it should be working fine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

We have not slept here, so the review is regarding the restaurant only. Food is mediocre at best. Service below any standard. Ordered Vegetarian Pasta with feta, spinach and mushrooms, got Chicken Pasta, overcooked and drowned in cream and backed with some kind of unidentifiable industrial style cheese. Did not see the waiter any more after this has been served, interesting since we where his only guests. Tables not taken away after eating. We had to go to reception and ask for the bill. Then the waiter came and asked if we needed some change (would have been 30% tip!). Yes we need, as for this type of service 0% would be appropriate, we tipped him anyhow 15%. Upon leaving the restaurant the manager or owner and the rest of the staff looked away, just to avoid to have to say good bye. Did I mention the atmosphere? If you like sterile places with loud dance floor music during dinner, maybe you will like it.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Nandor89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grysbeer, Owner at Kronenhoff Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

I am shocked to read your review and I do apologise if this was your experience. It is not acceptable that you did not receive the delicious food that our restaurant is well known for and also that you did not get the service that you are supposed to get.. Kronenhoff is well known for it's tasty and quality food as well as good and friendly service. The music should also be nice background music and not load dance music. Thank you for bringing these matters under my attention, I can assure you we will discuss this with our staff and make sure this never happens again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

We did not stay at the guesthouse, but went to the restaurant on their premises twice. The waitresses were all friendly and service was good. The food was excellent and affordable. The chocolate cake with brandy in was fantastic. We will be back this week before we head for home, because you don't often find a gem like this

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tony v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017

The rooms are spacious and well furnished. Bathrooms are spacious, too. The staff was very charming and helpful, e.g. they booked an Addo tour for us. This is a very good base to explore the nearby Addo Elephant Park.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews