We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“in contact with the nature”
Review of Grotto Efra

Grotto Efra
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Sonogno
Price range: US$9 - US$28
Cuisines: Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We are a Grotto: we love food, we love people and we love nature. Don't expect to find Pizza or Pasta, we are not an italian restaurant: we are a traditional place. Our place is open from May till end of October, join us if you like to share special moments.
Reviewed 21 September 2018

This is a place to have such a relaxing meal ,I mean it .I was really surprised with the service here , on a good way of course ,really, they pay attention to such small details' never saw plates passing in front any of the people,,very pleasant service with the smile and friendly .I do recommend.But not to forget the Brasato de Manzo with Polenta

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank rogerioj395
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2017

We went to this restaurant based on a recommendation, so we drove the whole valley up to Sonogno. Honestly, we were a bit disappointed about the small choice of courses. But the quality was excellent. I tried the "torta di pane" (bread cake) an absolute must! I was tempted to buy a whole cake and bring it home.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 166giulianoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 8 September 2017

i love luca and his young and enthusiastic team. Local, fresh food, local beer and the best ice-cream i ever ate in my life! Made from roasted corn flour! Check this place in the wonderful verzasca valley !

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KikiK245
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch by chance without prior reading of any reviews. It's a bit outside the main village but worth the walk up the valley(you can drive there too). Service was very friendly, everyone speaks English. Portion sizes are generous so be ready. The food is very tasty and mostly local. Good choice of meals and drinks. Interior is very good and modern. There's a big seating area outside with great views of mountains and near by water fall. A bit pricey but that's everywhere in Switzerland. Would come again if we can.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Alexander G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Very friendly and joyful reception. Run by a young couple and their friends. Very peaceful setting under shady trees near a waterfall. The costine, slow grilled (local speciality), are absolutely the best. A Pocolino or two and a very good Grappa to round everything off and you feel in in another world.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Albert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Grotto Efra also viewed

Sonogno, Canton of Ticino
Sonogno, Canton of Ticino
 
Peccia, Canton of Ticino
Gerra, Lake Maggiore
 

Been to Grotto Efra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.